Michael Hugh Carlin’s Reviews

Michael Hugh Carlin

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I-751

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I needed help to remove conditions on my temporary green card after my divorce. After checking his ratings I went with Michael Carlin. He is an excellent lawyer and a very knowledgeable person. He is easy to reach and always keeps an eye on the case. He owns his skill and he is the best in his field. I would recommend him to everyone regarding immigrations cases.

  2. Compassionate and Experienced Lawyer

    Posted by Tim, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.

    My wife and I could not be more pleased with Michael's services. Michael's experience and knowledge was evident throughout the entirety of my wife's green card application. He was very thorough in his work as he explained step-by-step what we needed to do, and he did his due diligence to ensure her application was accepted quickly. In addition to being a legal expert, Michael is a truly nice person, and he showed compassion through our stressful situation. My wife and I would recommend Michael to anyone in need of immigration law help.

  3. Michael is a superb lawyer.

    Posted by suk, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.

    Michael is an excellent lawyer. I got a green card recently thanks to his super help. I've seen people who had a hard time to communicate with a lawyer in timely manner. Michael was beyond my expectation in responding to all of my questions. He was very prompt, thorough, and insightful in dealing with all the problems in spite of my complicated situation. I would strongly recommend him as No. 1 lawyer with no hesitation.

  4. Highly Recommended for Immigration Services - also fluent in Spanish

    Posted by Bryan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.

    I can't express enough gratitude toward Mr. Carlin. My wife is from India and he helped us with the temporary (probationary) green card application. The non-profit company that he worked for in Detroit went out of business (not sure about the exact details). Mr. Carlin opened his own immigration office and completed our application without any additional fees. He told us "it was the right thing to do." If he wouldn't have done this we would have had to start over with another lawyer and paid more in fees. At the time, we were both students and did not have a lot of savings. This was an incredible thing for Mr. Carlin to do. It was a no-brainer to hire Mr. Carlin for my wife's green card renewal 2 years later. I'm happy to say that my wife's application was approved and she finally has a permanent 10 year green card with no restrictions. His fees were very low compared to other for-profit immigration law firms. A big portion of the fees we paid to Mr. Carlin were government fees that he paid on our behalf. In four months we will hire Mr. Carlin for my wife's citizenship application. Also, I should mentions that we live in Georgia and had no problems at all with contacting and communicating with Mr. Carlin in Michigan. It was simply a matter of email and mailing his office documents and other materials for our application. Mr. Carlin is so incredibly honest that he mailed us a check based on "unused funds." I would have never dreamed a lawyer would refund a client for overpaying. I HIGHLY recommend Mr. Carlin's services. He is also very nice, kind, and personable.

  5. Michael Carlin is the best immigration attorney in Ann Arbor, MI.

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.

    Mike is the best lawyer out there in Ann Arbor, MI, no doubt period. Before hiring him, I had done my research and had a fair idea of what I was looking for. I spoke with a dozen other lawyers who had different ideas on how my case should be approached. At the end I went with him and he really came through for me, he kept me informed all through the way, very knowledgeable about his work, and he has patience with the process. My removal proceedings case got terminated due to Mike's diligence and persistence. I am very happy I got to work with him. I sure will be sending friends and family his way with pressing immigration issues. Tell me, how many lawyers will respond to your mail on a Sunday afternoon or evening? yep, Mike wants his clients to succeed, it's not all about the money for him.

  6. Got a citizenship!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.

    Michael is a great immigration lawyer. I have been very happy working with him. He is sincere and honest. He listens my concern and try to get an answer with the best effort. I highly recommend him.

  7. Highly Recommended Lawyer

    Posted by Danielle, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I hired Mr. Carlin after attempting to complete the immigration process by ourselves and having difficulties in doing so. Upon initially meeting Mr. Carlin, we were impressed with how knowledgeable he was while presenting us with our options. He was kind and it was evident right away that he was a very genuine person. He was personable, professional and was thorough on making sure we had all the information we needed for the immigration process to run smoothly. Also, he was very patient with how anxious I was and diligently kept us up to date on the latest information regarding our case. He more than exceeded our expectation and we are truly appreciative of all his help. We would highly recommend Mr. Carlin!

  8. Mr. Carlin's performance in an Immigration case

    Posted by Scott, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We feel Mr. Carlin far exceeded our expectations with the positive results of our case. Mr. Carlin explained to us up front that our case against deportation was very weak. We did not expect this level of honesty from an immigration attorney, based on past experience. Mr. Carlin was very curteous in his explantion of what we were up against. His patience in helping us understand the complicated procedures involved made this difficult time much easier to contend with. We had many questions, and sometimes asked the same question multiple times and he answered them without any sign of displeasure. Mr. Carlin was with us every step of the way through the actual court appearences and was prepared every time. Our case involved an illegal entry into the United States. My friend was detained and scheduled for deportation back to his native country. As you can well imagine there was a comunication issue, but Mr. Carlin was very resourcefull in finding a resolution to this obstacle. In concluding we believe that with Mr. Carlin's abilities our case achieved a positive outcome.

  9. Outstanding Immigration Attorney!

    Posted by Tracy, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I have had the pleasure of Mr. Carlin taking care of my husbands immigration case. He was in the process of deportation after a long 20 year battle with immigration. Mr. Carlin came on board about 3 years ago ,only days before deportation while my husband was in immigration's custody.Things were at there worst and there seemed to be no hope as far a the legal system goes. All options had been exhausted and this was an extremely unusual and complicated case that no attorney we consulted had come across. Mr. Carlin took the chance and jumped in with a positive yet realistic attitude when no one else wanted to -unless it was taking advantage financially of the situation. Mr. Carlin was fairly priced, gave realistic expectations of the situation with no false promises. He is a professional,kind, caring, humble man but willing to fight hard for you. Finding Mr. Carlin was an answer to prayer. Mr. Carlin continued to knock on doors even when nothing seemed to be in our favor.He did not always have the answers but had no problem saying he didn't know but he would find out, which he always did. His motivation, drive, and passion for helping people make up for him not being in the field as long as some others. We had the so called well known top notch attorney before him and it didn't get us anywhere. He gave up on our case over 10 years ago. Mr. Carlin answered his own calls and always returned calls. He always kept us informed. Even the deportation officer who normally can't stand attorneys was ok with Mr. Carlin. He even agreed to pass along his name. After almost 3 years we are so happy and blessed to say our battle is over. My husband received his green card and our life is staring a whole new chapter without the constant fear of immigration. I refer everyone in need of immigration help to Mr. Carlin and will continue to do so.

    Mr. Carlin, we will be forever grateful for your help and won't hesitate to refer you to anyone and everyone that needs help or an honest evaluation of their immigration case. As time goes on and you are more well known, please don't ever change the way you deal with your clients. You are a very kind hearted man without an once of arrogance. You truly stand out from the rest.

  10. Excellent!

    Posted by Kathryn, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Carlin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I weren't sure if we should hire a lawyer for this immigration process, but we also weren't sure if we were doing everything correctly. Michael allowed us to sit with him and ask many questions. After this first meeting my husband and I both felt comfortable working with him through the rest of the process. Michael helped us make decisions and regularly checked our case status online to send us updates. We feel lucky to have found him and will turn to him in the future.