David James Steele’s Reviews

David James Steele

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. David Steele

    Posted by Karmen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David Steele saved my marriage. This sounds ridiculous, since he's a divorce attorney, and honestly, that would put him out of business, but I wish I could hire david on permanent retainer just to have him up my sleeve. My husband is an opiate addict, and has been for seventeen years, since the age of fourteen. We have been together for three years, married for two, and have an eighteen month old son. (I know, try to keep up) I was unaware of his habit until a few weeks before I gave birth to our son. I spent the better part of a year trying to help him get clean, but he couldn't hold himself together for more than a day or two. Then one day he sold all of our sons things to a children's resale shop to buy heroin. I left with my son. It was the hardest thing I've ever done, and David was incredible. He reassured me throughout the process of filing for divorce, talked with me when I needed it, and generally just made himself available personally for any questions I had. My husband hired some sleazeball lawyer and claimed he wanted full custody, and child support, because I had a d felony marijuana charge from four years prior. I was terrified. David hit back hard, per his usual style, and honestly, it was a serious reality check for my husband. When he learned I had David representing me, he realized he was really going to lose us, and got help.

    David is worth every penny, and then some. He has a wife and family of his own, and he's not just in it for the money. I think David honestly just wants to help people, and who needs more help than a woman with children going through an ugly divorce? And even those men who are in need in a mother-preferred state like Indiana who are a better choice for their children than an irresponsible or reckless mother.

    There's a reason that when you typed in "best Indianapolis lawyers", it led you to this review. That's exactly how I found him. Hire David Steele. Before your ex does.

  2. Need an lawyer that has your back and cares about you more than himself? That's David Steele!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired David in April 2014 to handle a custody modification with a hostile ex. I literally googled “aggressive attorney Indianapolis” and found David on this site and couldn’t be more grateful. David has done more for me in the last month than my previous attorney did for me in 10 years! My ex represents himself in court, despite having no legal training, and likes to file multiple motions and force hearings he knows will require me to hire representation. I relocated out of state for work and let my teenaged son remain with his father per my son’s wishes. When my son decided he wanted to relocate with me I hired David to represent me in a custody modification, in addition to the support modification filed by my ex more than 6 months after my relocation (despite multiple efforts by me and my counsel to get my ex to agree to a custody/support modification document prior to my relocation). In addition my ex was denying me summer visitation with my son. David went above and beyond trying to get my ex to agree to a temporary agreement on support and visitation so we wouldn’t have a hearing on the support issue, only custody. My ex refused, knowing I would need to drive from out of state to attend, and even told David he “had nothing to lose” by going to court. David told him there would be consequences to forcing a hearing and he proved it! First the judge ordered far less support than he was seeking—and far less than was offered him in the agreement David drew up prior to the hearing. Secondly, David managed to get the judge to order my ex to turn my son over to me for 7 weeks of summer visitation, much more than the two weeks we were seeking in the agreement AND despite the judge initially saying she would not rule on visitation, only support. Thirdly, he proved my ex flat out lied to the judge! When David followed up with a rather sarcastic email telling my ex the dates for my summer visitation he also let my ex know he would seek to recoup my attorney fees if my ex perjured himself in court again. My ex replied that he emailed the prosecutor (interpretation: went crying to the prosecutor) accusing David of threatening him! There were threats, but they were threats David made good on! He told my ex if we go to court my ex would be walking out of court wondering just what happened, and he was. He told him he was now taking this case personally, and he did. We still have a custody hearing in a couple of months and I personally cannot wait to see what David has in store for my ex. I have every confidence my son will be living with me full time in the next few months and have David to thank for that. In the ten years I have been dealing with my ex I have never felt so confident that justice will be served and that my ex will be exposed to the court for lying, manipulating, and wasting the court’s time. This is the first time in ten years I’ve felt like someone has my back and will not let this person take advantage of me and the court. Until this week, every time I walked out of the courtroom I’ve felt like I’ve been screwed by the system, but not this week. David Steele will get you results. He cares more about his clients getting the outcome they deserve than his bill. He has steeply discounted my rates, charging about half of what he could have, because he knows my ex’s goal is to incur legal fees I have to pay. You will not regret hiring him for even one minute!

  3. an attrny you can trust to work for you.

    Posted by scottkiger,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Steele.

    I sought Mr. Steele concerning my divorce ruling, and even though he doesnt handle appeals cases, he did however refer me to attrnys that are at the top of their field. I would definitely seek him as counsel in the event one is needed, hes a man of honor with strong ethics and family values.

  4. He saved my life

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    That's as simply as I can put it - He absolutely saved my life. My ex tried to take my children. David did not let it happen. He told me at the outset that he wouldn't and he kept his word. Everybody told me, over and over again, that mothers always get custody in Indiana. I was terrified. Well, apparently they don't if you hire David. Aside form saving my life and winning a VERY hard fought custody battle for my two young children, he became a friend along the way. I've never met a nicer guy and I was very intimidated by this process and didn't know what to expect. There were only a couple of lawyers I actually got a hold of and they were pretty arrogant and downright rude and just wanted to get paid first. He made everything very easy and very comforting. He's got to be the nicest lawyer around. EXCEPT when he got into the courtroom and caught my wife lying on the stand. Wow, that was something to see. He absolutely tore her apart. And he even told me at the beginning, "yes, i have a reputation for being aggressive but it isn't my job to pick fights as that only hurts my clients. I will keep the gloves on until they make me take them off." Man, did he mean that! My wife's lawyer immediately regretted making him take them off as he made it count! Just do yourself a favor - if you're reading this it is because you are looking for a lawyer. Stop reading and call him. Hire him and know you made the right choice. He'll make it easy for you as he returns every call the same day and will undoubtedly be the only lawyer to actually call you back. Thank you david. I will write this review everywhere I can as I owe you everything.

  5. Best Lawyer Ever

    Posted by Karen, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    I wish I could give Mr. Steele 10 stars out of five because that is more accurate. I talked to a lot of lawyers before hiring david. Most were just jerks. David called back the same day and talked to me forever. He answered all my questions without charging me anything and was extraordinarily friendly. Very easy to talk to. He stayed that way throughout my case and always was really easy to get a hold of. I know he is really busy but he makes his clients feel like they are the only clients he has. He won custody of my children in a really hard fought case. He was just way, way better than my husband's lawyer and it was awesome to have him on my side. He owned the courtroom and did what he wanted to the other lawyer. He is the best lawyer in the state and you need to hire him right now. RIGHT now. I can't thank you enough David.

  6. A Brilliant, Aggressive, and Absolutely Outstanding Attorney Driven to WIN for you!

    Posted by Harold, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    If you want an attorney who is no-nonsense, aggressive, brilliant, and will fight for you as hard as he would for his own flesh-and-blood, then you need to hire David Steele RIGHT NOW. I knew absolutely no one in the divorce attorney world in Indianapolis when I started searching for one. Then I read the reviews from his clients who wrote about their successful results with Mr. Steele, and felt in my gut that he was the right divorce attorney for me. I was completely right.

    Mr. Steele began by taking time out on a HOLIDAY week when I couldn't reach anyone else in town to reply back to me. He spent a good long time answering all of my questions and then some, and I immediately saw the level of passion and total dedication he gives to his clients. He promised me, "Don't worry, I have your back, and I will NOT let anything happen to you," just as I've seen other clients say in their reviews of him. Believe me, you can take those words as gospel! At every single step of the way he took care of me and protected me and my interests. All these efforts that my ex tried to unfairly screw me over just bounced right off of us.

    David Steele is INCREDIBLY DRIVEN TO WIN on your behalf and will not disappoint you! He also was very sensitive to my financial situation and kindly worked with me on the billing to come up with an arrangement that was extremely fair. Believe me, he is not in it just for the money like so many lawyers are. He cares about your interests just as much as if you were family. He is truly the best and most brilliant lawyer you could ever wish to have on your side, and one of the most decent and honorable people I have ever met. Thank you for everything Mr. Steele!

  7. WITHOUT A DOUBT, THE BEST DIVORCE LAWYER IN THE ENTIRE STATE!!!

    Posted by P.K., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    SIMPLY PUT, DAVID STEELE IS THE BEST DIVORCE LAWYER IN INDIANA!!! David was my last hope in a 20-month long ordeal where my ex willfully dragged her heels to complete the divorce simply because she knew I wanted to do it expeditiously. I needed someone who was totally no-nonsense, aggressive, and efficient to bring closure to this so that both sides could escape this toxic situation and move on with our lives. In addition to dealing with this type of personality, I was also faced with an opposing attorney who appeared to endorse and embrace her using every legal tool available in order to drag out this case for as long as possible. When I hired David, he immediately made clear in no uncertain terms to the opposing side that he would not let this charade continue, and he didn't. In advance of and at my mediation, he demonstrated his constant pledge to me that he would have my back, and he totally did. He made sure that I was protected in every way, and I was COMPLETELY SATISFIED with the successful outcome of the mediation, and I finally have closure to this long nightmare that has haunted me. I came away with EVERYTHING that I desired. David has an INCREDIBLE talent for detail and strategy. Moreover, David is also the most compassionate attorney I've ever seen. My financial resources and retirement were totally savaged by having to support my ex, and I have a very very modest income due to the nature of my work and the recession. David recognized this, and was VERY gentle in his billing, making huge accommodations to assist my current financial plight. His billing was MORE THAN FAIR. I will NEVER forget his kindness and compassion. His principles, contrasted with what I witnessed with opposing counsel, are uncompromising in wanting to do the right thing and to do it with unwavering quality. His being on the state bar ethics committee is also supportive of that. Highly principled, fair, compassionate, yet when it comes to the legal battlefield (and yes it IS a battle!), you could not ask for a more skilled, committed attorney. Quite bluntly, after my absolutely positive experience with David, who's got to be this state's preeminent divorce attorney, I would be scared as hell if I was an attorney and saw David at the opposing table. I read every word of these 23 reviews, every one of which gave him an A+ in all 5 categories and then I read the one unfavorable review from someone below. I have come to know David very, very well as he had my back the whole time and I can't believe that anything is true in that review. Read the facts that EVERYONE ELSE has shared of their experience. Anyone who doesn't think this man is a superior attorney is just plain wrong or totally confused. I'll say it again: DAVID STEELE IS THE BEST DIVORCE LAWYER IN INDIANA BAR NONE!

  8. What a wonderful Attorney!!

    Posted by Tracy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was so nervous calling an attorney about my divorce case . I saw David Steele's Profile and I knew he was the attorney I needed for my case . he got me right in and started the paperwork and told me I had nothing to worry about . To know that I have an amazing Attorney standing beside me threw this difficult time makes the process so much easier . Thanks David Steele . It took me a cpl months of searching for an attorney to come across your profile . I knew you was the attorney right away then when I called you it was a for sure thing that you was the one I needed on my side .. again Thank You so much for moving your schedule around to help me .

  9. HORRIBLE. DO NOT USE!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Steele.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had a very simple divorce-literally just wanted someone to process the paperwork. David was completely inappropriate and charged me a fee and said even if it went to court he wouldn't charge me another dime. I ended up having to pay an extra $200 for what reason, no one knows. Then, he processed paperwork ahead of time (which I suggested not to do) and he did it. I had to drive an extra hour to go and sign it again when the court didn't accept it. He resubmitted it but was too lazy to go downtown and mailed it in, making it take an extra week almost. Then his paralegal (who's not an associate attorney) sent me paperwork and everytime she sent it to me sign and bring to the office she mispelled my name (and it's not that difficult name). Once everything was finally done she assured me I didn't need a physical copy to get a new social security card and just scanned a copy into me. I of course, did need a certified copy (which they don't get...not that I knew that). I then called and left a voicemail, she returned my call at work so I called her back and never heard back. I emailed both David and Jennifer last week and Jennifer sent me a very rude email back attempting to answer my question. David then proceeded to send her the email I sent him almost a week later, so Jennifer called and left me the RUDEST voicemail I've ever heard. Everything was completely out of line and completely unprofessional. This attorney is completely unethical and nonresponsive and I highly recommend NOT using him.

    1. David James Steele

      David Steele

      Lawyer Comment:

      As any divorce lawyer will tell you - you do this long enough, you will get some crazy clients there is simply no pleasing. This is a woman who believes my associate attorney is actually a paralegal pretending to be a lawyer but she knows the truth about her, only "lazy" lawyers use the U.S. Postal System and real lawyers hand deliver the 50 documents they send out a day to 50 different people, and that getting a bill from an attorney for a whopping $200 is inappropriate, so, you can judge her intelligence or sanity for yourself.

      The other 24 people who took the time to give me rave reviews, of which I am incredibly proud, must be insane. Best of luck to you, Ms. Copple-Dowling! You are absolutely going to need it.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  10. you've never heard anything like this, guaranteed!!!

    Posted by Dana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Steele.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Unfortunately I'm going through a divorce. My wife started scaring me with worse case scenario type of things. I found David Steele on line and sent an email @ 4am. He called me before he even started his day because he cared instantly. David Steele then proceeded all day to prove just how much. I was stunned from start to finish and remain stunned. NOBODY moves this quickly. I met him over the phone at 6am and by 8:30 I was signing the papers. I can not say enough about how much this man cares about what he does. Simply amazing!

317-575-4054