Jason Wade Barnette’s Reviews

Jason Wade Barnette

Average Rating

Based on 53 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding results - every time.

    Posted by DanOB, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 1-6 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Jason Barnette came to my aid when it seemed impossible to deal with debt collectors - who seemed able to trump up amounts they pulled out of thin air, then sue me to collect. He was knowledgeable, accurate (and prompt) in his assessment of the situation, and was able to mount a defense on my behalf. My cases have since been dismissed with prejudice.
    To say he is a godsend to potential victims such as I could easily have become, is putting it mildly. I highly recommend his law offices, not only because of the results he accomplishes, but for his decency of spirit which was what I needed most through my time of trial and tribulation. Heartiest thanks.

  2. Give him a call

    Posted by T. M., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 1-6 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    If you are ever in any legal trouble, believe me, he is the best person to go to. He will actually listen to you and assist you anyway he can from there. Good trust worthy and knowledgeable fellow.

  3. Clients Matter

    Posted by Amy, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 1-6 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    After being denied unemployment benefits twice, I was referred to Mr. Barnette. Mr. Barnette requested all documents pertaining to my case, which he looked over and studied. He then requested audios of my appeals hearing and picked up on many errors that were made during the hearing. He filed another appeal to the Commissioner Designee and within one week, my appeal denial was reversed. All of this took less than one month. Throughout this entire process, Mr. Barnette kept me informed every step of the way. If I had any questions, he responded quickly. I would highly recommend him to anyone. There are not many attorney's like Mr. Barnette.

  4. Unemployment Appeal

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Mr. Barnette was retained to handle my unemployment appeal. He has a knowlege of Dept. of Labor. He is very professional and very responsive to questions by email due to his caseload. He very caring and looks out for his client. He is a first rate attorney . He will not waste your time if he thinks there is not a case. So many lawyers take your money and don't care whether they help you or not.. Mr. Barnette is a fiighter and will do well in his areas of practice for any client. Highly recommended. We won the case .

  5. Mr. Barnette is very brilliant and a REAL Consumer Lawyer

    Posted by saul,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.

    I have been sued by one of the big U.S banks for an alleged account and will soon be appearing in General Sessions Court as Pro Se in East Tennessee. Mr Barnette has made me feel confident and I am happy to sleep at night knowing that if my case(s) become impossible for me to manage on my own, there is a lawyer I can turn to for defense. He is different from many other lawyers who claim to handle debt issues. Many (I have received over 10 solicitations) only want you to pay them and then file bankruptcy. On the other hand Mr. Barnette is the real deal. I have had many questions about my case and he has actually given me valuable information to help my case get dismissed out of court. That is very rare to find. You can ask him a question and he will take time off and actually answer your question. Keep up the good work Sir! Saul - Knoxville

  6. Recommend

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Debt Collection matter.

    Jason Barnette handled my case swiftly and I never even had to go to his office. I was being sued for overdraft fees, if you can believe that..Jason was easy to talk to and kept me informed, responds immediately to emails and calls, and didn't cost an arm and a leg.

  7. Swift Legal Advice

    Posted by Anita, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Business matter.

    Jason went above and beyond to address my case. His expertise was invaluable and his practical experience is unmatched. Jason cut right to the chase and addressed my concerns as well as providing swift legal advice to remedy the issues.

  8. Awesome Employment Attorney

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Jason Barnette successfully handled my unemployment appeal in Rutherford County Chancery Court. He kept me informed on everything and was responsive to my questions (this is a very quirky area of law that few attorney's practice in). I would recommend him to anyone!

  9. Worst lawyer ever.

    Posted by Debra, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    The only time I ever received any information from him was when I was paying on my bill. He has no clue on the legal system. I was able to get more information by just calling the courthouse myself than he ever provided. I also found out all the delays he was claiming from the states side of the case were in fact actually his delays. Avoid this lawyer at all cost.

    1. Jason Wade Barnette

      Jason Barnette

      Lawyer Comment:

      This former client - Debra K. Wineman - is lying.

      First, she retained me to appeal an Appeals Tribunal Decision from the TDLWD to the Commissioner's Designee. This was over a year ago. The Commissioner's Designee affirmed the Appeals Tribunal Decision - then she hired me to file a Petition for Judicial Review in Hamblen County Chancery Court. If I was the "worst lawyer ever" I don't think she would have done so. She retained me for this roughly a year ago.

      Secondly, their was no delay on my part. An administrative review requires a Petition to be filed, the TDLWD has 30 days to file an Answer, I have 30 days to file a Response, they have 30 days to file a Reply, and I have 10 days to file a sur-reply if I so choose. Then you must file a Motion to Set for oral argument. That in of itself is time consuming. All of this was spelled out Ms. Wineman during too many phone calls to count.

      The issue of timeliness arouse because the TDLWD had three attorney's on this case at one time or another due to turnover within the department. Getting an Agreed Motion to Set Oral Argument was very difficult to say the least. Finally, because the AG's Office strongly discourages the TDLWD from participating in oral argument outside of Davidson County, we sent in an Order to Waive Oral Argument to the new Chancellor in Hamblen County. He Granted the Motion and I received a copy of the same. Ms. Wineman was - again - kept fully up to date throughout this process both through email and a voluminous amount of phone calls.

      Ms. Wineman began calling almost daily asking for when the Chancellor was going to make a ruling and "how much time he had". I informed her that I did not know how long it would take, he had as much time as he wanted essentially, and moving to ascertain status could "sometimes" be the wrong idea. After about a month of this, she informed my assistant that she was calling the Clerk to see what was going on against my advice.

      Evidently, the Chancellor issued his one-sentence Order on January 17, 2014. I did not receive a copy of this Order inasmuch as it was sent to an incorrect address. The Clerk's Office faxed me a copy on February 28, 2014, and I sent the same to Ms. Wineman.

      She then called my assistant again screaming at her and threatening to sue me. I informed her - in writing - not to contact us again.

      The notion that I would delay a proceeding with a client such as this is preposterous. I did everything in my power to expedite this matter.

      In any event, Ms. Wineman's post is nothing more than a lie.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  10. Attorney Jason Barnette

    Posted by Kristen, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Barnette.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Debt Collection matter.

    Attorney Jason Barnette handled a debt collection case dealing with CACH, LLC. CACH, LLC are known for their underhanded business practices. Mr. Barnette was able to get our case dismissed with prejudice. He is very good at what he does and we felt confident having him on our side. We would VERY highly recommend him for anyone looking for a tough lawyer that will work hard for you!