Matthew Wayne Kilgo’s Reviews

Matthew Wayne Kilgo

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best possible outcome from the best possible lawyer

    Posted by Scott, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After an unplanned evening in Dekalb County jail for a potential DUI, I was completely panicked. I didn't know what to do next. I actually found Matt's info online. After speaking with several other attorneys on the phone, Matt was the only one that agreed to meet me in person that evening (10pm on a Sunday night). We met at Matt's office. He immediately made me feel calmer about my situation. He walked me through the entire set of potential outcomes with my case, and told me he would work with me step by step through the entire process to ensure the best possible outcome. His administrative staff is the very best. The entire office was extremely diligent and responsive throughout my case. He is brutally honest with everything. Never did Matt set false expectations about the charges I was facing. But he knows the Georgia system inside and out. He had me take courses, meet with drug counselors for evaluations, take a mandatory DUI drivers Ed course, and do some community service, all before we ever stepped into court. By the time my case was ready for court, he had prepared my story so well that we were both confident that there would be a positive outcome. In my case, a valuable life lesson was learned, I was able to move on, and Matt helped ensure a reduced charge down to a minor traffic violation. Bottom line, Georiga makes fighting DUI charges nearly impossible, and extremely complex. Matt Kilgo knows how to fight your charges for the best possible outcome.

  2. Very Satisfied!

    Posted by Brian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I met with over five different law firms before settling on Hawkins Law Firm (and Matt specifically) to handle my DUI charge. He took the time to meet with me, go over my case, and set realistic expectations. I'm happy to say that Matt was able to get the DUI reduced to a Reckless Driving, and I was able to keep my license (and more importantly my job)!

  3. Great guy and lawyer

    Posted by ZT, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Great lawyer who knows the rules and sets realistic expectations for your outcome. My case was DUI. And if you are reading this I don't need to tell you about the stress that goes along with that. He is very good at explaining what is likely to happen...he can't tell you what will happen. But, for me, knowing he was lock step with me throughout the process (meaning he took calls at all hours graciously) put my mind at ease...kind of. Good luck! And I highly endorse Matt.

  4. Easily the Best DUI Representation in Atlanta

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I couldn't have asked for a better lawyer. Matt and his firm were recommended to me by another lawyer. At our first meeting we discussed my charges, penalties, fees (his and the courts), possible pleas and what I wanted in terms of my sentence. After we set our goals for what I wanted as far as plea and sentencing, Matt immediately began working on the case. In court he was not only able to work with the prosecution and judge to get what we wanted but he was able to get more. He will not only go after what you want but he will try to do everything to get you as much as possible. He saved my career and much more. I couldn't be more satisfied.

  5. Very satisfied client!

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Kilgo through a friend who is an attorney in Washington D.C.
    Matt seemed ideal for my case after learning he was a former prosecutor in Cobb County where my case was. He seemed even more ideal after consulting with him is his office about my case. Matt is Knowledgeable, friendly and has a great attitude. Plus he just came across as a caring person. I have worked many attorneys in my life but none as professional as Matt. After hiring Matt he got to work right away on my case buckling down and never letting up. All throughout the case he was very flexible with my schedule. Constantly keeping me inform of what was happening and what we had to do. Matt was very genuine in his answers and in his work ethic. I felt like he was a friend who was there to genuinely help me and make my life better through a troubled time. I can't say enough good things about how he operates. I am very pleased with his work and the outcome of my case!
    Thank you Matt.

  6. Skilled and professional

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    The very real possibilty of getting a DUI is a very scary concept, especially when you have a LOT to lose. After spending the night in a police holding facility, I was very worried I was about to lose many things that are very dear to me and, most importantly, very dear to my family. Through his knowledge of the law and the complex legal system governing dui's and with his close relationships with the parties involved in the system, Matt was able to handle my case with relative ease, which in turn put me at ease despite my many fears and concerns. Matt was always professional, courteous and very patient with me and all others involved. If you were my friend facing dui charges, I wouldn't just recommend Matt, I would insist you hire him to protect you!

  7. Definitely recommend!

    Posted by LawStudent, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was pulled over by Georgia State Patrol (GSP). If you know anything about DUIs, an arrest by GSP is HORRIBLE. As a law student, a DUI arrest was the WORST thing that could happen to me. For me, a DUI meant prohibition from taking the Bar Exam.
    A law professor and former District Attorney recommended Matt. Because Matt was a former DUI Prosecutor in the jurisdiction where I was arrested, he was able to get me an AMAZING deal. In the legal field, relationships matter – it’s all about an attorney’s reputation and if people like him/her. Lucky for me, Matt had EXCELLENT relationships with everyone in my jurisdiction – including my prosecutor and judge. He got me a WONDERFUL deal in less than 4 months. If you know anyone who has been arrested for a DUI, a favorable result in 4 months is unheard of!
    Of course, what you get depends on the facts of your arrest and your own personal/criminal history. How proactive you are in your own case also matters. Do whatever your attorney says so he/she has leverage when negotiating on your behalf. Be vocal (and REALISTIC) about what you want.
    I was very impressed with the level of professionalism and speedy manner the entire firm handled my case. The Hawkins Law Firm is the only DUI firm I know of that releases attorney cell phone numbers to clients. I could call Matt at all hours of the night and he would reply. A phone call, email, or voicemail was always returned the same day.
    Considering the huge amount of stress I was under and the pressure concerning my future, I was an emotional wreck. I cried… A LOT! I asked lots of neurotic questions. Both Matt and his wonderful assistant, Katie, were ALWAYS patient with me and never made me feel bad. The entire firm is very professional, quick to reply, supportive, and very efficient in getting you a great deal!
    The fact is Georgia is a strict state. I spent the last three years studying the law – I have knowledge about the statutes and policies. Several friends have gotten DUIs and used George Stein or Bubba Head. Matt got me a better deal for half the price – and he was personally involved every step of the way instead of signing it off to another attorney. I highly recommend him! Because I know a lot of attorneys and am exposed to the legal profession on a daily basis, Matt is your best bet in terms of price, attention, time and deal.

  8. GETS THE JOB DONE!

    Posted by Drew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After meeting with the Hawkins Law Firm partners, Mike and Matt, I had a decision to make ...which attorney did I want to hire as my lead attorney...choose the significantly more expensive, more experienced lawyer (Mike) or the less expensive, but highly qualified lawyer (Matt). They reassured me that they both, together, look over every case no matter who the lead attorney is for any particular case. Mainly for financial reasons I chose to go with Matt...although I felt confident in his abilities to take the lead in my case, knowing that Mike was there to back him with his experience made me feel secure in my decision. Matt was very helpful throughout the entire process...going out of his way to meet with me, answering and returning any calls I or my concerned mother (who called a lot more than I even knew) made to him. There were times that I panicked and even doubted Matt's priority for my case bc things weren't moving as fast as I had hoped, but he always made himself available and walked me through each complicated (and backwards) process of the court system. In the end, Matt negotiated a plea with the prosecutor so I did not have to go to trial and ultimately, he delivered the result in which I hired him for....a dropped DUI charge. Thanks!
    (the only reason I gave him a 4 out of 5 for 'Trustworthy' is bc I do not fully trust any lawyer...)

  9. Great lawyer! Would use again (hopefully we won't have to)!

    Posted by Lisa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My son got a DUI charge while away at college in Atlanta. Not knowing which lawyer to hire, a friend recommended Matthew Kilgo to me and I was very happy with the outcome! The court wanted to take away my son's license, give him jail time, and slap on huge fines, but Matthew was able to get the charges dropped! I am eternally thankful for what he has done for my son and would recommend Matthew Kilgo for anyone!

  10. Don't use this attorney!!!!!

    Posted by Jessica, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Kilgo.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Matt after being referred to the Hawkins firm for a DUI. During our initial meeting, he seemed very interested in my case and even came out of his way to meet me after work. After I paid my $5000, I never heard from him until the night before my first hearing. I was not advised as to what was going to take place at the first hearing or at any of those that followed.
    The night before my next hearing, I didn't hear from him till 8pm, after leaving several messages—all unanswered. I was definitely not a priority. At my final hearing, with no prior communication or advice, he tried to convince me to take my case to full trial, which would have cost another $3000 plus court fees. After having spent all that money, which I borrowed on loan, based on their recommendation, and not feeling like he cared at all about my case, I felt like I had to take the offer he gave me. I couldn't borrow any more to go with another attorney and felt stuck. Be careful using this attorney as the most important thing to him is your money.