Melanie McCorkle Ellwanger’s Reviews

Melanie McCorkle Ellwanger

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. What makes a lawyer great is that he or she can do what seems impossible!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie 6-12 months ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was in the wrong place at the wrong time and got nailed with a DUI because I refused. I knew to get a lawyer, so I hired Tricia Solomon from the Solomon Firm. Thinking all you need is a lawyer and they will let you off with a lesser charge is not true! She gave up and said I should take the charge. I was determined to get a lesser charge and get a second opinion. I was referred to Melanie by another friend and then started reading the reviews. I decided to meet her and wow...what a difference! She was professional, asked about my character, and what I did for a living. This is all before signing any contract! I asked her for a chance of getting a lesser charge and she said 30% (I am all about numbers!). Although not good, it was better than 0%. She made me feel comfortable and told me not to worry, so I hired her. (I travel to Canada and with this charge I would not be able to do so for 10 years.)

    She was responsive, professional, knowledgeable, and not to mention well connected. A couple of months later...I got my charge reduced to Reckless. Should the situation arise, she should be the only lawyer to consider! Its true that not all lawyers are created equal.

    What makes a lawyer great is that he or she can do what seems impossible!

  2. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by Ken, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was a pleasure to work with during my DUI case. She was very knowledgable and thoughtful throughout the stressful (for me, anyway) legal wranglings with the court and the overall process that a person has to go through along the way. She worked with the court lawyer to get my DUI charge reduced to Reckless Driving, which was a HUGE relief to me (and my insurance rates). I would highly recommend her services if you ever get yourself in a similar situation. She's great and definitely someone you want on your side during such a difficult/stressful time.

  3. Successful DUI Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie 1-3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Melanie has a professional and calm demeanor. My DUI charge was in a difficult county with a difficult judge, neither of whom typically reduce charges. Although I have to endure a lengthy probation, my charge was reduced to reckless driving which was a big relief to me. I believe the reduction was at least in part due to Melanie's positive relationships with the prosecutors and the judge. Both Melanie and Bubba made me feel like a normal, valuable human being, instead of being made to feel like a threat to society by the police, judge, and prosecutors.

  4. Legally Brunette earns 5 stars with me!

    Posted by Jason, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie 1-3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Melanie was such a bright spot during such a difficult and stressful period in my life. I was charged with DUI, .179, and failure to maintain a lane in Jackson County. She guided me with expertise and positivity...my charges were reduced to reckless driving. I've dubbed her Legally Brunette. I highly recommend Melanie for your legal needs.

  5. Bill

    Posted by Bill, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie 1-3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    As a parent you would always like to have the the best outcome for your children in a difficult situation even if they are adults. My son at 24 from Florida was involved in a DUI in Fulton County.We hired Melane Ellwanger. The outcome of the charges were incredidible. They were dropped! If you look at my reveiew I had to take 1 point off being responsive and keeping us informed.This was all due to the case load in Atlanta and no reflection on Ms. Ellwanger. Its was great to see her confidence in the courtroom . Mellanie ROCKS!

  6. DUI Reduced

    Posted by Blake, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie 1-3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mrs. Ellwanger was able to get my DUI reduced to wreck less driving before my court date. I also had my DMV hearing dismissed which saved my license from being suspended. I was very happy with the outcome of my case and the work done by Mrs. Ellwanger. In the end the other 3 charges with my DUI were dismissed and only had a wreck less driving fine. I was not placed on any probation or anything thing else.

  7. DUI Reduced to Reckless Driving

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie 1-3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first met with Ms. Ellwanger, she asked me my expectations for my case. I told her that while having a DUI on my record would negatively affect many aspects of my life, I could live with that as long as I kept my driving privileges. Because of her knowledge of the judicial system and the workings of cases just like mine, she was able to negotiate a plea for me with the City of Atlanta prosecutor. I could not be more pleased with the outcome and a huge burden has been lifted. My DUI charge was reduced to Reckless Driving and my driving privileges have been fully reinstated.

  8. DUI reduced to Reckless Driving

    Posted by Derek, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Melanie had my DUI charge reduced to Reckless Driving. Upon meeting her, she was very professional and knowledgeable which definitely put my mind at ease.

    She went over every aspect of my case, and presented different options going forward. I liked that she was realistic with the possible outcomes and didn't promise the world like other attorneys have done in the past. She kept me informed every step of the way and immediately responded to all emails/phone calls/texts.

    After speaking to the arresting officer and prosecutor, she negotiated a reduced charge, Reckless Driving, which to me, was a best case scenario. After completing a few classes and paying a fine, my case is over with no DUI or probation. I can go on with my life.

    I can't thank Melanie enough for handling my DUI case and making the entire process as painless as possible. I have already referred two friends and would recommend her to anyone.

  9. Successful lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was able to successsfully reduce 1 of my charges & get another dismissed, soley by negotiating with the prosecuter (we didn't have to go to trial, etc.) Melanie was very professional, patient, and quick to reply to all communications. My case had some unusual circumstances that made things more challenging, but she was patient & flexible and was prepared with different approaches to handle it. Because the legal process was completely foreign to me, I would have appreciated a little more proactive feedback on her strategy, next step, and loose timeframe. While she outlined the process very clearly in her information packet, when my case didn't follow that sequence of events there were times I felt like I had no idea what was going on (there may have been nothing new). However, that may just be the nature of the legal process & I was confident that Melanie knew what was going on, even if I didn't. Most importantly, she acheived the outcome that we desired.

  10. Reduced Case

    Posted by jlf87, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melanie Ellwanger.
    • I hired Melanie more than 3 years ago.
    • Melanie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melanie was able to negotiate my case to a reduced charge. She was very responsive and made time for me. She was able to help navigate my legal case and what affect if any it would have on my out of state license. I thank her for being able to help resolve my case in a timely manner.