Sumner Earl Riddick II’s Reviews

Sumner Earl Riddick II

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce

    Posted by Dan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner more than 3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Sumner is a very competent lawyer and is very adept at keeping you up to date on the status of things. Sumner is fortunate to have a PA named Kelly Mixon who functions as he right hand. Sumner represented me in a divorce restructuring and went up against one of the toughest attorney's in DeKalb County.

    We took the case to a 12 jury after getting a poor decision from a Gwinnett Circuit Judge in a bench trail. Sumner made him this 65 year old attorney look like a school boy. The bottom line is Mr. Riddick saved me 135,000 in alimony.

  2. My life is now complete because of this man and his staff!!

    Posted by jenny, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Child Custody matter.

    This man was very comfortable to talk to, I was able to be completly honest with him regarding my horrible, shameful past. He was kind and put all his time and effort into my case, he has a huge heart and is someone I loved having on my side. I got my son back!! I will forever be in debt to this man and his staff they are so very wonderful!! I love this man!!

  3. Great attorney close to home

    Posted by Michaela, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 6-12 months ago.
    • Sumner handled my Child Support matter.

    He did everything he said he was going to do and got back to me in a timely manner. He was a very good attorney easy to talk to and well organized

  4. Custody Case

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I felt very fortunate and blessed to have found Sumner Riddick to represent me in my Custody Case against my ex-husband. I was threatened with the possibility of losing my children. I wanted to find the best Attorney for myself and my kids. I needed someone that knew the law inside and out, and someone that would help me fight for the truth. Sumner is such a brilliant, confident, compassionate, and straight forth honest man. He would tell me how things looked whether good or bad. He was there for me in this most difficult time of my life. He listens carefully to all my questions and comments and he responds quickly and clearly with analysis and advice aimed directly at the issue. I had not been receiving alimony from my ex for almost three years. Sumner was able to get that started back up in arrears for me. Up until a week before my trial he prepared for a custody case. We were then told that the custody part was being dropped but my ex was still seeking contempt charges.

    Sumner did extensive research with my case and spent a great deal of time becoming intimate with every detail. He came to trial looking sharp, prepared, and thought on his feet with any come back or rebuttal. Sumner was very attentive to me throughout the whole process. He responded to my emails, returned my phone calls, and really cared about getting me and my children what we deserved. This was the scariest thing that I have had to go through in my life. Sumner helped put me at ease and was confident throughout the whole case that I would come out on top. I knew when I first sat down to talk with him that there was something special about him. I will be forever grateful to this awesome man. Everyone in his office was amazing and so helpful. I would definitely recommend Sumner to all my friends and family.

  5. EXCELLENT ALL AROUND

    Posted by FRANCE, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Having to accompany my daughter in a custody battle for her daughter was excruciating. Fortunately we had Sumner working for us. He is not just a thorough, brilliant, talented, experienced and knowledgable attorney. He is also a reader of character, and a compassionate and scrupulously honest person.
    By the time we went to trial he knew our case inside out and he knew every person involved inside out. He had not contented himself with hearing the facts as we related them to him. He dug out every detail, whether for or against us. He insisted on the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. He did not indulge in shady legal maneuvering. He followed the law to the letter but left no stone unturned. His psychological insight was invaluable in gauging our case and in preparing each one of us for trial. He came to trial uniquely prepared. He was sharp, attentive, nothing escaped him. He thought on his feet and met every challenge square on with impeccable logic.
    We emerged from this horrendous case with a clear conscience. Sumner won our case with honor. As a fellow attorney, I give him a 10 out of 5. As a fellow human being I find him unparalleled. Sumner is a credit to his profession and a wonderful human being. We love him, respect him and will forever be in his debt.

  6. Sumner Riddick is a force of nature.

    Posted by Adama, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Child Custody matter.

    Sumner represented one of my best friends in a divorce and custody battle, and I feel compelled to sing his praises.

    His mix of professionalism, intelligence, persistence, integrity and compassion makes him not just a great attorney, but a great partner you want by your side through one of the toughest journeys in life – divorce & custody.

    Knowing that he was working on my friend's case gave me great peace of mind. He is untiring, he has your best interest at heart and he'll always tell you the truth. He was a saving grace in our lives.

    With Sumner and his team, rest assured that you have the best and brightest by your side. They give you 100% of everything they have.

    Thank you Sumner and team to your dedication to justice!

  7. Tenacious, trustworthy, and the attorney who set things RIGHT

    Posted by Sam, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In my opinion, each case is unique to the situation. Depending on that situation, the attorney uses the gathered facts to best present the case. If an attorney advises a client a favorable action plan to support the case, I would accept that plan with considerable weight knowing that he/she knows best due to years of experience. It is also the responsibility of the client to follow the attorney's advice. Having done so, Sumner Riddick earned a favorable decision for my unique situation. I had a child out of wedlock in the state of Georgia. I was awarded primary custody. For the expense of a custody battle, Sumner Riddick was the best choice.

  8. Sumner is the Best!

    Posted by Greg, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sumner is Excellent! He is very firm and straight to the point which made me comfortable and gave me confidence that my situation was going to work out okay. Sumner and his team also have an extremely good handle on the workings of the Gwinnett County Court System which saved time, cost, and avoided much aggravation spent wondering what was happening on that end of things (I knew what was going on at EVERY STEP). He and his team utlized my funds very efficiently and in a manner that I felt i received very good value for my money, and I received a tally at the end of each month that showed how each penny was spent. Sumner also cared about me as a person (including my health) through this difficult time, which increased my confidence in Sumner and his team in knowing that they really had MY best interests at heart. The numerous awards hanging in the lobby of his office (in my opinion) are not mere tokens of commendation. They are for a job extremely well done and I would recommend Sumner to anyone who is serious about hiring one of the best attorneys in town.

  9. Excellent. Made a tough time much easier.

    Posted by Bradley, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Riddick did an exceptional job of explaining the process that I would endure. He and his firm were sensitive to my needs in a very difficult time. They handled everything with professionalism, urgency, and detailed communication. They were always available to answer any of my questions or concerns. Mr. Riddick was always prepared and made certain to have an answer for any possible issues that might arise from opposing counsel. Mr. Riddick was very knowledgeable and his experience in court was evident as he did an amazing job at trial. As negotiations ensued, Mr. Riddick pushed and knew exactly how to handle unreasonable demands. The firm handled billing fairly and was always available to answer my questions. I would definitely recommend Mr. Riddick.

  10. Review of Sumner Earl Riddick II

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sumner Riddick.
    • I hired Sumner 1-3 years ago.
    • Sumner handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Riddick was very supportive throughout the entire process of my divorce and afterward. His expertise was valuable and his compassion for my situation was very much appreciated. I highly recommend Sumner and others in his office.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

770-513-0113