Richard N Shapiro’s Reviews

Richard N Shapiro

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fought the Insurance Company for My Brain Injured Son

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My son developed post-traumatic stress disorder after a large farm truck forced our car off the road and into a telephone pole. We also suspect he had a brain injury from the crash, but the truck driver's insurance company would only offer to pay for medical treatment for the physical injuries he had treated at an urgent care clinic.

    When we finally decided to take the insurer to court three years later, Rick Shapiro agreed to represent us. Mr. Shapiro fought for my son and me, getting the company to agree to a fairer mediated settlement and then getting a judge to approve the agreement.

    The money went into an account my son can access when he turns 18. The fund also pays for the tutoring that has become necessary due to the aftereffects of the accident.

    I was very impressed with Mr. Shapiro's kindness and respect. His staff was also very professional and went out of their way to make us feel at ease.

    I highly recommend Mr. Shapiro to any injury victim who needs an attorney they can trust. I know he will give every case the attention it deserves, regardless of the complexity of the legal issues, because he did that for me and my child.

  2. Richard was There When I Needed Help the Most

    Posted by Arthurt, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.

    Dear Rick,

    I would like at this time to thank you and your staff, for the thoughtfulness and caring, that you showed me in what was the low point of my life.

    My first visit to your office was right after my first chemo treatment, which was right after I had been told that I had mesothelioma and that without treatment I had six months to a year to live.

    So you can see that the first visit to your office was all important and it was! Because I left with a good feeling that I might be able to leave something to take care of my wife and children.

    This you were able to do within one year. During that time you treated me as if I was the only case you had, "I was one of many."

    You built a very strong case, which showed when the rubber hit the road and it really showed at settlement time.

    I feel that you and my doctors have really done me proud. Here it is the start of the second year and my last report was very good. Now, thanks to you, I will be able to take care of my family. This is one hell of a team that I have!

    I would like to say one more time, a big thank you to you and everyone in your office, for being so nice to me. Thank you all.

  3. Rick Shapiro was passionate about getting justice for my husband

    Posted by Anna, a Wrongful Death client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Wrongful Death matter.

    I am so happy with the outcome of our case against CSX Railroad, which resulted in an $8.6 million verdict. Our attorneys, Rick Shapiro and Sidney Gilreath [TN counsel] were so passionate about this case and it certainly came across in the courtroom during the trial.

    They worked extremely hard for us throughout these past five years and believed in our position with so much conviction, but they were also very sensitive to my husband's condition, especially the last few weeks of his life. I don't know if all attorneys work this hard for their clients, but Mr. Shapiro...dedicated so many hours to this case and I and my family will be forever grateful to them.

    This verdict was so important because it brought to light the realization that many big corporations put profits above providing safe working conditions, proper training and furnishing protective clothing and equipment to their employees. They are great attorneys and a credit to their profession. If I ever need an attorney in the future, you can be assured I will be calling Mr. Shapiro and Mr. Gilreath.

  4. Great Lawyer Who Treated Me with Dignity and Kindness

    Posted by EK,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.

    Mr. Shapiro and his staff were always very kind and courteous to me. Roz, Mr. Shapiro's paralegal, was sympathetic to my situation and understanding of my injuries. She and his legal assistant Meg always returned my calls promptly as did Mr. Shapiro. I tripped and suffered injuries due to a construction area that was not marked properly. I had a favorable settlement and my case was handled promptly. I would recommend Mr. Shapiro and his staff to other persons who have a personal injury and need help with their situation as I did.

  5. I am forever grateful for what you did for our family

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.

    My Dad died less than 3 months after he was diagnosed with mesothelioma. He did not live to see the results of the work of what Rick Shapiro did for our family. We were caught up in delay after delay. I really believe the Railroad was trying to delay until after my mother's death. Rick never gave up, he appealed the lower judge's decision to a higher court and got that decision overturned with a unanimous decision, making our case a landmark case for others in our situation to have legal ground to fight on.

    [The railroad] had no sympathy for the family; could care less that Dad was exposed to asbestos while he worked in the railroad shop and later as fireman on the steam engines and later as an engineer running the diesel engines. Rick realized the railroad knew of the dangers of asbestos years ago and intentionally failed to train the employees of the hazards in being exposed to asbestos nor did they ever offer any type of personal protective devices even though they had been available for years. That they knew and made intentional decisions to do nothing for their employees provided the fuel for anger from within the family.

    Over the life of the case, which extended almost 5 years, Rick visited our home; he wanted to develop a personal relationship with the family so he could better understand our needs and where our strengths were. His continued drive and positive attitude kept us from ever getting to the point where we just gave up and decided to take whatever deal the railroad laid on the table. Never did I send an email or left a message in Rick's office that we did not get a speedy answer. The courtesy he extended to our family was unmatched by anyone in his profession.

    We were successful in reaching a settlement amount with the railroad ... on behalf of our mother.... She just wanted to know that she would have money in the bank to pay the bills and not have to worry about somebody coming in and making her give up something that she and Dad had worked for. Rick made that possible. He has never led us astray and he always acted in our best interest. Now that this chapter is behind us, we still stay in touch from time to time. Rick evolved over time to become part of the family, a trusted, loyal friend. From not knowing us at all, to fighting for us, to the final battle, his guidance was always positive, and always in our best interest.

    On behalf of [all of us] we are eternally grateful for everything the firm did for our family.

  6. Airline Injury Testimonial

    Posted by Kim, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a flight attendant for a major airline and chose Shapiro,Cooper,Lewis & Appleton as my counsel.
    Mr. Richard N. Shapiro was able to understand the complex situation of my avaiation case and put together an agressive litigation strategy. We were able to file a compelling complaint and force opposing counsel, who represented [a large] manufacture of aircrafts, and was represented by one of the largest law firms in New York, to make a substantial settlement offer shortly thereafter. I am truly impressed by Mr. Shapiro and his result oriented approach. I have high regard for Mr. Shapiro's expertise and have recommended him to other associates of the ariline industry and friends.

  7. Thank You So Much

    Posted by Debbie, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would like to personally thank you and your office for taking care of my accident. I had a fall case in a restaurant in Virginia, which I live in North Carolina. I had an attorney here working on the case for more than a year, that attorney then told me that I did not have a case that the statute of limitations in Virginia had run out.

    Mr. Shapiro proved them wrong. I contacted his office via the internet, got an immediate response. He is an extremely nice man that made me feel like he cared, which he truly did indeed.

    I spoke with him on the phone and in no time he had the case rolling. He in fact advised me that the statutes had not run out and that since the accident did happen in Virginia and I am a resident of North Carolina, that the statutes in this state were still good. All I can say is WOW what a wonderful group of people he has there.

    In no time at all Mr. Shapiro had my case settled, my funds were in my bank, and all was resolved. After being told by my attorney in North Carolina, that basically I did not have a case. Again all I can say is what a wonderful team Mr. Shapiro has, and how fast they worked to get my case settled. Everyone at his office made me feel not only special but like I was a member of their family. I can not say enough how extra nice and intelligent this group is. They are professional, expedient and a very caring group.

    If you need an attorney, please contact Mr. Shapiro, he is the best. I have told everyone I know about his firm, and will continue to spread the word. Mr. Shapiro, thank you with all my heart.

    Debbie



    ___ ____ ______



    Thanks!

  8. rail road personal injury

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had a personal injury on the Railroad about 4 years ago, were I suffered, a mild traumatic Brain injury, during a rear end collision. I called this law firm because they came recommended by a fellow worker. I did not know what to expect, for I have never had an injury nor ever needed a lawyer before. I made the call to an investigator around 8pm that night, and within 2 hours , I had a lawyer on the phone. I had many questions, and they had the answers. Mr. Shapiro and his firm were very up front and told me the truth. Not to run me in circles or to beat around the bush. They told me the truth. And I feel you need that ,and it was very important to me.
    During my injury when I had been to some local specialist for my Brain injury,and noting seemed to help. They looked into finding me a specialist that specificity specialized in the type of injury I had, I finally got some relief. I must say they were very concerned about my well-being first and for most. Their investigator on my case called me at least once a week to check on me. And if I needed them, I knew they were only a phone call away. I was took out of service of course by the Rail Road, as most rail roader's are in a case of this nature. During the time I was off, I was not able to pay the doctor bill's that had accumulated, and the lawyer and his firm, did not hesitate to send out a lean letter to the providers, to make sure that all I had to do is get better. It was very hard during this time, My wife did not work, and I had three small children that depended on me. There was no way I thought this could have ever happened to me. But I am sure glad there was Mr. Shapiro and his firm was there to see me threw it. I was off for a year, and 29 days. After recovering from my injury, I was able to return to work. With the help I received from this very knowledgeable firm with a rail road case, and my personal injury case. They helped with contacting the right people to aid in getting me back to work to continue my career, as a locomotive engineer. I did settle for an agreed amount between me and my lawyer, with out having the pressure of going to court. I was very happy with the out come with the case, I got my job back and a settlement to boot. After all isn't that what we all hope for. I would highly recommend Mr. Shapiro and his firm In an Injury on the Rail Road, or in any Personal injury case. I know my self I keep there phone number with me at all times.

  9. Excellent Experience

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Shapiro.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    No one enjoys going to court and being faced with the unknown. Recently, I found myself needing a lawyer. I am so glad that I chose Richard Shapiro to represent me in my case. He took the time to listen to my concerns and addressed each one. With his vast knowledge of the law and experince he took the time to explain each aspect my case throughout the process. He researched the law and was well versed on the particulars as they pertained to my case When we went to court , twice, he argued my case impressively. We won!! I am relieved and glad that I asked Richard Shapiro to represent me. I would recommend him to anyone. If you are looking for somone who can get the job done, he can!

800-752-0042