Jonathan L Katz’s Reviews

Jonathan L Katz

Average Rating

Based on 107 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If you have been charged with a DUI and looking for lawyer, look no further if you want the best defense for your case.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-6 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was accused of DUI and refusal, which would have been two years suspended license. I was worried and blaming myself for the incident. Jon was able to make a plea bargain with the prosecutor, to drop the refusal and reduce the DUI charge for a lesser charge. Jon if you are reading this, I just want to say thank you for your hard work.
    I begin my extensive research online as soon as I get the DUI charges and come across Jon. I was in your place one time wondering if the online review is real. I really want to help you, please make the appointment to discuss your case with Jon. I am glad, I did. The minute you met with Jon, you will have peace of mind. Jon absolutely knows the law in and out more importantly he is genuinely passionate about what he does. He is very optimistic and fights for you even more than your expectation. Jon is also very friendly, very funny and who actually relates to you as a person.
    Jon and his staff were very professional and available to answer any questions. Jon accommodates your schedule to meet with you by phone or in person late into the evening. He responds to your emails during the same business day, late at night or early in the morning. He and his staff will keeps you updated on your case.
    I recommend Jon as the best lawyer in VA, MD, and DC.
    Thanks for all your hard work Jon!!

  2. One night in Bangkok!!

    Posted by Julie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-6 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had a simple but a tough case because of the county the incident took place, my line of profession and immigration status. I was scared, better say terrified. My immigration attorney recommended Jon and I set up an appointment immediately. After our first meeting I hired him. Before meeting with Jon I met with 3 attorneys and all of them told me the same thing: I had to plead guilty and hope that the prosecutor would agree to a plea bargain. But Jon was totally different; he was realistic but also had a strategy that was well thought out. We both had work ahead of us but it was much better than sitting around and hoping for the best. Jon believed in being extremely prepared and going to court as if we would be going for trial. When I asked him why do all this work; he said, if you go to settle it will more likely go to trial. But if you go to trial it will more likely settle. His initial fee was relatively hire than the other 3 attorneys however Jon works relentlessly. He always finds time to return calls, emails and if you call in advance meet with you in person. I recall the night before my court date (which was a Sunday) Jon was still editing,from home the letters that my immigration attorney delayed in delivering!!
    When we arrived to court on Monday we were ready more than any of the other people. The prosecutor was very tough and was not willing to compromise. Jon did not get discouraged with the prosecutors negative act, and he immediately approached to the supervising prosecutor. I was so scared that when I look back all the people are a blur except Jon. I remember him walking very quickly back and forth, strategizing the case, keeping me well informed and exploring every option possible. Finally Jon came back with a deal that I was not prepared at all. Looking back If it wouldn't have been for Jon I still don't think I would have accepted the prosecutor's offer. But Jon talked with me why it's beneficial not only for the case but for my employment status as well. So I accepted the offer and the outcome even though was difficult, for reasons I would not like to share, turned out to be the best. Thanks to Jon, my immigration status is in good standing so as my employment:)
    Jon if you are reading this, you know who I am. I am sure there were times (plenty) that I drove you crazy with endless questions, emails and worries. But you made me feel very important every time I reached out to you. Even though your answers are always short and to the point, and it took me a while to get used to your abrupt ways, I know it was tough love at the end. I wish you all the best and a big THANK YOU!

  3. DUI + reckless driving knocked down to speeding ticket

    Posted by Brandon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jon is not only a great attorney but also a great guy! Made me feel very comfortable and handled my case with extreme professionalism. Would recommend him to anyone without hesitation!!

  4. Not guilty

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-6 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was accused of DWI and refusal, which would have been two years suspended license. I most likely would have lost my job if convicted. The plea bargain offered was to drop the refusal, but keep the DWI and one year suspended license. We had to delay the case because this was not an acceptable offer. At my new trial date, the prosecuter offered the same plea bargain despite a counter offer of a high fine, jail time and restricted license for a year. I had no choice but to go to trial. Once the trial began Jon completely dominated the process and it was clear that there was no grounds to pull me over. It was amazing. I was facing two years suspended license, fought for one year restricted license and reckless and ended with EVERYTHING being dropped. What a wonderful day and an amazing lawyer.

  5. Very Happy

    Posted by Greg, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-6 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jon did what I thought was simply not at all possible. Due to his advice and his excellent job handling the situation, he was able to have my charge reduced, in addition to other things that helped my situation tremendously.

    Look no further. I found Jon through AVVO, and it turned out to be one of the smartest things I've ever done blindly. You will not be disappointed.

  6. Thank you Mr. Katz

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.

    Mr. Katz and his staff were professional and available to answer any questions. Thank you very much to you and your staff. We were able to achieve a good outcome. Highly recommend working with Mr. Katz if you're caught up in the VA justice system and need help navigating.

  7. Thank you Jon Katz

    Posted by Don, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    In the summer of 2013 I was accused of DWI in Prince William County Va. When I say accused let me explain. In heavy traffic on Rt95 I rear ended someone. The State police came and the officer stated he smelled alcohol. I told him I had a couple of beers at lunch. He asked me to do some tests that involved walking , turning etc. I explained to the officer that I have severe nerve damage in my lower back and would be unable to preform the requested tests. I further advised him that I was a chronic pain suffer with a interthecal pain pump due to the nerve damage. He then asked if I want to go strait to the breath test. I blew a .04. He then inquired about the "pain pump". I advised him the it gave me a very low amount of morphine in the interthecal space in my spine and none in my blood stream. He then advised me that I was under arrest! I asked for and received a blood test at Prince William Hospital. The first lawyer I hired charged me $3500.00 and basically told me I was guilty. Thank God I found Jon Katz. He believed me and went to work to get me justice. The day of the trial. Jon had arraigned for a professional witness and a court reporter. Before it went to trial Jon talked to the prosecutor and he offered to reduce it to improper driving. ( after all I did rear end someone) Thank you Jon, I don't think any other lawyer could have got me the justice I feel I deserved, certainly not the first one I hired. If you need justice, look no further that Jon Katz. There is NO ONE BETTER on the field of battle, that is the courtroom.

  8. The Best

    Posted by Brent, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jon Katz is the best DWI / DUI lawyer in Maryland, Virginia and DC. His legal knowledge is unsurpassed. My case was a DUI / DWI in Frederick, MD. When we met for trial he told me "you own me today" since I was paying him to represent me. He was working on other cases while we were waiting my case to be called up. He was constantly in and out of the court restrategizing my case. When he detecting me getting nervous or distracted he talk about something or tell a joke to lighten me up. His team at his office every bit as good as he is. They always got back to me with answers and Jon does as well. He's very easy to communicate with. I ended up be aquitted of DWI / DUI and only got PBJ Driving Impaired / Alcohol which is a much less charge and unsupervised probation. Even after the case was done I needed needed an Emergency Motion sent to the judge for me to relocate for a new job. Jon was on it faster than I could say "Jon could you..". All in all you get what you pay for and his are reasonable.

  9. Jon saved my life

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    If you are looking for DUI or DWI lawyer, look no further. I was very hesitant to hire Jon at first based on google search but he is very experienced and he can be your hero too.

  10. God Sent

    Posted by Jay, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Katz.
    • I hired Jonathan 6-12 months ago.
    • Jonathan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    This was not my first time dealing with the VA court system unfortunately. I was a third time DUI offender. I was down on luck, life and myself for getting into a predicament I promised myself, I would never be in again. I was willing to spend what ever it takes to get a great lawyer this time around. The first two times around I didn’t have the best lawyer and didn’t get the best results. After going through two lawyers and about 4 grand I spent about 30 days total in jail on my 2nd DUI charge. I felt I was totally screwed over because the defense case was weak and my BAC was only .11. I eventually took total responsibility and promised never to see another jail cell. Three years go by and things are going pretty well until life circumstances start to happen. I will not go into them all but my life had become a mess. In the attempt to have a good day for a change a friend invites and offers to drive me to a beer and wine festival. I of course accept. The wine tasting turns into a whole night on the town this left my designated driver to inebriated to drive home. So being so appreciative of finally having a great time for the first time in a while, I took the chance and drove home. As they always say most people get pulled over close to home. Five minutes from the house we get pulled over and now my life goes from bad to worst in just the matter on a few minutes. I see my job at a fortune 500 company flash before my eyes. Third DUI conviction is a FELONY. I just sat an imaged all the hard work I done in life will be for nothing because of a little too much drinking. The long nights studying in undergrad and master’s program, all for not.


    I do a little research and praying and come across Jonathan L Katz. Lawyers and I don’t usually mix because they promise you the world and the ending always sucks. Kind of like most relationships. Mr. Katz was different he was confident when I wasn’t. Most lawyers want you to take the first plea, Mr. Katz was the opposite. He told me that deal was crap when I just wanted to do the week in jail and keep my job. I took Jon’s advice reluctantly and didn’t take the plea, requested for another court date. Months went by but that date finally came and we happened to get a better Judge and State Attorney. Mr. Katz went to work before I knew it he came out of the court room like I got you a deal with No jail time and you will be able to plea to a DUI 1st. I was cool with that but he didn’t stop there he still tried to look for holes in there case to get me completely off. He left “ NO STONE” unturned but there was nothing there. So for a 3rd DUI in Fairfax county VA I do No jail time plea to a 1st DUI and get three other chargers dropped with the exception of reckless driving which he eventually got changed to an improper driving.

    I just wanted to personally take the time to thank Mr. Katz for his hard work and dedication to not only my case but his profession as a whole. You saved my career and gave me a second chance to get my act together in life.

    Jonathan L Katz = God Sent

Fully staffed Monday-Friday. Your voicemails go to my pager. 703-383-1100, ext. 224 .

703-383-1100