David Raymond Mahood’s Reviews

David Raymond Mahood

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Helpful!

    Posted by Chris,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    Mr. Mahood was a great help. Even though we spoke on the phone only once, it was right before the holidays and he still spent an hour with me! He gave me a lot to think about and is very easy to talk to as I didn't feel rushed or overwhelmed by anything he said. If anything else comes up with my divorce, I will contact Mr. Mahood without hesitation!

  2. Exceptional

    Posted by Stephanie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    After exhausting my savings (over 30K) trying to get a divorce from a controlling angry ex spouse and her very unethical attorney I had to represent myself in ProPer. So I hit Avvo.com to ask questions when ever I got stuck. Mr. Mahood responded to my questions and even followed up with a 40 minute call to make sure I understood what to do. For free!!. I truly feel if I had him as my lawyer I would have been done with the divorce over a year ago. Too bad he happens to be almost 3000 miles away.

    Thank you Mr. Manhood. I really appreciate you for helping me restart my life!!

    Thank you!!!!!!

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was truly a pleasure helping you. I always try to help my clients handle their divorces and custody battles the easy way first. If settlement negotiations do not resolve the legal issues because the other party is unreasonable and just wants to fight, then onto the legal battle we go. I am pleased my advice was so useful to you. It would help you to know that even though I am in Maryland, I currently have California cases in addition to my Maryland cases. I am able to do much to help my clients with California cases, so don't hesitate to call for help if necessary. And I can fly out there to handle trials, etc., when the legal fees make it worth my travel expenses. Call me sometime, Stephanie, to fill me in on the details since our last conversation. I would like to know how things developed and exactly what you did in putting into practice my legal advice. Take care. Wish you and yours the best.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  3. I need assistance with my divorce case

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    I needed help with my divorce case and immediately Mr Mahood got me in for a free consultation. He is a very professional, informative, no nonsense, honest and straight to the point type of man He talks to you, and not at you or above you. MOST IMPORTANTLY HE LISTENS TO HIS CLIENTS THEN ACT ON THEIR BEHALF. This is very important in a atty client relationship. It should not be the attorney dictating to you, not working for you but against you and always threatening to drop your case because you don't always agree and he wants to be the boss. I received excellent service and advice. Thank you very much Mr Mahood and thank you Avvo.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a pleasure helping you because although you were clearly a woman with an independent mind and spirit, you listened carefully to my thoughts based on my years of experience in divorce law. I enjoyed meeting you and helping you understand the things that could be done to protect your legal rights.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. Swift, relevant advice with additional, unforeseen concerns identified.

    Posted by Ron,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    Frankly, the title sums things up nicely. My question concerned issues related to a real estate transaction and Atty Mahood identified a potential avenue of recourse in his reply that hadn't even occurred to me, in addition to answering the original question. His swift response did well to assist me in pinpointing my focus as I go forward.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I was happy to help you. As an attorney, I try to answer not only the questions asked, but the questions which should have been asked. Sometimes people don't have a clue about even more important issues revolving around their legal challenges, and so we attorneys are supposed to give advice which helps them understand all the options before them.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  5. Put my mind at ease that my husband's ex-wife couldn't pull me into their legal problems.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    Was worried because I added my new husband and his son to my health and dental insurance at my job. My new husband's ex-wife said she was going to list me as financially responsible on the doctor/dental bills and if I have negative credit I could lose my clearance causing me to lose my job. David reassured me that legally she cannot list me as financially responsible just because I added him to my insurance. It really put my mind at ease.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I would like to add a few thoughts. Even though the mother has no RIGHT to add you as financially responsible, she can cause you trouble by filling out paperwork, alleging or stating that you are the financially responsible one. Maryland law provides that the Mother and Father are financially responsible for their own child, and that you as the step-mother are not financially responsible. However, as a member of the father's household I am sure you provide financial assistance for the care of the child. You should make sure that you communicate with those who provide medical and other services to your child and let them know what is going on here. Otherwise, you could end up with troublesome paperwork filled out by the mother which could cause you difficulties, even though in the end, you can prove that you are not the financially responsible one.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  6. Honest and Fair

    Posted by Justin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found David Mahood by browsing the web for knowledgeable attorneys that handle uncontested divorce cases. David’s knowledge of the law was very helpful during my divorce and he always looked out for my best interests in a manner that was fair to my spouse. If you're looking for someone who's honest and fair, you have found the right person for the divorce battle ahead of you. While all court cases are not the same, Mr. Mahood will go above and beyond to lighten the burden on your shoulders and make it as streamlined as possible for you. I never once felt overwhelmed during the process! I'm very pleased at how everything turned out in the end.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Justin, for your kind words. One of the main reasons everything went smoothly is because you were a good listener and you followed my advice. Sometimes, clients are motivated by a desire for vengeance or to cause harm to their soon-to-be former spouse. You followed my advice and treated her with respect, as did I, and so things progressed easily toward the final judgment. Any time there is a successful conclusion to a legal case, it is because the attorney and client worked together in a harmonious way. As an aside, I must say that when the litigation battle explodes, and costs both sides tens of thousands of dollars, it is almost always because one party or both parties are trying to do something really unfair to the other party, and this necessitates a corresponding defense. In your case, you were fair and that is why everything went well, and we avoided the expensive, stressful, litigation battle.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  7. honest representation.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Before hiring David to handle my divorce/ custody battle I was in the middle of talking with several other attorneys. One thing I noticed immediately was that David had listened to me talk and immediately advised me on a personal level. David was the only attorney I had spoke with that spoke to me about me, about how I was feeling and offered very good advise even before we discussed the financial end of representation. David showed me real concern for my particular situation, I never felt like my case was not as important as other cases were to him. It always seemed that David had given my case thought and he always gave me good sense of direction. David is a professional, he treats everyone with respect and had the ability to teach me a thing or two about humility along the way. I have the up most respect for David Mahood, as a result of his tutelage I wound up with custody of my two sons. I am very pleased.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your kind words. You did well in your custody case, because even though your initial approach to your case, would have damaged your results, you were a good listener, and you followed my instructions, and you listened carefully as I explained things "outside-the-box." Your willingness to do follow the principles I articulated gave you the advantage you needed, and this allowed you to obtain your legal objectives. It was a pleasure working with you because although it was hard for you to hear some of my hard-hitting counsel, you swallowed your pride, made the necessary changes, and said and acted exactly as I had advised you. And everything worked out for you because you did not insist that your way was the only way. I enjoyed meeting you and helping you. Most of all, I am confident the children are in good hands.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  8. David Mahood is the Best

    Posted by AnointedHandsbyMarsha, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    David Mahood,will be working with my son and I for him to start seeing his son again,he gave us so much information and we been working on what he told us..David is amazing,My son is so excited about the outcome

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a pleasure helping you and your son, and it was so unfortunate the other parent began resorting to very underhanded strategies. I hope things work out in your son's favor in the end. He is a good man who loves his child and wants to be a very supportive parent.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  9. ☆TRUE ATTORNEY THAT REALLY CARES ABOUT YOU ☆MR. MAHOOD IS FAMILY FOR LIFE☆

    Posted by Daniel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    MR MAHOOD WAS JUST ANOTHER ATTORNEY ANSWER ING A QUESTION TO MY DIVORCE AND CHILD CUSTODY BATTLE AND CURRENT STATUS . NOW HE NOT ONLY GAVE ME GREAT ADVISE BUT KEPT IN TOUCH TO SEE HOW IT WAS GOING AND LEAD ME TO VICTORY ON MY OWN . THIS SHOWS ME THAT ALL ATTORNEY ARE NOT JUST MONEY BUT HEART TOO .. I REFER EVERYBODY TO THIS WEBSITE NOW BECAUSE HE GAVE ME FAITH THAT THERE ARE REAL PEOPLE OUT THERE STILL ... THAN K YOU AGAIN MR MAHOOD FOR ADVISE . OR I'LL JUST CALL YOU DAD LOL :) TAKE CARE SIR KIT. DAN FRICKE

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Dan Fricke, for your very kind thoughts. Much of my work on AVVO is done without any expressions of gratitude, so when someone speaks up and lets me know how much I am appreciated, it truly warms the heart, and makes all the hard work worthwhile. You just made my day!

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Great Attorney, Helping a TON in custody case!

    Posted by Osei, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm going through a pretty sticky custody case right now, I tried for months to handle it Pro Se, but after my pendente lite hearing I knew I would need help. David had already answered most of the the questions I've asked on Avvo.com, so it only made sense to hire him as my attorney. The initial consultation was supposed to be only 30 minutes, but our conversation went nearly 2 hours(which he did not bill me for mind you). He is very informative, and after every conversation you will leave knowing WAY more about law and life than you did before. I'd recommend David Mahood to anyone(especially dads) dealing with custody issues.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I appreciate Osei's kind expressions of gratitude. It always warms my heart to be appreciated by my clients. It was a pleasure to guide Osei because he was respectful, and listened carefully and took to heart my advice. I wanted to give him not just legal advice, but more importantly, the practical wisdom to go along with the legal component so that he could make decisions for the good of his son in promoting their loving relationship. The mother at first was denying all visitation, but then she softened up after Osei followed my advice and the litigation part of the case gradually died down. I always try to help my clients resolve their litigation problems the easy way, the negotiated way, if that is possible. Osei listened well and backed off any and all initial feelings of bitterness and revenge, and things started working out for the best in his case. Not all clients listen as well as he did, so it was very gratifying working with him. By the way, folks, I work well with Moms and Wives also.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

410-381-1656