David Raymond Mahood’s Reviews

David Raymond Mahood

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Put my mind at ease that my husband's ex-wife couldn't pull me into their legal problems.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    Was worried because I added my new husband and his son to my health and dental insurance at my job. My new husband's ex-wife said she was going to list me as financially responsible on the doctor/dental bills and if I have negative credit I could lose my clearance causing me to lose my job. David reassured me that legally she cannot list me as financially responsible just because I added him to my insurance. It really put my mind at ease.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I would like to add a few thoughts. Even though the mother has no RIGHT to add you as financially responsible, she can cause you trouble by filling out paperwork, alleging or stating that you are the financially responsible one. Maryland law provides that the Mother and Father are financially responsible for their own child, and that you as the step-mother are not financially responsible. However, as a member of the father's household I am sure you provide financial assistance for the care of the child. You should make sure that you communicate with those who provide medical and other services to your child and let them know what is going on here. Otherwise, you could end up with troublesome paperwork filled out by the mother which could cause you difficulties, even though in the end, you can prove that you are not the financially responsible one.

      Posted 1 day ago. Flag

  2. Honest and Fair

    Posted by Justin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found David Mahood by browsing the web for knowledgeable attorneys that handle uncontested divorce cases. David’s knowledge of the law was very helpful during my divorce and he always looked out for my best interests in a manner that was fair to my spouse. If you're looking for someone who's honest and fair, you have found the right person for the divorce battle ahead of you. While all court cases are not the same, Mr. Mahood will go above and beyond to lighten the burden on your shoulders and make it as streamlined as possible for you. I never once felt overwhelmed during the process! I'm very pleased at how everything turned out in the end.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Justin, for your kind words. One of the main reasons everything went smoothly is because you were a good listener and you followed my advice. Sometimes, clients are motivated by a desire for vengeance or to cause harm to their soon-to-be former spouse. You followed my advice and treated her with respect, as did I, and so things progressed easily toward the final judgment. Any time there is a successful conclusion to a legal case, it is because the attorney and client worked together in a harmonious way. As an aside, I must say that when the litigation battle explodes, and costs both sides tens of thousands of dollars, it is almost always because one party or both parties are trying to do something really unfair to the other party, and this necessitates a corresponding defense. In your case, you were fair and that is why everything went well, and we avoided the expensive, stressful, litigation battle.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  3. honest representation.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Before hiring David to handle my divorce/ custody battle I was in the middle of talking with several other attorneys. One thing I noticed immediately was that David had listened to me talk and immediately advised me on a personal level. David was the only attorney I had spoke with that spoke to me about me, about how I was feeling and offered very good advise even before we discussed the financial end of representation. David showed me real concern for my particular situation, I never felt like my case was not as important as other cases were to him. It always seemed that David had given my case thought and he always gave me good sense of direction. David is a professional, he treats everyone with respect and had the ability to teach me a thing or two about humility along the way. I have the up most respect for David Mahood, as a result of his tutelage I wound up with custody of my two sons. I am very pleased.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your kind words. You did well in your custody case, because even though your initial approach to your case, would have damaged your results, you were a good listener, and you followed my instructions, and you listened carefully as I explained things "outside-the-box." Your willingness to do follow the principles I articulated gave you the advantage you needed, and this allowed you to obtain your legal objectives. It was a pleasure working with you because although it was hard for you to hear some of my hard-hitting counsel, you swallowed your pride, made the necessary changes, and said and acted exactly as I had advised you. And everything worked out for you because you did not insist that your way was the only way. I enjoyed meeting you and helping you. Most of all, I am confident the children are in good hands.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. David Mahood is the Best

    Posted by AnointedHandsbyMarsha, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    David Mahood,will be working with my son and I for him to start seeing his son again,he gave us so much information and we been working on what he told us..David is amazing,My son is so excited about the outcome

  5. ☆TRUE ATTORNEY THAT REALLY CARES ABOUT YOU ☆MR. MAHOOD IS FAMILY FOR LIFE☆

    Posted by Daniel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.

    MR MAHOOD WAS JUST ANOTHER ATTORNEY ANSWER ING A QUESTION TO MY DIVORCE AND CHILD CUSTODY BATTLE AND CURRENT STATUS . NOW HE NOT ONLY GAVE ME GREAT ADVISE BUT KEPT IN TOUCH TO SEE HOW IT WAS GOING AND LEAD ME TO VICTORY ON MY OWN . THIS SHOWS ME THAT ALL ATTORNEY ARE NOT JUST MONEY BUT HEART TOO .. I REFER EVERYBODY TO THIS WEBSITE NOW BECAUSE HE GAVE ME FAITH THAT THERE ARE REAL PEOPLE OUT THERE STILL ... THAN K YOU AGAIN MR MAHOOD FOR ADVISE . OR I'LL JUST CALL YOU DAD LOL :) TAKE CARE SIR KIT. DAN FRICKE

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Dan Fricke, for your very kind thoughts. Much of my work on AVVO is done without any expressions of gratitude, so when someone speaks up and lets me know how much I am appreciated, it truly warms the heart, and makes all the hard work worthwhile. You just made my day!

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  6. Great Attorney, Helping a TON in custody case!

    Posted by Osei, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm going through a pretty sticky custody case right now, I tried for months to handle it Pro Se, but after my pendente lite hearing I knew I would need help. David had already answered most of the the questions I've asked on Avvo.com, so it only made sense to hire him as my attorney. The initial consultation was supposed to be only 30 minutes, but our conversation went nearly 2 hours(which he did not bill me for mind you). He is very informative, and after every conversation you will leave knowing WAY more about law and life than you did before. I'd recommend David Mahood to anyone(especially dads) dealing with custody issues.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I appreciate Osei's kind expressions of gratitude. It always warms my heart to be appreciated by my clients. It was a pleasure to guide Osei because he was respectful, and listened carefully and took to heart my advice. I wanted to give him not just legal advice, but more importantly, the practical wisdom to go along with the legal component so that he could make decisions for the good of his son in promoting their loving relationship. The mother at first was denying all visitation, but then she softened up after Osei followed my advice and the litigation part of the case gradually died down. I always try to help my clients resolve their litigation problems the easy way, the negotiated way, if that is possible. Osei listened well and backed off any and all initial feelings of bitterness and revenge, and things started working out for the best in his case. Not all clients listen as well as he did, so it was very gratifying working with him. By the way, folks, I work well with Moms and Wives also.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Honest family law attorney

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I got help from David Mahood regarding an employment dispute for unpaid wages. He effectively and efficiently resolved my issue and I quickly got my unpaid wages paid to me! I appreciated his knowledge and ability to get fast results. I recommend him to other people who want an honest and knowledgeable attorney.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      By way of full disclosure, I just wanted to say that this former client happens to be my beloved adult daughter whom I helped with a small legal matter which could have ballooned into a much bigger problem. She followed my advice, and resolved her problem and there was no need for any unnecessary litigation. After training her, she began working for a top-notch law firm and I am happy to say she is doing well. I am a proud father!

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came across Mr. Mahood by searching the internet for high profile attorneys that handle custody and divorce. Mr. Mahood’s experience and knowledge of the law has been extremely helpful. I am currently going through my divorce, his experience and wisdom is so helpful. If you are looking for someone who will tell the truth and keep it straight, you have found that right attorney. We all have unexpected issues that come up in life and Mr. Mahood would be a great person to have on your team. He is dedication to his clients and has wisdom that has helped me with normal life issues.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I poured my heart and soul into helping this dedicated mother fight a father who was determined to stick it to her. He seemed to have unlimited funds for the legal battle, and tried to drown us with his legal paperwork. We showed the father that the mother would not lay down or allow herself to be bullied. The mother is focusing on helping her young son cope with very difficult circumstances so he can grow up to be a fine young man. I wish her the best as she continues the struggle against a father determined to undermine her every step of the way. Sometimes, there is no choice but to stay in the battle for the long haul, and not give up.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  9. I had the worst ever legal experience with David Mahood

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had the worst experience ever with David Mahood. I felt abused from the first moment I worked with him and threatened throughout the very brief period I worked with him. He is not knowledgeable and would make phone calls to clients and talk for hours and then charge you these hours as if you consulted him, which does not make any sense.

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      I care deeply about all my clients and want to help them in every way possible, both legally and in a practical sense, and I felt this way about this client too. I did my best to help her with her case against her spouse who had threatened to kill her on many, many occasions. Based on her vivid descriptions of his words and actions toward her, he seemed very dangerous. I even had concerns that once I began the legal battle, that the husband might do to me what he tried to do to her.

      But regardless of the risks to my personal safety, it was clear she needed help, so I threw my personal concerns aside, and went forward with the case. I was confident that doing good for my clients has its own rewards which go far beyond any fees earned or risks to my safety. I have had many clients express deep appreciation and gratitude for my work in helping them deal with very difficult divorces, domestic violence, or entrenched battles over money.

      Unexpectedly, after giving this client more than $800.00 of my free time, this client began asking me to do the entire divorce for $1,500.00 even though it was possible that the fees could have gone much higher if the husband decided to put up the big legal battle (impossible to predict though). This client was negotiating with me for a few weeks, trying to persuade me to accept her offer to change our written Legal Services Agreement from an hourly fee to a flat fee of $1,500.00 plus some money for any court hearings.

      When I refused to change my hourly fees to a flat fee of $1,500.00 this client became upset I would not change our written agreement to comply with the new terms she began demanding. I tried to explain I had no idea how much of a battle her husband would bring against her, and therefore, that I had no idea how much my attorney’s fees would be. If she truly had felt threatened by me from the very beginning, then it made no sense that a month after she hired me, she was asking me to accept her offer to handle her case for a flat fee of $1,500.00. These divorce cases can go on for many months, and sometimes for years.

      Regarding the phone calls: the Legal Services Agreement stated as follows: “Attorney’s legal services and hourly billing time include, but are not limited to …. phone calls, emails, text messages ….” among other things. She had read the Legal Services Agreement very carefully, even asking me to line out certain phrases and insert certain things. She has a PhD and is very well educated, so it also makes no sense that she would not know that phone calls were part of the billable time, because “phone calls” were right there in black and white.

      My heartfelt desire was to help her, just as I want to help all my clients. I take great satisfaction and happiness from the gratitude and appreciation I have received from hundreds of clients over the many years of my service as an attorney. I hope this client finds the peace and happiness and legal protection she is seeking.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. TERRIFIC JOB!!!

    Posted by Janet, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Mahood.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was served with an Ex-parte and didn't know what to do so I waited, for my surprise the judge granted the father his petition to enroll my daughter in his school district and that would mean that eventually my daughter was going to live with her father so I called couple lawyers in the area and I get no respond. My close friend knew Mr. Mahood since she lost contact with him from while back, she searched on the net and found Mr. Mahood's email, sent an email. To my surprise, he responded right away. Mr Mahood called her and we started explaining what was going on with my case. Since his office was not located in the State of California, He listened carefully as we talked for couple hours on the phone. After that long talk, he mention that he was willing to review all my court papers that I was served with, helped me with my court's hearing, declaration and do and ex-parte for a affordable flat fee, including the airfare,and the trip's expenses. He flew from Maryland to California and stay for a week to accomplish what we agreed over the phone. Mr Mahood spent large amount of time talking to the other party's attorney, gathering information and the most important thing preparing the response to the father allegations. I really like the way Mr Mahood approched the father's allegations. Mr. Mahood took the time to think and gather thoughts to respond to father's allegation, since the father tried to denigrate me, Mr Mahood made sure that the judge knew the kind and loving mother I was and I am to my daughter, supporting every single thing with proof. The response and declaration were two of the strongest key in this battle. Mr.Mahood has a tremendous capability to think and express one's thoughts in writing. Also Mr Mahood well represented me in court. Because of all the effort and time that he put into my case, we won the case and the judge ruled on my favor this past September 20, 2012. I am extremely happy about the job Mr. Mahood did for me and my family. Now my daughter is where she belongs, with mom. Thank you Mr. Mahood!

    1. David Raymond Mahood

      David Mahood

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a real pleasure working with you. And I mean that from the bottom of my heart. You and your husband were very respectful and appreciative all the way through, from start to finish, even though there were many stressful moments during the hard legal battle. You made my job a little easier, and I am so pleased my hard work paid off by bringing your daughter back to your loving care.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

410-381-1656