David B. Benowitz’s Reviews

David B. Benowitz

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best DUI Defense Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    David really provides the complete package to a client. Expertise and compassion are rarely found in an attorney. David and his team provide service excellence and detail that is rare to find in this field. This creates a feeling comfort and confidence as a client that has value beyond measure.

  2. extremely personable and very responsive

    Posted by a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was in a position that afforded me privileged information. I had acted on that information and was panicked about the possible ramifications. David responded to my first inquiry that same day I reached out (over a holiday weekend none the less). We spoke and he leveraged his knowledge and expertise in the subject. He was very thorough to keep me informed of the status, but more so; was extremely personable and very responsive. He spoke with me as though we were old friends, something I've never seen or heard about from any attorney. Fortunately, nothing ever became of the concerns, but I knew I was in the best possible hands I could have found. If I or anyone I know is ever in need of a lawyer, I know exactly who to contact and I know with David, any outcome will be the most favorable anyone to ask for.

  3. Case dismissed!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When I was initially charged in Washington, DC, a friend who is an attorney in my home state found information about David Benowitz and Price Benowitz LLP for me. He had great credentials and came highly recommended. After reading several reviews about Dave, my wife called into the office and met with David’s associate Jason Kalafat, who explained how upcoming events would likely transpire. Information she got from law enforcement officers was not correct, but everything Jason told my wife was spot on. We eventually met with David Benowitz whom we found to be knowledgeable, honest and upfront. David discussed all of my options, including going to trial. We were hoping the government would allow us to enter into a diversion agreement, but after 5 trips from my home to DC (a trip over 650 miles each way), that was not the case. Dave was extremely professional both in personal meetings and in the court room. Dave is well respected by fellow attorneys and judges alike. Dave was able to get my case dismissed, and I would absolutely recommend Dave and the Price Benowitz team to anyone in need of a criminal defense attorney.

  4. Dave Benowitz "IS" the BEST!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.

    I hired Dave Benowitz at the recommendation of friends to handle a very serious DUI charge in 2012. In the opinion of my friends, this was a slam dunk case for the prosecution, but after meeting with Dave, he advised me otherwise. Through several trial dates and following his great advice, my case was completely dismissed and I extremely happy with the results and the service that Dave provided. Using his expertise, we took a chance on a much better outcome than the plea offered by the prosecution. Without him, I would have made the wrong decisions. If you are facing a similar situation of a DUI charge, I would highly recommend that you hire Dave to navigate your case.

  5. Incarnation of Professionalism

    Posted by Roger, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first had the accident it was traumatic experience where I ended up with an injury to my right leg. I began to search for an attorney online and I actually had someone handling my Personal Injury case before I reached Law office of Price Benowitz, LLP. I was disappointed by the previous lawyer due to the lack of professionalism. When I contacted the lawyer I expected a consultation fee. To my surprise and benefit there was no fee for anything until my case was solved. Not only was I charged by contingency but they also provided me a discount on the percentage I was told originally. The office personally contacted all medical parties involved to assure that they would negotiate the fees to best provide me the settlement I desperately needed. The office staff, Amanda Garcia in particular, is the incarnation of great professionalism. Price Benowitz has gone above and beyond my expectations and I cannot wait to contact them if I ever have another incident or to refer anyone to this office. I would personally want to thank John Yannone, Amanda Garcia and the rest of the staff for the incredible job they did keeping informed everyday about the status of my case.

  6. Competent Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was originally overwhelmed when I was charged with a DUI since it was my first time. I had heard that David Benowitz was one of the best attorneys in DC. I called and we set an appointment for the next day and after speaking with him I was very comfortable with the background he had and the knowledge he displayed to me. I felt comfortable enough to retain him the same day. He provided me his cell phone and we were in constant communication. I was also very pleased with the flexibility of the payment plan I was offered. I was unable to make the original court date so Mr. Benowitz was able to get me a continuance. Today I walked into court knowing very well what to expect and was able to get a result that protected my career. I would definitely recommend Mr. Benowitz to anyone in a similar situation.

  7. Effective Defense Attorney

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I was initially charged with Domestic Violence I was terrified because my life was on the line and while looking online I read a great review on a criminal defense attorney on the website so I called the and spoke with the staff and felt comfortable knowing that I would meet with Shawn Shukumar that works under David Benowitz. He was very willing to work with my budget. After signing we were in constant communication especially because we had only 2 1/2 weeks. Today went to court and I was frustrated because the trial was running late and I was afraid of having another continuance. Shawn presented himself very professionally and pulled out all his cards and today to excitement and relief this is over and I was found Not Guilty. I am very happy with my choice. AMEN!

  8. Exceptional Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My daughter was charged with drving under the influence in DC. A friend of the family referred us to David Benowitz as one of the best DUI lawyers in Washington, DC. We called David and he took the case. I was worried because my daughter blew an extremely high BAC. The mandatory sentence was five days in jail plus fines. David, being the subject matter expert, was able to lower the punishment to 1year of Youth Act Supervised Probation, which allowed the case to be removed after the probation was completed. David did an exceptional job handling her case, keeping us informed of all new developments.. Even better, David managed to have the entire probation thrown out 8 months early her conviction was thrown out entirely.

  9. After I met with David to discuss my case, I fired my old law firm and hired him. He has a reliable energy that he brings!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As a highly regarded person in Washington, DC, I was faced with a very serious sexual assault accusation that was eventually dismissed by a grand jury. Due to the nature of the accusation, I met with a number of law firms, including the firm that I used for years. Initially, I hired the firm I had used previously for business because they had a large criminal defense practice in Maryland and DC. The woman I hired was a high profile former prosecutor. Dissatisfied with her work, I discussed the case with a friend who recommended that I speak David.

    Within minutes after meeting with David, I called and dismissed my previous law firm. They just didn't grasp my feelings or understand my case (they didn't really listen to me). They only cared about retainer fees and providing information to a paralegal. David provided me with a very good understanding of the process so that I could close my eyes and sleep at night. The horror of being wrongly accused of any heinous act eats away at you. And, David acted more as a friend than a lawyer. He is trustworthy and dependable.

    As my friends were pulled in front of a grand jury to testify. David helped me to remain calm and collected. In the end, I was never arrested or charged as the allegations proved completely false. In any regard, I would never hire anyone else but David to represent me in DC.

    Thank you David.

  10. He Never Gave Up

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Benowitz.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with Carrying a Pistol Without a License and Felony Possession of a Firearm. The charges said that I knew the weapon was in the car, but that absolutely untrue. I tried to tell the police the truth but they wouldn't listen to me or believe my story. I was facing the possibility of a major punishment. I met David while I was held for pre-trial and met with as soon as was released. I thought David was very professional, knowledgeable and competent. As the case proceeded, he would call me whenever he got new information or research to let me know where we stood. I was going to have to stay around to wait for a trial, but David managed to get the trial date converted to status hearing, allowing me to go home to wait for the case to be handled.. Eventually, the government dismissed the charges. When he first told me, I was absolutely ecstatic. David never let down his professionalism and never gave up.

Call now for a free consultation.

202-529-9374