Matthew Thomas Hovey’s Reviews

Matthew Thomas Hovey

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommend Atty. Matt Hovey

    Posted by Jennifer, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Atty. Hovey assisted us with our somewhat complicated adoption case. Matt was excellent in every respect. He was knowledgeable, personable, proactive, and responsive. Very highly recommend without reservation. Thank you again, Matt, for your help.

  2. Thank You

    Posted by Mike, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matt was there for me throughout my case. Not only was he there to answer my questions, but any questions that my family had about the custody. At every step of my case, I felt like he was not only watching out for me, but my kids as well. He saw me through a bad situation, and thanks to him I got my kids back. I would recommend him to anyone who is not just looking for a good lawyer, but someone who will treat your case with the professionalism and care it deserves.

  3. Great Lawyer with attention to detail

    Posted by Chris, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Hovey assisted me professionally from the beginning of my case to the end. My case was a rather complex zoning issue that required a considerable amount of attention. Attorney Hovey went above and beyond the call of duty to make certain this case ended in my favor. I would highly recommend him in any area of his expertise and I will be retaining his services again in the near future!

  4. Good experience

    Posted by Greg, a Power Of Attorney client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Power Of Attorney matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matt was courteous to us and explained everything in detail and if he didn't have the answer he went to one of the firms partners. The process was finished the day he said it would be done and I have had no problems thus far. Matt made you feel at ease and talked at your level for ease of understanding. Price was as he said and just an overall good experience.

  5. Excellent Service

    Posted by Trish, a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Hovey represented my family’s interests in a case against a truck dealership that misrepresented the condition of the truck we purchased. Atty. Hovey, through his due-diligence and knowledge of PA law as it relates to auto dealers, was able to bring this case to settlement outside of the courts. We are very grateful for Atty. Hovey’s professional services and the outcome of same.

  6. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Fotini,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.

    Attorney Matthew Hovey represented me recently this summer and I would highly recommend him. Mr. Hovey is extremely knowledgeable, professional, honest and well prepared. Throughout a complicated process, he had a way of being meticulous with details and helping me to better understand a complicated matter. During the process he kept me informed the entire time on top of being a good listener. He was professional yet he was also straightforward and steered me in the direction that was in my best interest. He thoroughly explained all of my possible options and helped me form the best decision for me. He was persistent during the whole process which led to my ultimate satisfaction. Therefore I would strongly recommend Mr. Hovey.

  7. A different kind of attorney....

    Posted by Angela, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Attorney Hovey to handle my divorce and property settlement agreement about a year ago. And most recently to handle a Protection from Abuse case for my daughter. At a very emotional time in my life, Attorney Hovey was very understanding and patient. At the same time, very professional and concerned with protecting my rights and doing what was best for me and my daughter. He was the logical and intelligent voice in a time when emotion was taking over my life. He was knowledgeable of the laws and processes and advised me of several options and avenues that I could take. He did not pressure me to take one option over another but explained clearly what the implications of each choice would be and how it would affect the outcome. However, he was ready, willing, and able to take a strong stance to be sure that I received everything that I was legally entitled. I felt that his level of dedication to my case would be the same no matter what choice I made or avenue I chose to travel.

    I felt that Attorney Hovey truly cared about my well-being and he was not just "making a buck"on another divorce. His fees were reasonable and fair. I was very please with the service he provided. The divorce and settlement process can be long and tedious. It was a great feeling to have someone on my side willing to go the extra mile for me and protect my rights.

    I have recommended Attorney Hovey to several friends and will continue to do so. I hope that I never need his legal services again, but will not hesitate to contact him if the need may arise.

  8. Recommendation

    Posted by Roberta, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Matthew helped me through my divorce with good advice. It was not an easy divorce and times frustrating to wait for results but at the end waiting was the best advice I could be given. I feel Matthew kept me informed whenever something was happening.

  9. Awesome Experience

    Posted by Renee DeMilta, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would recommend Attorney Hovey to everyone i know.
    He was very informative and was there for me with any questions i had.
    He made this experience better then what i expected.

    Never hesitated to ask me questions or contact me with any information he needed.

    I would definitley recommend Attorney Hovey to anyone and everyone if possible. He is a very kind and gentle man .

    Thanks

  10. Happy customer

    Posted by Brian, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Matthew Hovey.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Very knowledgable lawyer and was always looking out for my best interest. When it came to my finanical situation he was helpful in working with me. Very professional, more than willing to help and listen to my problems with my case. Thank you Matt.