Joshua Adam Janis’s Reviews

Joshua Adam Janis

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Would Use Again

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Janis.

    I was a criminal client of Josh's for a charge that other lawyer's said could not be dropped. He was able to get it lowered to a summary offense. I was very happy with the results and will use him again in the future for any needs.

  2. Do not waste your money!!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joshua Janis.

    This lawyer has cost me my home, my childrens home, and has showed very little to no compassion to my case. He then offered a refund as a means to make up for this. He lied to me about hearings he never scheduled, did not show up to hearings for support, and in the end, simply said he is sorry and will issue me a refund. I have gone almost a year without a penny from an abusive spouse. I have struggled to feed my children, myself, and have been through numerous periods without electricity and heat in my home. A refund does not help us becoming homeless in the winter months, nor give me enough to hire another attorney at this time. Due to Mr. Janis not appearing for my support hearing, I have lost my right to back support, meaning when I schedule a hearing myself, it will be dated from the time I file. I am currently seeking to sue Mr. Janis for his negligence. Do not put your life in his hands, it will simply be lies and run around until you have nothing left!

  3. PFA and Summons DISMISSED.

    Posted by Med Fad, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua 1-6 months ago.
    • Joshua handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Temporary Protection from Abuse (PFA) dismissed and Summons for Summary (harassment charges) both DISMISSED... I have not expected that and I am so happy specially I was so stressed and confused with my previous lawyer.

    Since the first day I talked to Josh about the two cases, he told me confidently "We will got them dismissed, its not a big issue' and it was true. Josh focus on the key points of the case and set his strategy. I was not comfortable with that as I looked for the details of the story and he kept saying it is not our issue. Now I know that he masters what he is doing.

    My ex girlfriend filed a PFA against me and the worst thing she pretended a rape story at the hearing which was not initially in the PFA. She testified for an hour but Josh focused on just few points to show to the judge that she is not a credible person. He questioned her so politely and precisely but he got the key point to convince the judge to dismiss the PFA; "her credibility". I was so happy when the judge pronounced "PFA Dismissed". You are so talented Josh.

    The harassment case was so smooth, he negotiated with the officer and got the best result : Dismissed. I have not expected such results.

    Smart, bright, friendly, supporting, objective... I recommend strongly this lawyer to any one specially I experienced many issues with other lawyers. He is not the lawyer who looks to get your money, he looks for the client best interest. My advice is just follow his recommendations and guidance as he knows how to get to the best result, just be a good player in his strategy.

    Thank you Josh you saved my career opportunities and immigration status by keeping my record clean. You are the best ever.

  4. Prepared and Caring

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Child Custody matter.

    Excellent representation, he was fully prepared for my custody hearing and always addressed all of my questions and concerns in detail and promptly. Highly recommend.

  5. I highly recommend.

    Posted by Dave, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Joshua Janis helped me with a legal issue and I could not have been happier with the result. He answered all of my questions, and I could always reach him. I highly recommend.

  6. Diligent. Excellent. The Right Choice

    Posted by Ben, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I met with other attorneys before choosing Mr. Janis and I made the right choice. Their firm worked diligently to protect my rights as a father and succusfully helped win the case. He was very prepared for our hearing and new the case law inside, out and backwards which made the Judge's decision easy! Thanks to this excellent firm. I would recommend this firm and Mr. Janis to anyone who needs a really good attorney.

  7. Does Not Communicate, Does Not Help. Avoid.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua more than 3 years ago.

    Mr. Janis may know the law, but that doesn't help if he refuses to respond to your questions. Mr. Janis promised me for over 3 months that he would send my file - a request that I gave him a two week suspense to meet. I wanted my file because after failing to get any responses from him about my case, I decided to seek out another attorney. I also had a serious and time sensitive question regarding my case, and Mr. Janis took over a month to respond...then claimed he had already answered all of my questions. He had done nothing of the sort.

    I recommend that you save your money and find another attorney.

    1. Joshua Adam Janis

      Joshua Janis

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the opportunity to comment. Initially, this reviewer did not hire me but another attorney who handled almost every aspect of his case. . In this matter, above, I was not the attorney of record but attempted to help the above individual and explain serious issues with the viability of his case after his attorney left the office. I am sorry that he felt the need to focus his criticism in the way he did but I wish him well.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Excellent

    Posted by Ben,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met with other attorneys before choosing Mr. Janis and I made the right choice. Their firm worked diligently to protect my rights as a father and succusfully helped win the case. He was very prepared for our hearing and new the case law inside, out and backwards which made the Judge's decision easy! Thanks to this excellent firm. I would recommend this firm and Mr. Janis to anyone who needs a really good attorney.

  9. Save your Time and Money, Will take Both with a Smile!!

    Posted by Andrew Smith, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I first hired Josh for my divorce case, and I had very high hopes. After awhile, I never heard back, kept getting the same answers, and my case became dead in the water. Josh is very nice, but can be very lacking in getting back to you, as well as keeping you informed about your case. I would not recommend Josh for a divorce case.

    1. Joshua Adam Janis

      Joshua Janis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I agree that great communication is essential for the success of a lawyer and his client. Its always my goal to reach out to my clients, explain their rights and options and help them make an informed decision. As an experienced lawyer, I also know that its possible for a distraught client to look to seek out explanations for why things are not going as they wished.

      This review is particularly odd in that it is posted by someone who I do not believe me or my firm has ever represented. Why would someone use a false identity if they felt so strongly about their words? Is there something untrue in the words that they do not want to be held accountable for?

      I strive to be the best attorney possible each and every day. I know that our family law clients are often under intense stress and despair. I work hard to respond to my clients in an appropriate and expedient way. I believe that my clients are satisfied in their decision in hiring our office. Thank you.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by Dan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joshua Janis.
    • I hired Joshua 1-3 years ago.
    • Joshua handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kept me confident and relaxed throughout and proved to be one step ahead of the opposing lawyer the entire way. Would certainly recommend to anyone.