John A. Gallagher’s Reviews

John A. Gallagher

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent representation!

    Posted by Travis K., a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Gallagher represented me in a case involving a non-compete/non-solicitation agreement. He kept me informed of each development in my case, he set reasonable expectations as to what I could expect, and he represented my interests aggressively. Ultimately the matter was settled and the outcome exceeded my original expectations. I would recommend Mr. Gallagher very highly to anyone looking for legal representation in employment law.

  2. Gallagher review

    Posted by Joe, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    John was clearly an asset who did a great job for me and handled my case well. He came up with an out of the box approach. He did excellent research on the issue at hand . He handled the opposition well. I am very happy with his knowledge of the law his preparation and his work ethic. He handled himself professionally with the court and the oppositions' legal team.

  3. Great lawyer - Wrong Termination case

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Gallagher represented my case on a wrong termination. He was tremendous from the start and always made sure I knew the process. He always gave me good advice on how to handle my case. He has tough negotiating and strategic skills. With John’s help, I won the case before the trial. John is smart, confident and extremely knowledgeable lawyer. He knows what he is doing. He is honest and reasonable. I would recommend Mr. Gallagher to anyone in need of legal advice or help!!!

  4. Not someone I would recommend

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was incredibly disappointed in my experience with John Gallagher and his firm. In the beginning John was going to be a crusader for my cause, on principle! (and of course for compensation, let's be realistic) However, once the resistance came from the other party, the crusader spirit quickly waned as John realized the case wasn't going to make him "rich." I thought John was knowledgable but I found his style less then professional and basically the opposing lawyers shut down and refused to deal with him because of his incredibly abrasive and argumentative style. I think part of lawyering is knowing your opposition. For John, I think it's tact be damned I'm going to steam roll through everyone and then blame them for being uncooperative retroactively. Unfortunately, in my case, that turned out to be a lousy strategy. The other "reviews" of John are very good but we all know the online review system is fraught with bogus reviewers. Who knows, maybe he is competent, I just didn't see it....

    1. John A. Gallagher

      John Gallagher

      Lawyer Comment:

      Well, I am sad to see this. Here is my response. First, I do not crusade on principle, ever. Second, I often consider taking cases subject to learning additional information from the employer. Sometimes, things don't "check out." Third, my style is assertive, honest and straightforward. The author of this comment most assuredly was not a party to any conversations I had with opposing counsel. In fact, my approach with other lawyers is almost always to "catch bees with honey.". Four, I am not a "blamer." Finally, it seems likely that this is a matter I did not put in suit, and the client may have been disappointed in my decision in this regard. I try my best, and sometimes I "fail," and I guess I did here....

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. One of a kind lawyer.

    Posted by Bob, a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Employee Benefits matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This was the first time i ever hired a lawyer. When i first met John he gave me the impression he had many years of experience practicing law.He was quick to tell me the case was in my favor.The day of the hearing John reassured me everything will be alright let me do the talking you only talk when spoken to.I received a phone call from John's secreatary stating i won the unemployment appeal hearing.I was amazed at John's professionalism throughtout the duration of the case.

  6. Best legal representation

    Posted by Tony, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    John handled the state appeal of a referee's opinion for unemployment compensation. I was most impressed by the time John spent listening to the facts and then giving an opinion on whether we should file an appeal and the likelihood of winning an appeal hearing. We took John’s advice and let him handled the matter. The appeal was well written; the case was reopened; and a finding by the state for reinstatement of the unemployment compensation was rendered. Although I hope never to go through this ordeal again; but if I have to, I definitely want John handling the matter from the beginning. He was professional and a true advocate.

  7. Unemployment Compensation Hearing

    Posted by Vicky, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recommend John to individuals and companies that need representation concerning unemployment benefits and/or understanding the legal definition of an employee and a subcontractor. I would hire him again knowing I have an excellent lawyer to represent me.

  8. I got a great settlement with Mr. Gallagher.

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Gallagher got me a better settlement than I was able to get by myself. My personal injury case was settled for an amount greater than my expectations....YES!

  9. Defending my eligibility for Unemployment Compensation while having an agreement to complete an assignment in the future

    Posted by Dolores, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In March, while receiving Unemployment Compensation benefits in PA, I accepted an editing assignment posted on Craigs List that was not required to be completed until May. When I later informed the UC office of this, they asked me to repay my UC benefits for March through May and claimed my correct status was "independent contractor." My appeal was that having not applied for UC for the 1 week in May in which I worked on and completed the assignment, I was truthful in stating that I had no work in other weeks and was entitled to my benefits. The matter went to a UC Referee. Based on Mr. Gallagher's skillful presentation of my case, the Referee decided in my favor. Mr. Gallagher also argued that taking this kind of assignment does not automatically make a person an independent contractor.

  10. Unemployment Claim

    Posted by Sandra, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Gallagher.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I could not have had better representation. Took charge of the proceedings and insured I was not railroaded by my previous employer. Has an excellent staff that showed true concern and kept me informed.