John B. Whalen Jr.’s Reviews

John B. Whalen Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 44 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very helpful in settling estate

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John wrote an Informal Settlement Agreement for me to use while settling my mother's estate. John did an excellent job, was easy to get a hold of, and explained everything I needed to know. I have three sisters and John's wording and expertise was key in getting agreement from my sisters.

  2. In my opinion, you can't do better.

    Posted by Mick, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.

    John Whalen brought a wealth of experience, knowledge and integrity to my situation, and was able to answer all my questions honestly, whether the answer was favorable to my case or no. In a situation dealing with more money than I've ever seen., and matters of which I know not the first thing about, it was a great relief to have such a wonderful resource at my disposal! In my experience you simply can't do better.

  3. John is outstanding!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.

    John presents with a high degree of ethical behavior. His knowledge of the law coupled with his sincerity and concern make him an excellent attorney.

    He is responsive and he truly listens to what one has to say. In addition, he is caring and has an excellent sense of humor.

  4. John B. Whalen Jr. - knowledgeable, trustworthy, friendly

    Posted by Olya, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you want to work with someone who will take time to understand your issue/request, who will offer professional advice, who deeply understands law, flexible and friendly, hire John. You will not be disappointed. You also will not be surprised by hidden fees as he charges per case, not per hour. I hired John to do my will, living will, and power of attorney, and I am very pleased with the quality of these documents and convenience of the process.

  5. Review John B Whalen Jr.

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John prepared a will, living will, and power of attorney for me. He explained everything thoroughly, with kindness and patience. He was very accommodating and got back to me in a timely fashion. He had a very friendly demeanor and working with him was a pleasure.

  6. Estate Income Tax

    Posted by a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had an Estate Income Tax situation that required a legal interpretation, where as the beneficiaries were in disagreement with the Executor over who should report the income. Mr. Wahlen started working on the problem, and did not stop until my problem was resolved. If I could add five more stars I certainly would.

  7. Knowledgeable, Helpful, & Timely

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John is simply terrific to work with. I needed to overhaul my estate planning in a relatively short amount of time and wasn't sure where to start or what considerations needed to be made. John took as much time as I needed to explain the ins and outs, advantages & disadvantages, and potential outcomes of the provisions I was considering. He is very easy to talk to and explains everything in a manner that is understandable. In addition, he is extrememly flexible with his hours and will meet with his clients at any location convenient for them. This was a pleasant surprise.

  8. Knowledgable, patient & available

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I didn't have much information to provide to him, Mr. Whalen helped find out what I needed to know. He made me feel confident that my case would settle fairly, and did not succumb to the scare tactics of the other side. Considering what they did, brave is another adjective I would use to describe John!

  9. Caring to the client---Caring to the case.

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • John handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found John to be extremely helpful and forthcoming with his legal knowledge. He was willing to understand the issues and to give professional insight into possible options for a solution. Not only did he answer my questions on the legal advice site, but also followed through with a phone call.
    I would highly consider engaging this attorney if the eventual need arose. One has to "care" about the client, and "care" about the case in order to bring about the best solution; I believe John would do both.
    It is evident that he has a great love for the law, a wicked keen wit, and sense of humor to boot !

  10. Easy to deal with

    Posted by Shawn, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Whalen.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John was easy to deal with. We worked with him on a rewrite of our will, living will, etc... He clearly explained the options, made recommendations, and delivered a high quality product when he said he would for the price that he gave us. He came to our home on our schedule. Very easy to deal with.

Always Available - 5 Counties - 7 Days - Home Services - Free Consults - 7AM-10PM

610-407-0220