Josef Arthur Hirschmann III’s Reviews

Josef Arthur Hirschmann III

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very disappointed

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 1-3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Family matter.

    Hired this attorney 8 months ago. In that time this attorney managed to lose my child support. Lose my joint custody ( at a masters that didn't involve custody )that I had for 8 years. On the verge of losing my apl. When this attorney got court responses it took him 2 weeks to pass that info to me, limiting my actions. I got this attorney through avvo, and I am sorry I did. I am in the process of equitable distribution and have numerous violations of a court order because this attorney failed to pass info to the other attorney in a timely matter.

    1. Josef Arthur Hirschmann III

      Josef Hirschmann

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, this review does not tell the whole story. I did not lose this client's custody nor APL; and, the child support issue is directly affected by custody issues. The client's spouse is violating an Order of Court for custody, for which a contempt hearing is currently scheduled as of today's date to attempt to correct the problem. The client does not currently receive child support because the Master hearing the complex support case determined that the child support should be awarded based upon the current practice of the custody schedule, as opposed to the Custody Order to which I objected. I also appealed the Master's decision arguing to the Judge that this is an error of law, as well as other errors that I believed the Master committed. The Judge did not agree and sided with the Master.

      The client is not on the verge of losing APL. There has been a request by the other party that APL be paid in to an escrow account because there are some significant issues for equitable distribution and how monies owed will be paid. However, that issue has yet to be decided.

      I never sat on paperwork that was delivered by the Court. As soon as an envelope is on my desk, it is immediately opened and the information contained therein is forwarded to the Client. There was an issue with an Order being entered and it not being delivered to my office for a significant period; but, I am unsure if that was an issue with the Court, the Post Office, the mail carrier for the building, or the office staff for misplacing the letter.

      When it comes to violations of Court Orders for not passing along information, this Client's statements could not be more incorrect. The Client had previously been unable to provide information to the Client's former counsel, which caused a Petition for Contempt to be brought against the Client. When I entered my appearance, I attempted to obtain the information requested by opposing counsel, and forward a detailed letter to the Client requesting the information. While some information was provided to me, I was informed by the Client that a significant portion of the information was unavailable. I immediately forwarded the information provided to opposing counsel; but, I am unable to forward information that was not provided. The opposing attorney was seeking contempt for not providing the information that the Client claims in unavailable, not because the information that was provided to me was not forwarded in a timely manner.

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  2. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 6-12 months ago.

    I would absolutely recommend Joe Hirschmann to anyone looking for legal advice. He doesn't miss a beat and made what could have been an uncomfortable situation for me extremely easy. He was quick to respond to any questions I had and the biggest difference I found between him and other lawyers I had previously looked into is that he took the time to explain things in depth to me as this was my first time working with a lawyer. Very knowledgeable and showed compassion. I will continue to work with him in the future.

  3. Excellent lawyer - trustworthy, honest and fair

    Posted by Joe G,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. Hirschmann has been my attorney for the past year, and he has done an excellent job. He has helped me with several legal matters, from drafting a will and a power of attorney to helping me with tax concerns and providing overall legal advice. Specifically, Mr. Hirschmann helped me sort through various legal concerns while I was deployed to Kuwait with the military.

    Mr. Hirschmann was always professional, responsive and kind. The work he performed on my behalf was excellent - he provided top notch legal advice and services in a timely manner. Additionally, he conducts himself with integrity and displays true character - I never once had to worry about any legal concerns while I was deployed, as I knew that Mr. Hirchmann was handling my affairs in an ethical, professional and efficient manner.

    I recommend Mr. Hirschmann to anyone who needs legal assistance. His is fair, honest and hard working. I couldn't ask for a better attorney, and will continue to use him as my lawyer for years to come.

  4. Knowledgeable and Straightforward

    Posted by abbatwo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 1-3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Joe was very knowledgeable and straightforward with my husband and me. He thoroughly explained our rights and the potential risks of proceeding with a Pro Se divorce. I was also extremely impressed by how upfront Joe was concerning fees. Most of the attorneys we reached out to were very vague regarding the fees. Our divorce cost exactly the amount Joe said that it would. We are completely satisfied.

  5. Divorce and Child Custody

    Posted by Kelly, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef more than 3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Josef Hirshmann managed my custody case 2 years ago. He is with out a doubt excellent in all of the above categories. Joe mad us feel as if we where his only clinet. He was accessible, kind, patient and knowledgable. He has a wonderful ability to connect with children. He was able to uncover what concerns my children had, what they desired and what was in their best interest. Joe has made a difference in our lives. If you are looking for a custody attorney I highly recommend you and your kids give him a few moments of your time. I am certain you will be impressed. Best of Luck.

  6. Best Experience

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 1-3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe was so personable and straight forward. I was turned down by so many other lawyers who told me my legal desires were impossible. Joe analyzed my case thoroughly and told me the facts. I always knew what to expect and with his help my husband was able to adopt my oldest child and complete our family. I tell everyone in similar situations my experience with him!

  7. Extremely trustworthy

    Posted by KimberlyHaneyAlonso, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 1-3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I contacted joe about a year ago for a child custody case that could of became very complicated. Because of Joe's knowledge of the laws and his persistence the custody case has continued in my favor. In fact, Joe worked things out with the other attorney so that we never even went to court. Joe still continuously gives me updates and sends me emails almost on a weekly basis to check in. I will continue to do all of my child custody business with Joe and would definitely recommend him to my friends and family.

  8. Overall Great Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 1-3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This being the first time I have ever hired an attorney I must say I was definitely impressed. He was more than prompt with everything he did. Even months later, once my divorce was final, I had a question and he responded within the same the day. He was very friendly and easy to work with. He answered every question I had and made me feel very at ease in a difficult situation. I am very thankful for his help and very happy that I chose him to represent me.

  9. Superior Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Christine, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef 1-3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Throughout the divorce and custody process, I have hired a number of attorneys in the past 10 years. Joe has, without doubt, been the most trustworthy and determined attorney I have met. He not only dove into our case, but he went above and beyond in making sure that my pre-teen children were comfortable and understood the process. He made what would normally be a stressful and scary process for my children, a very bearable process with positive results. (The first attorney to produce a positive court order in 10 years). My trust in him is important, but my children's trust in him is without measure. He truly put his heart into our case and worked hard to make sure every step has been successful. All of this was done not only with amazing professionalism, but unparalleled commitment to our case. I would absolutely recommend Joe to anyone in need of family law.

  10. Josef Hirschman Review

    Posted by Clifford, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Josef Hirschmann.
    • I hired Josef more than 3 years ago.
    • Josef handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe went above and beyond to help us with our case and I am grateful to have worked with him on our situation He was upfront with us front the beginning and was in contact with us constantly. I am extremely excited to have the right to officially call my stepdaughter my daughter now and wouldn't have been able to it without Joe. He worked extremely hard with us in achieving me and my wife goal with the adoption. He will definitely be our lawyer in the future for anything we need.