Gary Burton Port’s Reviews

Gary Burton Port

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. AN EXCELLENT LAWYER WITH INTEGRITY

    Posted by Frank, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Port.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    After using the services of two subpar legal firms, I finally found Gary Port. Gary was able to undo most of the damage done by previous lawyers and obtain a very reasonable settlement for me. His creative solution to a complex problem, gave me my life back. I found Gary to be personable and hard working. He was patient and answered my questions. He is "straight shooter" who tells his clients facts and doesn't give non committal answers.

    Another positive when working with Gary is his practice of conferring with his partner, George Sava when necessary. The client, in effect, has another lawyer reviewing aspects of the case .

    Another positive aspect when hiring Gary is his office manager Maria. Although we spoke at length only once, upon conclusion of our conversation, I felt as if I was talking to friend.

    If you need a good, maybe even great lawyer, don't make the mistake that I made. Go to Gary first and save yourself time, aggravation, and stress.

  2. honest, ethical and pragmatic

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Port.

    My daughter retained Gary Port in 2007 for what she thought would be a simple, uncontested divorce. When her husband made that impossible, Gary was kind, sympathetic, supportive and gave her the best legal options to be done with the marriage as painlessly as possible. She wanted nothing from her ex except to get away from him with her children. Unfortunately, her now ex dragged it out in court for almost 4 years. Gary’s strategy has always been to minimize the damage. When her case finally ended up in mediation, he was able to push for an agreement by days’ end. He has my daughter’s interests and the interests of her children at heart and is a very ethical attorney.
    Gary has always been pragmatic, honest and ethical in handling every aspect of her case. It’s been 6 years now and they are still fighting for her rights and the rights of her children. We are grateful for his support and also the support of his partner George and office manager Maria.

  3. Juris Doctor Gary Burton Port a testamonial

    Posted by Stephen, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Port.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary Port was retained by me in 2002, for appearances in Family Court , Nassau County. We have developed a relationship that can not and will never be broken. He has proved time and again what a professional Lawyer is in my estimation. Extremely caring, kind, results oreinted, Gary is a man of higher goals. His caring in his personal life for children should give you an idea of what this man is made of. I would recommend Mr. Port to anyone needing professional help. And I am certain you will then agree. Gary Burton Port is Number One!!
    Stephen V Augello Satisfied and Grateful

  4. Ethical, Attentive, Knowledgeable, Caring

    Posted by a Commercial client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Port.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Commercial matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Port and his partner Mr. Sava are both highly ethical and extremely experienced attorneys with a strong litigation background. Mr. Port strategizes and recommends a course of action first prior to commencing work and has reasonable rates. He is thorough and caring. We have engaged his firm in various matters involving commercial litigation and recommend him constantly to others. Recently in representing us as a financial institution his firm made caselaw involving the alarm company for a bank vault break in. We have been most pleased with their results.

  5. Great guy in your corner

    Posted by Tom, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Port.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Gary as my divorce lawyer. My wife is bi-polar and wanted everything and wouldn't agree to anything. I used to come home and sit in the driveway afraid to go in because I didn't know if it was the good wife or the bad one. Gary was my friend, counselor and therapist. He also didn't lie. He told my that she would make it long, painful and expensive and he wanted to stop the bleeding. He told me over and over "I want you to get on with your life." He was right and when I signed that agreement at 10:30 at night a weight came off my shoulders. Divorce is not something I ever want to do again, but I'm glad that Gary was at my side.

  6. Straight shooter

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Port.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Port told me that I can fight and spend a fortune or be reasonable and keep the price down. He was right, he charged me a flat $4,000 and got it done.

  7. Should have listened to him

    Posted by Carol, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Gary Port.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I can't agree with the bad review. Gary is a straight shooter who told me the facts of divorce on the phone before I met him. He told me point blank how the property would be divided and even drew up a list. He quoted a flat rate of $4,000 for a uncontested divorce and told me if it got contested, it would an hourly. I was stupid. Gary told me what I needed to hear not what I wanted to hear. I was angry and wanted my husband to pay through the nose. I found an attorney who promised me the sun, moon and stars. $20,000 and no closer to divorce, I came back to Gary. I ended up right where I started with Gary's list. I could have saved $20,000 if I just listened to him and put aside my anger.

  8. I would not recommend

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Gary Port.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I choose Port because I could afford him. At first he seemed great and got right to work. However at the negotiating table with my ex and his lawyer he was not agressive and I personally, by shaming my husband to his face, won a major concession. Port did not write a good stipulation contract. It did not include division of our bank accounts (I lost alot of $ because of this), he did not include any provisions of execution on the various articles and therefore after legally being divorced I have to go back again w. a new lawyer to make my ex comply. He did not communicate well in the end at all, did not return my calls in a prompt manner or emails and seemed to avoid me. Ex's lawyer claims he send various notices to my lawyer which I never received. Port seemed unhappy when I called, as if it were a bother. My new attorney, I could tell by her voice, though she did not come right out and say it, was dismayed by the quality of the contract which she now has to go back and re-ligagate for me. I kept asking Port if he had heard if my divorce was through the court and legal: I only learned that it was by accident when I called his office and his secretary told me, I had needed a document for a refinance. I would not recommend Port.

    1. Gary Burton Port

      Gary Burton Port

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have no idea who this is. This does not even sound remotely like anything I would have done. I have checked with my employees and previous clients. Several of my clients suggested that this may have been posted by the spouse of someone I represented as a well of getting back at me. My clients know that that I do I communicate with them, and I never send out any proposal or make any offer without their express permission and consent. All my stipulations of settlement are completely discussed and reviewed by the client before I ever send it out to my opponent. Therefore, there is no way that I would miss covering assets as it claimed. The line about "having to re-ligagate" (the poster's misspelling) shows that falsity of the statement. Once an agreed is signed and a judgment of divorce issued, there is no "re-litigation". In fact, that is why the drafting of the agreement is so important. Once, the agreement is done, courts will not open it up again for discussion unless there was fraud by one of the parties or that the deal was unbalanced as to "shock the conscience of the court." Be aware that it take a lot to shock the court's consciences. In other words, once the deal is done, consider it written in stone.
      In conclusion, this is a false comment and written solely to harm my reputation.

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag