Mary Katherine Brown’s Reviews

Mary Katherine Brown

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Capable, Informative, Professional

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.

    When dealing with agencies such as ACS if you do not have Proper Representation such as Mary Katherine Brown the case against you can turn your life into a nightmare. Mary Katherine basically hand held me through my ordeal with ACS. She listened to my story from beginning to end. Once I was done, Mary thoroughly explained to me what to expect with my case. And most importantly what My Rights are when dealing with ACS. She also kept me informed with all updates related to my case. Mary worked to find the fastest and best solution to bring the case against me to end.

    I am most grateful for Mary Katherine Brown, Esq.

    Thank you for all you have done for my family.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      I really appreciate the positive review, and I'm so glad to have been able to help you! Thanks again!

      Posted 2 days ago. Flag

  2. Honest and superb attorney in New York City.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.

    I was looking for an experience attorney and I met Mrs. Mary Catherine Brown. She handled my child support case that was a little out of the norm and difficult. Throughout the process, she was honest with me, explained things to me every step of the way. She researched every issue and gave honest and reliable advice. In the courtroom she was very brilliant, made strong and forceful arguments that push the other side to agree with her.
    Ultimately, the child support case against me was dismissed within a short period of time. I was pleased to have her as an attorney and the service she provided.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much for the positive review! I'm glad I was able to help you, and I wish you all the best in the future!

      Posted 12 days ago. Flag

  3. Professional, courteous and knowledgable.

    Posted by Erica,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.

    I had nothing but a positive experience from consultation to close with Ms. Brown. She stayed in touch, kept me informed and guided me in the best way possible.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much for the review. I really appreciate it! I wish you all the best!

      Posted 17 days ago. Flag

  4. Professional and Down-To-Earth Service

    Posted by Nev, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mary Brown.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was so grateful to find Ms. Brown, after switching attorneys twice in the duration of my ongoing case.

    Brown is professional, no-nonsense, and most of all down to Earth. I actually felt like I was speaking to a human being about my sensitive matter, and she listened with balance, rationality and compassion. Front desk service is also very polite and professional.

    Most importantly, Brown represents her firm and she is who you will hire as an attorney once you sign on-you will not be re-directed to an unknown associated attorney, unlike many other larger firms.

    I would recommend Mary Brown to anyone with a legal matter within her range of expertise.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you! I really appreciate that you took the time to write a review. I wish you the very best!

      Posted 17 days ago. Flag

  5. Child custody case

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.
    • I hired Mary 6-12 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms/Mrs Brown help me through my Custody battle with my son's father. When the case started I was assigned a Legal aid lawyer, who could not be reached after several messages, did not take the time to interview me at all, to understand the situation, and had a load of other case work that mean't she had no time for mines. This is when I seeked out Ms/Mrs Brown to represent me and fired my other lawyer. I choose her based on her views online, which where on point. Ms/Mrs Brown is very attentive, and can be reached at any hour when there is a concern, worked with me financially, truthfully, very dependent,Knowledgeable, strategic, and a damn good custody lawyer. I have to admit that I was a little concerned by some of the decisions that where made, but I later on see that it was her strategic plan to show my child's biological father's ass for what it is, a lair who cares about his money more than his own child that he was wiling to use a technicality of the court system and say the child is not his even with an existing paternity test and when the child is a picture of him. I was happy with the results, as I don't have to deal with this lair anymore and I can spent my time enjoying by sweet, loving, and handsome son.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the nice review! I really appreciate it, and I wish you all the best in the future!

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  6. Outstanding Child Custody Attorney !

    Posted by Andre, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Child Custody matter.

    I found Mary Katherine Brown on Avvo and let me just start by saying she was guided to me by the good will of God. She was very attentive and made me feel at ease regarding my personal situation. She is very astute and knowledgeable of family law. She was able to successfully obtain for me what I needed from family court. I am truly grateful ! I recommend Ms. Brown with full confidence.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your lovely review! I really appreciate knowing I've helped you, and I wish you all the best in the future!

      Posted 12 months ago. Flag

  7. Excellent Attorney handling Paternity and father's rights issues in Family Court

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Child Support matter.

    My ex-wife brought a lawsuit against me in NY Family Court claiming that I am the father of her daughter. I know that I am not the father, but with ambiguities of NY Law in this area, this can be difficult to prove. Judging by the birth date of her daughter, the child had been conceived during the final days of our marriage, but was born after the divorce. New York has a "presumption of legitimacy" rule that says that a child born to a married woman is presumed to be the legitimate child of that marriage. This implies that the husband is the father whether or not he is the biological father.

    My ex-wife was attempting to collect child support from me even though I am not the biological father and she was not offering DNA evidence to prove paternity.

    Before finding Mary Katherine via this site, AVVO, I had hired another attorney to defend me. The other attorney was not providing a strong defense and it appeared that I could lose my case. The other attorney said that we might not be able to get the Court to order a DNA test to prove my innocence because of the presumption of legitimacy rule and equitable estoppel rule.

    During my initial consultation with Mary Katherine, she told me that there were ways we could approach my case that would prevent my ex-wife from fraudulently collecting child support from me. I fired the other attorney and hired Mary Katherine.

    Once I hired Mary Katherine to defend my case, things went much more smoothly. She is very knowledgeable in this area and put together a very strong case for me. She reassured me that I would not lose my case due to presumption of legitimacy and that my ex-wife would have to prove paternity by DNA before she could collect money from me. I had been losing a lot of sleep over this because it was another way my ex-wife could continue to harass me even after the divorce had been finalized. With Mary Katherine on my side, I could rest assured that my case was being handled with the maximum protections of the law being applied to my side.

    Mary Katherine maintained good attorney-client communications. She kept me updated at every step of the way and always returned my calls promptly. This case had made me an emotional wreck and she was able to reassure me with her confidence and knowledge of the nuances of the law. Mary Katherine was always on time for court appearances and dealt with the opposing attorneys and the court magistrate in a strong and professional manner.

    Mary Katherine made such a strong case to the court that my ex-wife finally dropped the case.
    I could not have achieved this favorable result without Mary Katherine.

    I strongly recommend Mary Katherine for all Family Court matters.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice, detailed review. I really appreciate it and wish you the very best, as always!

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Lawyering as it should be: empowering Clients to make the Right Legal Choices

    Posted by Clark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Atty. Mary Katherine represents the best NYC has to offer in collaborative law. She has empowered and enabled me and my former spouse to forge transitional support agreement that worked for both of us and our daughter. In so doing, we have been able to avoid the monetary and emotional costs of a long court dispute. Her client centered approach has enabled me to make good choices about other legal matters that I have consulted her on.

    Law often mystifies disputes resolution and sadly alienates the parties concerned, forcing the parties to a conflict to rely on their lawyers to help them navigate through expensive and soul-draining litigation. Mary Katherine, however, has given the power back to her client, as it should be.

    My true wish is that the number of lawyers with Mary Katherine's vision and skills increase and prosper.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I really appreciate that you took the time to do this , and I'm so happy that you feel I've helped you! I hope to continue to do so :-)

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Thank You Mr. X, Thank You Very Much. Now Let Me Take You to School!

    Posted by Beth, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Brown.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary Katherine Brown is an astute and creative attorney with a keen understanding of the law. It makes her a fantastic strategist. She took a long standing, very difficult situation, and made it palatable for me. She did for me what I could not accomplish alone in 7 very long years. She even made me smile while she did it. Finally, a little bit of justice! She's willing to pack a punch, but instead she cleverly painted my opponent into a corner, until they had no choice but to say "Yes." She was compassionate to all parties and looked for fair and realistic solutions that protected my position within the court. She made me, and my case, a lot stronger. I highly recommend her services.

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the lovely review! I really appreciate it, and I wish you the best of luck, always :-)

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Overall GREAT!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mary Brown.

    She has tremendously helped with my situation, i would definately recommend her!

    1. Mary Katherine Brown

      Mary Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much for the positive review! I hope you will count me among your resources should you ever need help in the future. Best wishes, mkb

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

If I can help you, I will. Telephone or email inquires are welcome. Payment plans.

718-878-6886