Richard C. Southard’s Reviews

Richard C. Southard

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. knowledgable

    Posted by Ezra,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.

    I am Ezra,
    I had a misdemeanor case in another state ,in which
    the record was sealed . I applied to renew my professional worked licence. In new york And was denied and was about to loose my job.
    was so devastated. I went in search of a Good lawyer. Found Richard on the internet. Went to his office with tears in my heart. Bit after that meeting I felt confident that everything would be fine.
    He did an excellent job and within five weeks my licence and my job was back in my hands.
    Richard is an excellent lawyer So those who have problems and need a excellent lawyer get hold of Richard while you can before it is too late because I do not think this lawyer is going to stay local for very long...my opinion.

  2. Got me a better result than I ever expected

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.

    I was arrested with a possession charge in September 14 which I was really worried would have immigration implications for me given the fact I am not a US citizen. Richard was responsive and honest from the outset. Other lawyers I contacted I felt were telling me what I wanted to hear, but Rich told me what could potentially happen to me and what we needed to do. I ended up getting an ACD, case closed and sealed after 2 months which is virtually unheard of for possession. Couldn't recommend Richard enough.

  3. A real professional.

    Posted by Pavel. S., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This guy definitely knows what he's doing. I've got myself into a lot of trouble when I was young and didn't realize all the dangers of drinking and driving when I was so drunk that I drove on the wrong side of the road, only stopping when I met the police car bumper to bumper coming straight at me. To make things worse, I blew a crazy .26 into the breathalize. Moreover, the cops tried to press criminal charges against me for almost smashing into them. I was looking to get at least a felony DWI charge, which would put a cross to my dream of becoming a physician. I'm still not sure how, but Mr. Southard was able to work his magic and got my felony charges reduced to a traffic violation! Would recommed him to anybody in need of legal assistance and he has already helped many of my friends.

  4. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Posted by Lynn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you're looking for a criminal defense attorney, you found the best person. Mr. Southard helped us with a complicated and serious criminal matter. He is conscientious, EXTREMELY knowledgeable and well-versed in all of the NY courts, he LISTENS, he is responsive, and his advice is unparalleled. Moreover, he is fair which is a rare and priceless trait in a lawyer. It's not often you find this level of expertise in the body of a genuinely good person. You will not regret your choice. As far as I'm concerned, you cannot do better for yourself or your loved one.

  5. Miracle Worker

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    All can say is miracle worker.. Five felonies that could have ruined my life.. I was hoping just to get them down to misdemenors but no.. Richard went above and beyond to get them drop down to violations. NO CRIMINAL RECORD... SEALED CASE.. DESTROYED PHOTOS AND FINGER PRINTS.. Honestly this was more then i ever hoped for.. On top of that i got to keep my job which was one of my biggest concerns. To top it off he is very resonably priced. You just cant go wrong with richard southard. Although i plan to nevet get in trouble again, his numbet will remain in my phone book. I will recomend him to every one that ask.

  6. Absolutely Fantastic

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI & DWI matter.

    I was recommended by a family member to this lawyer for a previous dwi case. Not only was he able to keep my cousins record clean, he saved mine as well.

    This guy is the real deal, and if you have anything dwi related, you should definitely seek him out.

  7. A lawyer at its finest!!

    Posted by Carolyn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Southard handled my Unlawful Possession of Marijuana case a few months ago.

    After the charge, I immediately called a couple of attorneys who all guaranteed the judge would absolutely grant me an ACD being this was my first offense. I felt like they were telling me exactly what I wanted to hear so decided to do more research online. I found Mr. Southard after reading all of the favorable reviews written of him.

    Mr. Southard lived up to every expectation. He contacted me shortly after I called and agreed to represent my case. He was very professional and pleasant over the phone. He was also familiar with the courthouse where I'd have to appear.

    From the beginning he was forthright and honest with me, explaining all of my options. In this case, he prepared me that the judge would most likely NOT grant an ACD even though this was a first offense for a minimal amount of marijuana. I would probably be given a lesser charge and have to pay a fine. He reassured me that he would do everything he could to fight for the ACD or better yet, a complete dismissal.

    Two months later, Mr. Southard and I met at the courthouse. He knew the judge presiding and as expected, I was only offered a lesser charge and fine, no ACD or dismissal (fyi...there were plenty of other people in court for a similar charge who were not granted ACDs either). Since I wanted nothing on my record, Mr. Southard recommended we come back at a later date to fight it. I agreed and one month later, we met again at court. Since the Prosecuting Attorney did not want to deal with my UPM charge, the judge completely dismissed my case! My original intention was to get an ACD (which basically allows your record to be wiped clean ONLY after a year of not getting into any further trouble). Instead, my case was dismissed on the spot!

    If it wasn't for Mr. Southard, I would had represented myself not knowing all of my options and would had agreed to the lesser charge and paid a fine. Now it's like nothing ever happened.

    I am extremely happy with how Mr. Southard handled my case and highly recommend his services if the situation arises where you need legal help/advice. Hopefully I won't need another lawyer but if I do, he is absolutely the one I would call, hands down (no pun intended!!).

  8. Pleased client.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Southard handled a DUI/DWI case which had been mishandled by another attorney. He was professional, thorough and kept us informed on all the possibilities and outcomes. He responded quickly to a call for consultation, reviewed, previewed the case and agreed to handle the case. The outcome was favorable when the penalty could have been much greater. I highly recommend him and if needed would call him again.

  9. Knowledgeable & Responsive

    Posted by D.W., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Made perfect sense of the situation laying out all my options and the possible outcomes. Had a situation Thursday of Labor Day Weekend visiting NYC on vacation and he was the only person to call me back and schedule a meeting that Friday. Everyone else wanted me to meet them hours before my flight was schedule to depart on Tuesday or called me back hours after I met with Mr. Southard.

    Long story short, I received the most favorable outcome for my situation and I am very pleased. It was a blessing. Very happy I decided to seek help from Mr. Southard. God willing, I will not have to but would definitely work with him again.

  10. Shopliffting case

    Posted by argyro,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very professional -excellent communication - he managed to bring to my case the best possible outcome.He represented me -while I was in my country and I was not even charged on doing community service!!!
    Very good person as he understood some difficulties I was facing!!
    Thanks Richard for everything!!

Call now for a free consultation with Richard Southard