Richard C. Southard’s Reviews

Richard C. Southard

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Posted by Lynn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard < 1 month ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you're looking for a criminal defense attorney, you found the best person. Mr. Southard helped us with a complicated and serious criminal matter. He is conscientious, EXTREMELY knowledgeable and well-versed in all of the NY courts, he LISTENS, he is responsive, and his advice is unparalleled. Moreover, he is fair which is a rare and priceless trait in a lawyer. It's not often you find this level of expertise in the body of a genuinely good person. You will not regret your choice. As far as I'm concerned, you cannot do better for yourself or your loved one.

  2. Miracle Worker

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-6 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    All can say is miracle worker.. Five felonies that could have ruined my life.. I was hoping just to get them down to misdemenors but no.. Richard went above and beyond to get them drop down to violations. NO CRIMINAL RECORD... SEALED CASE.. DESTROYED PHOTOS AND FINGER PRINTS.. Honestly this was more then i ever hoped for.. On top of that i got to keep my job which was one of my biggest concerns. To top it off he is very resonably priced. You just cant go wrong with richard southard. Although i plan to nevet get in trouble again, his numbet will remain in my phone book. I will recomend him to every one that ask.

  3. Absolutely Fantastic

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was recommended by a family member to this lawyer for a previous dwi case. Not only was he able to keep my cousins record clean, he saved mine as well.

    This guy is the real deal, and if you have anything dwi related, you should definitely seek him out.

  4. A lawyer at its finest!!

    Posted by Carolyn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Southard handled my Unlawful Possession of Marijuana case a few months ago.

    After the charge, I immediately called a couple of attorneys who all guaranteed the judge would absolutely grant me an ACD being this was my first offense. I felt like they were telling me exactly what I wanted to hear so decided to do more research online. I found Mr. Southard after reading all of the favorable reviews written of him.

    Mr. Southard lived up to every expectation. He contacted me shortly after I called and agreed to represent my case. He was very professional and pleasant over the phone. He was also familiar with the courthouse where I'd have to appear.

    From the beginning he was forthright and honest with me, explaining all of my options. In this case, he prepared me that the judge would most likely NOT grant an ACD even though this was a first offense for a minimal amount of marijuana. I would probably be given a lesser charge and have to pay a fine. He reassured me that he would do everything he could to fight for the ACD or better yet, a complete dismissal.

    Two months later, Mr. Southard and I met at the courthouse. He knew the judge presiding and as expected, I was only offered a lesser charge and fine, no ACD or dismissal (fyi...there were plenty of other people in court for a similar charge who were not granted ACDs either). Since I wanted nothing on my record, Mr. Southard recommended we come back at a later date to fight it. I agreed and one month later, we met again at court. Since the Prosecuting Attorney did not want to deal with my UPM charge, the judge completely dismissed my case! My original intention was to get an ACD (which basically allows your record to be wiped clean ONLY after a year of not getting into any further trouble). Instead, my case was dismissed on the spot!

    If it wasn't for Mr. Southard, I would had represented myself not knowing all of my options and would had agreed to the lesser charge and paid a fine. Now it's like nothing ever happened.

    I am extremely happy with how Mr. Southard handled my case and highly recommend his services if the situation arises where you need legal help/advice. Hopefully I won't need another lawyer but if I do, he is absolutely the one I would call, hands down (no pun intended!!).

  5. Pleased client.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Southard handled a DUI/DWI case which had been mishandled by another attorney. He was professional, thorough and kept us informed on all the possibilities and outcomes. He responded quickly to a call for consultation, reviewed, previewed the case and agreed to handle the case. The outcome was favorable when the penalty could have been much greater. I highly recommend him and if needed would call him again.

  6. Knowledgeable & Responsive

    Posted by D.W., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Made perfect sense of the situation laying out all my options and the possible outcomes. Had a situation Thursday of Labor Day Weekend visiting NYC on vacation and he was the only person to call me back and schedule a meeting that Friday. Everyone else wanted me to meet them hours before my flight was schedule to depart on Tuesday or called me back hours after I met with Mr. Southard.

    Long story short, I received the most favorable outcome for my situation and I am very pleased. It was a blessing. Very happy I decided to seek help from Mr. Southard. God willing, I will not have to but would definitely work with him again.

  7. Shopliffting case

    Posted by argyro,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very professional -excellent communication - he managed to bring to my case the best possible outcome.He represented me -while I was in my country and I was not even charged on doing community service!!!
    Very good person as he understood some difficulties I was facing!!
    Thanks Richard for everything!!

  8. One of the Best

    Posted by A.V., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    from the moment my family contacted him on behalf (while i was detained) he was very helpful and immediately did everything he could to make sure i got out that same night.
    as the case resumed, i learned that he is a consummate and knowledgeable professional who has a great reputation amongst his peers, public offices and courts.
    most importantly, it felt like i was his only client. he worked with me personally to help ensure the best possible outcome and a successful case. he was determined to help my situation and really cared about my well being. least to say, i got lucky when we selected him, and now for anything in the future i know he will be my go-to guy.
    thank you.

  9. A very knowledgeable lawyer

    Posted by A.K., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard is a very talented, knowledgeable, and helpful lawyer. He always had answers for all my questions.
    I was charged for the shoplifting case that was the very first time when I faced such unfortunate situation. I was very upset when I saw his name on Avvo and just sent a question email, it was a weekend night. He was very responsive. He replied me right away and answered all my questions, even though it was very late.
    He gave me hope and helped me though out the case.
    At the end I got out of the case without any stamp of “Conviction”. I would defiantly recommend Richard Southard. He is a great person.

  10. Wish I could find an attorney EXACTLY like him in Michigan!

    Posted by Miss Unlawful Entry,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Southard.

    I called Mr. Southard on an early Saturday morning, intending to leave a message asking for a call back the following week. To my surprise, within moments he returned my phone call! So it began, here I was having a consultation with Mr. Southard over the telephone on an early Saturday morning! THAT was my first impression, then with every minute that went by as we spoke on the telephone, he continually amazed me with all of the information he gave to me. I was so amazed at how much information he gave to me in just a short conversation. I have never had an attorney give me as much help as he did in that amount of time. He was so knowledgeable in every question I asked of him. I wish I could find an attorney EXACTLY like him in Michigan. I wonder if he would fly here? I could probably afford to fly him here coach. :) (Hint Hint)

    1. Richard C. Southard

      Richard Southard

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the kind words. I hope you find a great lawyer and things work out for you. Best of Luck!

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

Call now for a free consultation with Richard Southard