Thomas Carroll Blauvelt’s Reviews

Thomas Carroll Blauvelt

Average Rating

Based on 133 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Lawyer you can count on!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Back in June 2014 I was pulled over by a cop in South Brunswick because of a 911 caller about my driving. I was obviously not thinking and I should not have been on the road. I blew .09 at the breathalyzer test. I had maintained a good composure during my field tests but ended up with DUI + Reckless tickets facing bunch of charges. Also prosecution had a strong case with cop video recordings about my driving + 911 caller. My immediate reaction was to hire an attorney and turns out I made my first mistake. I signed up with a law firm in Woodbridge (starts with letter S*** Law Firm). I was connected with a paralegal, who responded very nicely until I paid my retainer. After that everything started going downhill. They didn't even bother to examine and discuss my case discovery. I was under tremendous discomfort since I didn't want to give up and end up with DUI on my license. While searching on internet, I found avvo.com and found Tom. When I called Tom I had already spent money with the other law firm, which would definitely not going to return money and do justice to my case. During my first call with Tom I felt he is genuine and no BS. I trusted the reviews and decided to substitute my lawyer. Tom is exceptional is an understatement. He ensured I hired a DUI expert, who was able to find that cops had conducted my DUI tests incorrectly. Interestingly DUI expert pointed out that the temperature gauge of the breathalyzer equipment was faulty hence recordings are not reliable. It seems anyone with a DUI case during that timeframe could potentially be dropped. Prosecution stated that during the trial. He was able to push back the prosecution to agree to drop all DUI charges. I ended up in a reduced reckless driving case and way less fine. Please do yourself a favor, if you need solid defense, just hire Tom. You will not regret it.

  2. the bow tie, knows law

    Posted by jim,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.

    If your looking for a top notch, well respected , professional lawyer, well I have to say you shouldn't look any further. I can only speak from my experience, of which is heart wrenching enough, tom was with me every step of the way. Not knowing the legal system I had a lot of questions. As I searched for a lawyer, I heard war stories of how lawyers acted towards clients and I was very cautious. I met with a few, and the bottom line was, I have to trust my freedom with this man. Tom was the last I met, he was forth coming, honest, and by far the most reasonably priced. Granted his office isn't the best, he was late, and later found out has to drive very fast all day. I also found out its because he has a pretty good work load. This man has a passion, and its the law, he knows it in and out and believe me, I had a strange case, if he doesn't know it, he finds out very quickly. When in the court house, tom is very well respected, and my particular judge thought the world of him, although that is important in a criminal case the respect came from how thorough he is. The bottom line is tom dots his i's and crossing his t's..do yourself a big favor, stop looking, you've found the lawyer who will guard your freedom in the most professional way possible..
    jim

  3. Wonderful attorney

    Posted by Ellen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My 18 year-old son was facing DWI, reckless driving, resisting arrest and assorted other charges. Mr. Blauvelt got everything reduced to essentially a parking ticket. No points or loss of license. He was absolutely wonderful in allaying our anxieties and was astonishingly prompt in returning emails, even after hours. His fee was so reasonable and I would recommend him to anyone facing a serious driving related charge.

  4. Do not hesitate... JUST HIRE HIM!!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I got pulled over January 2014 because my headlights were not on and the officer got me for careless driving and a DUI. My BAC level was a 1.5. This was my first DUI. I was looking to face 7months - 1 year of a license suspension. After searching online, meeting with an attorney, and doing phone consultations.. i decided to go with Mr. Thomas Carroll Blauvelt because of the great reviews I had read on this site. I made one of the best choices in my life by going with this attorney. Mr. Thomas Blauvelt is extremely knowledgeable, honest and caring. My DUI ended up getting dropped and I was only left with careless driving and not having my headlights on. I highly recommend this attorney!!!!

  5. His personal relationships at the court house defintely made the difference

    Posted by Bob, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After being laid off from 2 jobs with the recession, I finally found myself on the road to full time employment after 5 years of part time work. I got a CDL and was about to go full time with a major transportation company when I got what I believed to an unjustified 4 point speeding ticket. I saw this firms ads and the good reviews and decided to give them a shot. I arrived at the Sayreville courthouse at the appointed time. Mr. Blauvelt was running late and while waiting, I observed several attorneys, police officers, and ticket recipients all working with the Prosecuter to work out deals. It was a very somber atmosphere in there and not a lot of happy faces. When Mr. Blauvelt arrived, he gave me the bad news that based on some correspondence he had received from the Prosecutor's office,, it was extremely unlikely that I could get out without a moving violation when 4 points was involved and any moving violation would end my new career before it even started. It was a heartbreaking moment. He said he would see what he could do and headed into the Prosecutor's office. There were two officers in there for some reason at the time. Within a few minutes, I heard laughing, peeked in the door, and saw all four of them smiling and joking around.....not the somber mood of the last hour. He came out with a plea that still involved a substantial fine, but was enough of a "non-moving" violation to keep me my job. I was overjoyed as I can't tell you how bad my life would hare gotten if I'd had to face unemployment again. At the time, Mr. Blauvelt cautioned that it was a very unusual deal and we still had to see if the judge would go for it. We went into the courtroom to see the judge and that's when the joy began to fade....I had observed the judge earlier and he was not a pushover as people presented their plea deals. We were called up and after a few moments reading, the judge looked up and said, " No, .... I just can't do this....its too much of a drop for a 4 point summons".... He called Mr. Blauvelt up to the front and they spoke for a few minutes.....wasn't sure what was going on, but I was praying as hard as I ever had. The next thing I knew, the judge was dismissing my case and I was walking out of the courtroom. Apparently, in those few minutes taliking to the judge, Mr. Blauvelt was able to communicate the humanity of my situation to the judge, and touch on an empathy in him that I hadn't seen come out that night. I have no doubt that had I had a different attorney without that interpersonal relationship with the court, my outcome would not have been as "lifesaving" as what Mr. Blauvelt was able to obtain. Thank you again, and thanks to the wonderful staff at the office for all your help along the way!

  6. An excellent DUI/DWI attorney - very smart, experienced and responsive

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.

    Thomas was great. He explained all of the options in my DUI and speeding case. He recommended a talented DUI consultant who reviewed my case and found testing device errors and inconsistencies. Thomas kept me in the loop at all times and was very responsive, within minutes, to every question I had. The DUI was dropped in the case by the judge, and I was very satisfied with the outcome. Thanks again, Thomas.

  7. Highly Responsive & Effective. Very Impressed

    Posted by Dave, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Extremely responsive and attentive. Hired him for 4 point traffic case. Resolved painlessly for zero points without even having to go to court (affidavit after he negotiated plea).

    After court made mistake reporting DMV points, he instantly responded to our email and helped us resolve in less than 24 hours...at no charge.

    Very impressed.

  8. TOP NOTCH

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Speeding home from work the other evening I was pulled over by a couple of over the top state troopers.
    Over the top because they swore I was under the influence because I had been weaving when in actuality I had the flu and I sneezed losing my bearings for a split second. They wouldn't hear it. They arrested me for being under the influence and gifted me with an unofficial record of eight summonses. I thought I would never drive again. I had nowhere to turn, after losing my family attorney to cancer. I enlisted the help of the internet to find a new lawyer. In my search this lawyer Thomas Carroll Blauvelt kept coming up as a top rated lawyer. Being skeptical that he sounded too good to be true. I was desperate what did I have to lose I contacted Thomas to handle my case. He's the real deal when we went to trial NO DUI and the eight summonses pleaded down to only one. I have found myself a new family attorney. I would highly recommend & Bless Thomas Carroll Blauvelt. TOP NOTCH

  9. THIS MAN HAS TRULY SAVED ME

    Posted by Dimitri, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Tom for a DUI case that I was involved in, I was looking at getting my driving privileges suspended for 7 months and an interlock device for 1 year after I received my license back. At the end of it all, I only lost my license for 3 months with no interlock device needed! I promise you, Tom is your best hope when it comes to DUI cases. DO NOT LOOK ELSEWHERE.

  10. Skillful advocacy + Unyielding determination + Responsiveness to Client = "Top Notch Lawyer"

    Posted by Louis, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Blauvelt to represent me in connection with several traffic offences which could have resulted in potential jail sentence and further suspension of my driving privileges. Mr. Blauvelt t was unrelenting in vigorously defending me and did not waver in pressing my case to a favorable conclusion. He would not even accept for my license to be suspended for a single day. Mr. Blauvelt is well regarded and respected in both of the courts in which he appeared on my behalf. In addition to being a skillful advocate, Mr. Blauvelt's is very personable and took a personal interest in my case. Because of his efforts, I will have my license restored tomorrow. Without hesitation or reservation, I recommend Mr. Blauvelt to handle your legal matter.

Former prosecutor. 10/10 Superb. Call me for your DUI, criminal, or traffic matter.

732-360-1703