Thomas Carroll Blauvelt’s Reviews

Thomas Carroll Blauvelt

Average Rating

Based on 129 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. His personal relationships at the court house defintely made the difference

    Posted by Bob, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas < 1 month ago.
    • Thomas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After being laid off from 2 jobs with the recession, I finally found myself on the road to full time employment after 5 years of part time work. I got a CDL and was about to go full time with a major transportation company when I got what I believed to an unjustified 4 point speeding ticket. I saw this firms ads and the good reviews and decided to give them a shot. I arrived at the Sayreville courthouse at the appointed time. Mr. Blauvelt was running late and while waiting, I observed several attorneys, police officers, and ticket recipients all working with the Prosecuter to work out deals. It was a very somber atmosphere in there and not a lot of happy faces. When Mr. Blauvelt arrived, he gave me the bad news that based on some correspondence he had received from the Prosecutor's office,, it was extremely unlikely that I could get out without a moving violation when 4 points was involved and any moving violation would end my new career before it even started. It was a heartbreaking moment. He said he would see what he could do and headed into the Prosecutor's office. There were two officers in there for some reason at the time. Within a few minutes, I heard laughing, peeked in the door, and saw all four of them smiling and joking around.....not the somber mood of the last hour. He came out with a plea that still involved a substantial fine, but was enough of a "non-moving" violation to keep me my job. I was overjoyed as I can't tell you how bad my life would hare gotten if I'd had to face unemployment again. At the time, Mr. Blauvelt cautioned that it was a very unusual deal and we still had to see if the judge would go for it. We went into the courtroom to see the judge and that's when the joy began to fade....I had observed the judge earlier and he was not a pushover as people presented their plea deals. We were called up and after a few moments reading, the judge looked up and said, " No, .... I just can't do this....its too much of a drop for a 4 point summons".... He called Mr. Blauvelt up to the front and they spoke for a few minutes.....wasn't sure what was going on, but I was praying as hard as I ever had. The next thing I knew, the judge was dismissing my case and I was walking out of the courtroom. Apparently, in those few minutes taliking to the judge, Mr. Blauvelt was able to communicate the humanity of my situation to the judge, and touch on an empathy in him that I hadn't seen come out that night. I have no doubt that had I had a different attorney without that interpersonal relationship with the court, my outcome would not have been as "lifesaving" as what Mr. Blauvelt was able to obtain. Thank you again, and thanks to the wonderful staff at the office for all your help along the way!

  2. An excellent DUI/DWI attorney - very smart, experienced and responsive

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.

    Thomas was great. He explained all of the options in my DUI and speeding case. He recommended a talented DUI consultant who reviewed my case and found testing device errors and inconsistencies. Thomas kept me in the loop at all times and was very responsive, within minutes, to every question I had. The DUI was dropped in the case by the judge, and I was very satisfied with the outcome. Thanks again, Thomas.

  3. Highly Responsive & Effective. Very Impressed

    Posted by Dave, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Extremely responsive and attentive. Hired him for 4 point traffic case. Resolved painlessly for zero points without even having to go to court (affidavit after he negotiated plea).

    After court made mistake reporting DMV points, he instantly responded to our email and helped us resolve in less than 24 hours...at no charge.

    Very impressed.

  4. TOP NOTCH

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Speeding home from work the other evening I was pulled over by a couple of over the top state troopers.
    Over the top because they swore I was under the influence because I had been weaving when in actuality I had the flu and I sneezed losing my bearings for a split second. They wouldn't hear it. They arrested me for being under the influence and gifted me with an unofficial record of eight summonses. I thought I would never drive again. I had nowhere to turn, after losing my family attorney to cancer. I enlisted the help of the internet to find a new lawyer. In my search this lawyer Thomas Carroll Blauvelt kept coming up as a top rated lawyer. Being skeptical that he sounded too good to be true. I was desperate what did I have to lose I contacted Thomas to handle my case. He's the real deal when we went to trial NO DUI and the eight summonses pleaded down to only one. I have found myself a new family attorney. I would highly recommend & Bless Thomas Carroll Blauvelt. TOP NOTCH

  5. THIS MAN HAS TRULY SAVED ME

    Posted by Dimitri, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Tom for a DUI case that I was involved in, I was looking at getting my driving privileges suspended for 7 months and an interlock device for 1 year after I received my license back. At the end of it all, I only lost my license for 3 months with no interlock device needed! I promise you, Tom is your best hope when it comes to DUI cases. DO NOT LOOK ELSEWHERE.

  6. Skillful advocacy + Unyielding determination + Responsiveness to Client = "Top Notch Lawyer"

    Posted by Louis, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I retained Mr. Blauvelt to represent me in connection with several traffic offences which could have resulted in potential jail sentence and further suspension of my driving privileges. Mr. Blauvelt t was unrelenting in vigorously defending me and did not waver in pressing my case to a favorable conclusion. He would not even accept for my license to be suspended for a single day. Mr. Blauvelt is well regarded and respected in both of the courts in which he appeared on my behalf. In addition to being a skillful advocate, Mr. Blauvelt's is very personable and took a personal interest in my case. Because of his efforts, I will have my license restored tomorrow. Without hesitation or reservation, I recommend Mr. Blauvelt to handle your legal matter.

  7. Great Attorney open, honest and extremey knowledgable. Well respected and will fight for your cause without hesitatio

    Posted by Stephen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thomas is a great attorney and very knowledgable not only with the entire array of municipal court statutes proccesses and procedures but also superior court matters. You can rely on Thomas to find the most cost effective method of disposing of your matter without the hidden or additional attourney fees. Thomas was very well known and respected in the municipal courts where he represented me and it made a difference as the prosecutor and Judge were willing to play ball. Thomas will give it to you straight however will fight your cause aggressively. Great Attourney

  8. Commercial vehicle citation

    Posted by Yorllana ulloa, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I sent them the ticket by fax and never called them agai, then I get an email with
    The outcome of the case and I couldn't be more satisfied. Great lawyer.

  9. Exceeded my expectations

    Posted by Michael, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Answered every question quickly and was very helpful. I received to severe traffic tickets and he was able to reduce the penalties more than I could have hoped. I highly recommend Mr. Blauvelt.

  10. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Blauvelt.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thomas Blauvelt is an excellent Attorney. I hired him six months ago for a DUI case. He kept me well informed and up-to-date, he explained everything precisely, and as accurately as possible. Tom as he asked to be called, is Very passionate about his work and he is definitely 100 percent dedicated to getting you the resolutes you are acquiring. Tom won my case and I'm proud to have been represented by an attorney that fights for justice.

Former prosecutor. 10/10 Superb. Call me for your DUI, criminal, or traffic matter.

732-360-1703