Yevgeny Jack Berner’s Reviews

Yevgeny Jack Berner

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great lawyer that is willing to listen!

    Posted by Melinda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny 6-12 months ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Child Custody matter.

    I had to consult with Jack regarding a mediation and possible custody trial. I was not expecting a miracle. Unfortunately, my attorney has not been helpful through this process. I needed a second opinion and some ideas on how to move forward. And, even thought it was a free consult, he never made me feel like he was trying to just get me to hire him. He was attentive, empathetic and respectful. He was able to answer my questions, and even alleviate some of my fears. I have been working on the suggestions he made for me. If I do and up going to trial, I am definitely going to follow up with Jack. And, if I know of anyone else that needs to go to trial I will definitely refer them to him. Thank you for your professionalism Jack. You have a great support staff as well, they were also polite and friendly.

  2. The best!

    Posted by Adam, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny more than 3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jack helped me with a horrific family law case (which I did not start). I had already burned $10,000 in the first month on another lawyer and there was nowhere close to an end in sight. I fired the first lawyer and started fishing on avvo for lawyers with good ratings. I found Jack Berner and boy am I glad that I did.
    Jack did what _very_ few lawyers are willing to do: Offer me legal advice on a per-consult basis without representing me in the case. Again, this is something that _very_ few lawyers will agree to do. I'm sure there are lots of liabilities associated with it, and of course there were plenty of disclaimers. But in my case, Jack Berner's legal advice was a godsend. The case ended up dragging out for about a year. There were about 15 motions hearings and it went to Trial. There was no way that I could afford to proceed with full representation in a case like that and Jack was there for me. I would absolutely recommend him for any and all family law matters in Snohomish County. Jack's availability was excellent. I've had lawyers in the past that will never get back to you. This guy was absolutely top notch. Responding to emergency phone calls for emergency ex-parte motion advice, again - just top notch. Also, practical experience and knowledge in the area of law and the specific juris where your case will be tried is incredibly important. A high-dollar Seattle king-county lawyer that can technically practice in Snohomish county is far far far less useful in practical purpose than a lawyer that spends a majority of their time in the courtroom that your case will be heard in. I think I've gone on long enough, but the point is - this guy really knows how to practice family law in Snohomish county. I can't vouch for him on anything else, but I was really impressed with him. Oh, and I should add that in the end I did prevail in my case. Astonishingly well, in fact, and the other side had full representation from another local family law attorney. I can't give 100% of the credit for my success to Jack, since I was the guy in the courtroom, but I can certainly give him 80% of the credit! Good luck to you, Jack, and thanks again.

  3. It was an emergency

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny 1-3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It was an emergency custody situation. We had lawyer referrals from friends, but they all fell through. I found Jack Berner's Law group on Yelp. I read the only review he had, and based on that called the office. Margie answered the phone. She was professional and just really, really nice. Jack was in court, but called me back quickly. He listened, answered my questions, and then spoke frankly about my current position. He didn't waste my time or try to sell me. Attorney fees and retainers are insane, but Brenner's were definitely reasonable in comparison to other family law practices. Lori, the office manager is fantastic. She listened to my story, answered my questions, and made sure that all of my emails and calls got to the right person.

    We had less than a week before we had to appear in court. The whole team hit the ground running. The office manager Lori, and paralegal Margie, worked all day organizing my information. Jack worked non stop, and kept me in the loop through the entire process. That was really important to me.

    The best part was watching him in court. He took all our facts and and wove them into an amazing, legally awesome, and convincing argument. He spoke passionately on our behalf, and was ferocious in our defense. As you can see by my 5-star rating in all of the categories, I highly recommend him and his team.

    We won. It feels good to be heard.

  4. Direct, Straightforward and Professional

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny 1-3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jack is one of only 2 attorneys I have ever hired. But the only attorney I have ever hired for civil/domestic issues. Prior to working with Jack, I had been navigating through the court procedures to handle my own motions for obtaining several orders prior to my dissolution and drawing up my own final dissolution. I can honestly say that I was purposefully looking to avoid the costs of hiring an attorney and felt confident in my ability as a pro se. Recently however, I had to motion the court to find my ex in contempt for failing to comply with our decree. I consulted with Jack first and he was very quick to poke holes in my evidence and highlight possible pitfalls in my motion-----this was both irritating and extremely helpful. I took my case to court by myself and my ex was given a continuance and ordered to see a public defender. I spent a lot of time reviewing washington state law, local court rules and utilizing AVVO as a helpful resource to examine my case weaknesses, but the unknowing of advocating against an actual attorney was a bit daunting. Jack is not afraid to tell you what you don't want to hear----he is direct, straightforward, professional, and stands in stark contrast to the numerous attorneys that I have observed in other court hearings. Hiring Jack immediately took the weight of the world off my shoulders and put my mind at ease. Jack advocated in a clear and confident manner and the outcome was a win. I would work with Jack again and recommend him to others.

  5. Long Overdue

    Posted by Noah, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny more than 3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I should have put this in a year ago. Jack, from day one, did exactly what his banner said, he treated my case like it was his own. He was extremely professional and reassuring. I had represented myself in so many situations in the past, or just went with the cheapest route I could find, and it started to become a "coin flip". When I entered into a very serious situation concerning custody, I wasn't looking to take a chance like that again. Jack and his staff worked me through process from A to Z and got the exact result I NEEDED in that situation. He set proper expectations, gave options, took my information, REMEMBERED that information, and applied it in a manner I wouldn't have been able to on my own. I regained custody, and I was awarded make up time for the missed visitation. As you may read in other reviews, (as I also did, since I picked him off of his well deserved ratings on this site), he is not the least expensive option, but never forget, price is only relevant in the absence of value. Jack Berner isn't the cheap option, he is the valuable option.

    1. Yevgeny Jack Berner

      Yevgeny Berner

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is a great review, Noah. Thank you very much. I do, however, consider my office one of the best deals in town both from a quality AND affordability perspective.

      -Jack Berner

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Simply amazing!

    Posted by Ilya, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny more than 3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Yevgeny was my lawyer during long and difficult international divorce and custody case. My wife moved from Washington back to Ukraine. I could not find another lawyer who would even touch the case because of complexity and international law issues. I had heard of Yevgeny through family friend who was familiar with his work. Yevgeny has Ukrainian background which he used to my advantage. This was probably most stressful thing I ever have had to deal with and Yevgeny and “the girls” really put their hearts into the work and my case. Yevgeny did outstanding job for me and I currently have custody of my two children. Simply amazing!

  7. I'm impressed!

    Posted by Martin, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny more than 3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kennedy & Berner is certainly not the cheapest family law attorney firm out there but I feel that I got more than my money's worth. My wife hired a very aggressive attorney in a modification action and not only did Jack Berner fend off both a petition for modification and multiple motions for contempt and other motions but also succeeded in running through my own Petition for Modification with excellent results at trial. I have no hesitation in referring Kennedy & Berner to anyone and everyone if you truly want an "ace in the hole" so-to-speak. Like I said, I'm impressed with what I've experienced.

  8. MOLEDETZ JACK!

    Posted by Anna, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny more than 3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    MOLODETZ JACK! THIS LAWYER "JACK" WAS GREAT. I KNOW HIM AS YEVGENY. HE WAS ORIGINALLY REFERRED TO ME THROUGH RUSSIAN COMMUNITY. HE WAS ALWAYS HONEST AND UPFRONT. I DID NOT ALWAYS WANT TO HEAR WHAT HE HAD TO SAY BUT HE WAS ALWAYS RIGHT. HE HAS HELPED TO KEEP ME SANE DURING THE HARDEST AND CRUELIST PARTS OF MY LIFE. HE HELPED ME WIN CUSTODY OF MY 13YR OLD DAUGHTER IN A DIVORCE TRIAL FIVE YEARS AGO AND LAST AUGUST WITH MY 2 OTHER CHILDREN. I WOULD RECOMMEND JACK TO EVERYONE I KNOW. KAREN WAS ALSO GREAT. IT APPEARS EVERYBODY ELSE WHO POSTED REVIEW FEELS THE SAME WAY I DO. GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY JACK!

  9. It's a privilege

    Posted by April, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny more than 3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was advised that Yevgeny (Jack, as I know him) was newly registered on this website and was asked if wanted to review him. Jack is my former attorney as of last week. I will happily oblige. I had a wonderful result in my case a few weeks ago. Second divorce, unfortunately, but great result nevertheless. Things went much better/smoother, quicker, and cheaper than the first time. Kudos!

  10. Jack proved himself

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yevgeny Berner.
    • I hired Yevgeny more than 3 years ago.
    • Yevgeny handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jack represented me in three matters simaltaniously, a DV case, a protection order case, and my divorce and custody case. I was initially nervous about basically puttign my entire life in the hands of a man who I didn't know. I was referred to Jack through my EAP at work and was told that he was solid so I gave him the benefit of the doubt. I'm very glad I did and Jack knows it because I have thanked him profusely. He had both my DV and protection order cases dismissed outright and he negotiated a custody deal for me beyond what I ever thought I could get.

We're here for you and ready to help! Contact us today for a free consultation.

425-259-6533