Back to Yale’s Profile

Yale has received 21 client reviews

Highly recommended!

Posted by: Kedar 24 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I initially went with McKinley Irvin who charged me almost $30K for temporary hearing and ROGS alone. These two are typically 1/4th of the overall trial. Mediation and trial were far away and no negotiations had started. My ex’s lawyer on the other hand had charged her 1/3rd the money and was running circles around my lawyer. Frustrated, I switched to Yale. With that several things changed: 1. Yale is way more knowledgeable than the last lawyer at the previous firm. He knew answers at the top of his head rather than having to do “research” and charge me for it. 2. He has a very good understanding of how math works, and the tax implications. 3. He charged me for what was reasonable instead of charging me $30 per email. At the other extreme, the previous firm charged me $300-$400 for making copy of a will – a will that was voided the moment the divorce petition was filed. 4. When something was out of his expertise such as number crunching, he would let me run the show or ask for outside help such as hire a CPA. This saved me over $100K later on. 5. His paralegal, Tony Dondero, is an awesome person to work with. 6. Both Yale and Tony were always super-quick to respond to any of my questions. 7. During the final stretch, Yale and Tony worked on weekends to meet the deadlines. 8. When I ran out of money, Yale offered that I could defer the fees and pay him later on. 9. Throughout the trial, the wellbeing of my kids was at the top of the list for Yale. Yale is a genuinely nice person and was responsible for guiding me through a difficult divorce. I highly recommend him.

Great attorney for dedicated parents!

Posted by: Mihail about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I would strongly recommend Yale Lewis as an attorney. I had a hard divorce case, with two major problems: (1) the mother wanted to relocate our child to foreign country, located 5,000 miles away from the place where we lived. I was opposing relocation and was looking for 50/50 parenting plan. (2) I had hard financial situation without ability to hire an attorney, but our divorce case was going to Trial as we were not able to agree with the other party on (1). Many top-rated attorneys in King County were not confident that they could win the case; the most they promised is to get more time with the child in summer time, but Yale accepted the challenge and promised that will win the relocation and he did. He also understood my hard financial situation and we established an adequate payment plan, which allowed me to survive. Our case went to trial, in a result, the child relocation to foreign country was denied, I did not get 50/50 parenting plan, but before the child school age, I’ve got most of the weekends with the child, which is awesome, we also been ordered with higher maintenance payments than anticipated. I liked a lot how Yale worked on the case – he is brilliantly smart, hard working, is very attentive to details, which is very important to disclose the other party lie, and we had it a lot, and finally he loves his job!

Yale Lewis - Strong and to the point

Posted by: Nathan, a Divorce client 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale 1-3 years ago.

Yale handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Yale helped me finish a divorce that had been stalled in the collaborative process for over 5 years. His approach worked. His communication was clear and concise, and he kept my costs to a minimum. His office staff was friendly and professional. I highly recommend him.

Great Lawyer

Posted by: Sean, a Divorce client 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale 6-12 months ago.

Yale handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Yale handled my divorce case. He was professional and great at negotiations. He's also very blunt and doesn't sugar coat things which I feel what a lot of attorney's do. In the end, we went to the trial and he represented my case and got me a great outcome. I would definitely recommend him.

Outstanding representation

Posted by: John, a Divorce client 6 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale 6-12 months ago.

Yale handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I searched quite a long time for the right attorney to represent me in my divorce. I definitely made the right decision by going with Yale. It's never a fun process, but Yale was absolutely respectful, professional and worked with me to find the most streamlined route. Never was I unclear or in doubt of where we were in the process. His staff kept me informed when Yale wasn't able to. You will not regret going with Yale Lewis.

Thumbs up!

Posted by: a Family client 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Poor

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale more than 3 years ago.

Yale handled my Family matter.

Yale helped me resolve a child support dispute in my favor even though I live in another state. He kept me informed throughout the process. I especially liked that he charged me a flat rate up front. This means that I didn't have to worry about my budget or that asking him basic questions throughout the process was going to cost me money. Yale was recommended to me by a friend who also had to deal with some unfortunate child support issues remotely.

Want a Seamless mediator?

Posted by: a Mediation client 11 months ago.

Overall rating
Good
Trustworthy
Good
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Good
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale 1-3 years ago.

Yale handled my Mediation matter.

I was looking for a mediator to handle my case. Yale was very professional in keeping both parties informed & involved. He educated both of us on what to expect and what we neededto do. I was relieved to have someone understanding & knowledgable to handle our case. He was very good in responding right away to any questions we had. The situation is awkward & uncomfortable but he made it seamless & we got through it. He was blunt with tact.

Excellent Representation

Posted by: Ben, a Divorce client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale 1-3 years ago.

Yale handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I did my research and shopped around before finding Mr. Lewis, the recommendations I read online were spot on, and I’m happy I hired him. His experience and knowledge were immediately apparent from his straightforward approach and ability to assess the likelihood of success of various alternatives. In my case, we split residential time with our son 50/50 and my ex was underemployed and seeking to maximize her transfer payments. Mr. Lewis listened to my positions and ideas and allowed me to work closely with him to develop a strong case while keeping costs down. In the end, he was able to keep the case from going to trial and successfully negotiated an outcome that recognized my ex’s underemployment and set in place a residential credit. The result was better than I expected to achieve before I met him. Mr. Lewis provided excellent representation at a reasonable cost and I recommend him to anyone dealing with a contentious and complex divorce case.

Yale Lewis - Strong, No-Nonsense Representation

Posted by: Dave, a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale 1-3 years ago.

Yale handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

If you're seeking someone to represent you well in a divorce or separation proceeding, keep you informed, ask you the right questions and speak bluntly (in the best sense), then look no further than Yale Lewis. Yale was kind enough to represent me in my separation even though I was paying him through third-party legal insurance and so, his fee was capped. Even though Yale is busy (because he's good) and wasn't taking on new clients paying via insurance at the time I contacted him, he was willing to represent me - and he treated me no differently than he treats his other clients, both in approach or with respect to time and energy exerted on my behalf. What I really like about Yale is that he's not afraid to tell it like it is - and he's not afraid to advocate. If I was seeking something that was really a stretch, he let me know that. And if I was willing to concede a point that he thought was more important than I had realized, he let me know that as well. He's a good advocate without going overboard. That approach, combined with his subject matter expertise and common sense, is a winning combination as far as I'm concerned.

Mr. Lewis III handled my cross country custody case

Posted by: Dean, a Child Custody client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Yale Lewis

I hired Yale more than 3 years ago.

Yale handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

After my divorce I relocated from the Seattle region to the East coast. I had standard long distance visitation with my son at that time. I knew there was issues with his mother, hence the divorce, but I did not win custody during the divorce. When my son came to visit over Christmas break in 2011, he told me that he his mother was in rehab...again...This was the third time in less then 2 years that I had moved away. I knew something had to be done, I did not want to return my son. I didn't know what options I had available. I had legal services through my employer and contacted them immediately. They gave me the name of Yale Lewis III. I was skeptical being unable to meet with an attorney face to face for such an important matter. I spoke with Mr. Lewis III over the phone and told him my story. He felt he could help me and that I had a solid case for custody. I signed on with Mr. Lewis and was immediately impressed. He was incredibly thorough, organized, professional and confident. He kept me informed at all times with my case, I never felt 3,000 miles away. Mr. Lewis was always direct and to the point with what he thought were my best options. During custody negotiations, he would not back down. I was granted custody of my son, and Mr. Lewis made sure any visitation my ex-wife receives would be strictly contigent on very specific conditions. Mr. Lewis also thought to add in a "fail safe" clause in the agreement that my son can come home during the visit if certain conditions occur. That, in my opinion, was brilliant. My son was more comfortable with the visitation process, knowing that was added. Mr. Lewis truly was thinking of what was in my son's best interest, and how best to protect him. I would highly recommend Mr. Lewis III.