Back to Stephen’s Profile

Stephen has received 80 client reviews

Mr. Carpenter, a man I would recommend to everyone.

Posted by: a client 3 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

I was accused of multiple counts (sexual assault, fraternization, in appropriate relationship, falsifying response) against me, all which added up to serving a sentence of 34 years in Leavenworth. Initially I was not going to get a civilian lawyer, but after everything that was happening and the advice I received from senior leaders, I had to find the best lawyer. Mr. Carpenter worked with me on my case for almost two years. He took my case without hesitation and consistently talked with me about everything that could happen in the best case scenario or the worst case scenario. Mr. Carpenter was the best fit. Even during the first phone call he was someone I felt I could relate with and did not feel like I was just a cash cow. He was always able to return a phone call or an email very quickly. When he was not available, his staff was able to relay a message to him and was very courteous. He contacted me constantly to check to see how I was doing. He showed true concern for my wellbeing. When in the court room, he was on the spot. He knew what was going on at all times and knew more about what was going on then the prosecutors. He always led me on the right paths to take. When it came to those to come and talk for me as character witness, he interviewed every single one of them. He instructed me which ones he really wanted to use and which ones that would not be helpful and the reasons why. Everyone I talked about him all agreed with me, Mr. Carpenter is someone not to mess with, he is professional, and knows his job better than most. He knows what he is doing. I had 100% faith in him. He always wanted to know what I wanted to do, and I always came back with what is the best thing for me to do. I never hesitated to go the direction he wanted. This is how much faith I had in him and still have in him. I went from spending 34 years in prison with a Dishonorable Discharge, to losing one rank and having the ability to stay in the Army and retire. I would recommend Mr. Carpenter to anyone that is going through a rough time in their lives. I cannot thank Mr. Carpenter enough. He is worth more than he asks for. Always seek legal counsel prior to ever speaking to anyone about anything.

NOT GUILTY , FULL ACQUITTAL !!!

Posted by: CYNTHIA 13 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

My prayers were answered when I found Stephen Carpenter. Without him I know my Airman wouldn't be coming home this month. After much research, as well as personal military references, I knew my Airman was in good hands... the BEST hands. It was the wisest investment we have ever made. Stephen, and his staff of experts ,kept us informed every step of the way -- of the process , our options and what to expect should we have to go to court. As a mom , there is nothing more frightening than to know your child is thousands of miles away , alone with a court appointed attorney who may just look at them as a number.... A way to check the box in his/her career. Not with Stephen. He truly cares about his clients - and their families back home. He , too , is invested in a positive outcome for all parties involved. His work ethic is impeccable. He encouraged us to spend time as a family while he and his staff worked until all hours of the night preparing every detail for what the next step might hold. He was amazing to watch in court . He had every ear perked and his style was captivating.... and , obviously for us, successful to the end. He gave us the best 2 words I've ever heard -- NOT GUILTY !! He , Mr. Court , and their incredible panel of experts will forever be heroes in our world. Much like our children who choose to serve our great nation- there are never enough words to express our gratitude for what they give back to us all. There is not a bigger fan of Court and Carpenter than me and my family. You should wholeheartedly give them a chance to bring joy , peace and a future back to your family as well.

Best in the business, period

Posted by: John 17 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

Steve is awesome, I was facing serious theft/receiving charges. In the end I got a slap on the wrist and a friend out of the deal. He was there from start to finish, destroyed the prosecutions case and called out the injustice he saw. He saved my family and my life. He's a savior, he's the man you want on your side.

Discharge Upgraded from General to Honorable!!

Posted by: Scott about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

Before going on terminal leave I was issued my original DD-214, and I noticed that I received a General Discharge. (Under Honorable Conditions) To make a long story short, I did not agree with the discharge and made my arguments to my command and I was able to get the discharge upgraded to Honorable. So my command issued me a DD-215, which a corrected version of the DD-214. Moreover, I noticed several awards and ribbons were not included in my DD-214/15. However, I chose to ignore that for the time being and told myself I would correct the issue at another time. Fast forward nine years!! I finally decided to update my DD-214/15, so it would reflect all my awards and ribbons that I rated. I completed the necessary form and sent it in. Well a few months later, I received my request back and they updated my DD-214/15 to reflect the awards and ribbons. However, they also changed my discharge to a General (Under Honorable Conditions) I researched military Attorney’s and came across Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR. After conducting research on Mr. Carpenter, I learned that he was an experienced military attorney, with an outstanding resume. Mr. Carpenter was the type of attorney that I needed, because I knew I had a huge battle to with review board. I contacted Mr. Carpenter and we discussed my case. He was upfront with me and made no promises, but assured me that he would fight hard for my discharge upgrade. I was satisfied with our conversation and retained his services. In the end, Mr. Carpenter was able to get my discharge upgraded to HONORABLE!!. The best part was that I never had to travel to Washington DC, to present my case in person!! Yes, I would recommend Mr. Carpenter. Do yourself a favor and retain the best legal representation that you can. Your future depends on it!

A military law profession who thrives on what others would call "insurmountable odds"

Posted by: a client about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

I was recently faced with a potential career ending legal battle. Congressional pressure ensured that there would be no way that a favorable outcome was possible. In short, I was faced with an abrupt end to an otherwise illustrious career. I contacted Stephen and explained the situation. He immediately sprang into action and contacted the servicing SJA to mitigate how this case had been mis-managed and allowed to snowball out of control. Stephen stepped up to the plate, skillfully and systematically countering each and every allegation that was raised. Stephen went the extra mile to re-interview witnesses to get the truth, not a fabricated synopsis as criminal investigators are inclined to present. When the cards were on the table and the smoke had cleared, Stephen had made a presentation that left command channels absolutely no choice but to allow me to salvage my career and retire honorably. When a person is faced with career impacting circumstances such as this, it is very easy to drive yourself crazy with questions and concerns. Stephens communication during the entire situation was outstanding. He kept me very well informed of what to expect from the military and no matter where in the world he was a the time, he responded to my questions and concerns in a very timely manner, Stephen is an expert in military law, his experience is a MUST when you are ever faced with any career altering legal situation.

Blessing

Posted by: Rob about 1 month ago.

Overall rating
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

Mr. Carpenter is a master of his craft. Initially, I thought he seemed to busy for me and preoccupied but unbeknownst to me, his experience gave him foresight and allowed him to focus on what was really important. Unfortunately, the UCMJ is influenced slightly by political pressure but having a civilian lawyer evened the playing field and justice was served. I faced several charges that of which Mr. Carpenter worked to find the truth and I served no jail time and was allowed to retire with my most important assets intact, my family!

FT Lewis Case

Posted by: a client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

I was in a contested divorce and as a result my wife falsely accused me of a crime. I hired Stephen after I saw that the investigation was not moving forward, even after several months after her PCS. Through Stephen's hard work I was able to recover my career and move on to conduct professional military education. Through hiring a civilian military lawyer, I was able to have an advocate that prioritized my case. Stephen was always available even when traveling abroad. He always gave me a straight assessment on my situation and never hid the truth.

Wonderful and incomparable

Posted by: Dr. Toni 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

Dear Sir or Madam: You would benefit greatly working with Attorney Stephen Carpenter Jr., a stellar reputation, skillful, commanding presence, and delivers brilliant work. His passion is unquestionable. My son was facing 5 year confinement sentence, general court-martial-dishonorable discharge, felony, conviction. The outcome was dwindled down to a special court-martial referral, no fine and relatively minor jail term (14 days) to be exact (impressive). My son agrees. Columbus Ohio – October 25, 2014

He is a God send if you have a military legal issue

Posted by: a client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

I have a unique point of view to contribute as Mr. Carpenter was not my attorney. He was my husband's legal counsel for a separation board. I was present at most of their meetings as Mr. Carpenter realized quickly that I was an asset. My spouse was not sleeping and under such stress that he was forgetting key details when they spoke and answering incompletely when Mr. Carpenter questioned him. I was able to fill in many missing pieces, and I communicated with Mr. Carpenter frequently on my husband's behalf since my spouse worked in a no cell phone building which impleaded his ability to communicate during business hours. I was also used as a witness by Mr. Carpenter as a component of my husband's defense at the board. My husband received a GOMOR, a referred rating with a recommendation not to promote and do not to retain. He was hung out to dry by his former commanders and made the scapegoat. He was repeatedly given misinformation by people who did not actually know what the policies were. JAG was not much help. They were overworked and backlogged with other cases and only gave him cursory attention. I had had enough at that point. My husband was too broken, depressed and utterly destroyed to fight, he had given up. So I started researching and found Mr. Carpenter. I had my husband contact him and things immediately and dramatically improved. His first meeting was held at the JAG offices where my husband had been trying to get assistance. The legal staff knew and respected Mr. Carpenter. They acted like their senior rater just walked in and was speaking to them when he arrived. They were helpful, fixed many of the issues instantly, apologized for the errors, assigned a military lawyer to assist Mr. Carpenter, and filed a request to postpone the board to allow for time to prepare. It was like a whole new staff. Mr. Carpenter called and started cross examining the "witnesses". Soon the true picture emerged, and people started declining to testify for the prosecution and the prosecution started removing witnesses. Mr. Carpenter talked to dozens of people, listened to hours of stories, and looked at hundreds of photos to choose the right stories, witnesses, and images to tell my husband's story. He saved my husband's career. The board found in my husband’s favor, but with a rehabilitative transfer. Mr. Carpenter continued to fight to get the reassignment over turned as my husband had already been transferred and did not want to change jobs again. I could not be happier, or more impressed. His attention to detail is second to none. Stephen Carpenter was professional, attentive, insightful, wise, knowledgeable, and fast to respond to every concern, email, phone call and text message. I am a detail oriented, type A, hard to please person. I do not give praise lightly or where it is not due. He was amazing and was easily the finest lawyer either of us has ever had the privilege of working with. We would not hesitate in hiring Mr. Carpenter again and would whole heartedly recommend him to my closest friends.

General court-martial

Posted by: a client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen Carpenter

I was a junior officer and came up hot on a random urinalysis. Even though it was a first time offense with no extra factors the Army decided to charge me formally in a General Court-Martial. If I was convicted I would have a Federal felony, a dishonorable discharge, and was even facing time in Leavenworth. The potential punishment far outweighed the crime, and I was truly terrified for my future. I contacted Stephen and he was immediately responsive in a way that my government appointed attorney was not, even though he was out of the country on another case. Stephen gave me all the facts on what I was facing, went over all my options, and patiently answered all my questions. After discussing my goals he presented me with multiple courses of action and began work immediately. Stephen kept me informed throughout, answering my phone calls and emails promptly and thoroughly. He was able to make a deal with the prosecution allowing me to resign rather than face potential conviction at a general court-martial. Without spending a minute in court I was able to resign with my service characterized as "under honorable conditions," with no prison time, and no criminal record. Stephen is expensive, but you get what you pay for, and I consider my money well spent. I am totally happy with my experience and the outcome. My future is safe and life is good again.