Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR’s Reviews

Stephen Hayes Carpenter JR

Average Rating

Based on 70 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Court Martial? Article 32?....then you need Mr. Carpenter on your side

    Posted by Kevin, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I deeply,deeply thank Mr. Carpenter and his team for everything that he has done for me and my family. Easily the best money i have EVER invested. I was facing a variety of charges due to the misconduct I had committed. Mr.Carpenter was honest from the beginning about my chances of a full acquittal. He proved to be spot on with his opinion on that, but his sentencing was just amazing. Due to his relentless work and dedication to my case, i only got a reduction in rank and hard labor, where i could have been in jail for years.

    If you have any kind of Court Martial Proceedings looming and/or going, I highly recommend Mr. Carpenter. At the end of the day, it's your career and life that is at stake. Don't hesitate - be proactive!

  2. Board of Inquiry

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dear Stephen and Kyle,

    Please accept my sincere appreciation for your part in providing the truth for all to see at my Board of Inquiry. You and your team were instrumental to our success. I developed an exceptionally high opinion to your team’s professionalism and your exceptionally dedicated approach to the mission.

    This event could not have been successfully executed without you and your organization’s active and professional participation. You were prepared, flexible, and I was well equipped to respond to the wide range of questions and challenges with your preparation.

    Thank you again for what you have done to help my family, myself, and for what you d each and every day to support military members and their families.

    Sincerely,


    K. R. FORIS

  3. Not Guilty of All Charges

    Posted by Chris, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I came under investigation for sexual assault I knew that I was going to need above satisfactory representation in the event I was charged and Court-Martialed. After days of researching, Mr. Carpenter was the attorney at the top of the list to hire. No more than one hour after I sent him an email explaining my situation, he called and discussed it with me. The shocking thing to me was that it was at 11pm PST. He immediately called the CID office and informed that he was representing me and that they were not to contact me in any way, shape or form. Once my Brigade Commander preferred charges, Steve never stopped. He kept me informed of everything that was going on and was always available for questions or concerns that I had. I never thought that I would feel comfortable in a court room, but with how well Mr. Carpenter prepared the case, I was at ease. Watching him in argue the case on my behalf was the most moving and impressive thing I have ever seen. He is truly passionate and believed in my case. Because of Mr. Carpenter I was able to proceed with my life free of any legal issues. I was found not guilty of all charges because of Mr. Carpenter's dedication and knowledge of military law. I recommend Steve Carpenter to anyone with Military UCMJ issues. It was the best decision I have ever made concerning my well being.

  4. Your Standard Issue Big Gun

    Posted by David, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was in a pretty bad situation where the best outcome at the time was just being separated from the Military. Everyone in my company acted like it would blow over in a few weeks, but with all the talk of the Military downsizing, I recognized that I needed the best help possible. After hearing conflicting information from Company higher ups for over 2 months, CID continuously stating they were wrapping up their investigation, and TDS informing me all their lawyers were all back in the states, I contacted Mr. Carpenter.
    Stephen Carpenter was professional, straight to the point, and extremely knowledgeable about all concepts of Military Law. He kept me informed about everything as he got a hit on it, and was good about back briefing my family in regard to legal technicalities about my case, like ascertaining sworn/verbal statements, things of that nature.
    Case came back about another 2 months later as Unfounded. I truly feel that without Mr. Carpenter's expertise and sound handling of my life and career, I'd have probably been under investigation another year later. Even NCOs from other companies were shocked to hear my case was over with in 4 months time, as the subject matter of the case is not something that ends quickly. They said I was lucky, I said nope, just had the best lawyer available. Thank you for your service, sir. ;)

  5. Stopped in the investigation stage

    Posted by Brandon, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    I was under investigation for multiple articles for 10 months. I hired Mr. Carpenter during the beginning of my investigation. From day one working with him he kept in contact and kept me informed on any new break in my case. Thanks to the help of him keeping the process moving I was then informed that the government would not further investigate and I was able to discharge honorably and continue on with my journey in life. I highly recommend Mr. Carpenter to anyone needing help in military law. I can't thank you enough Mr. Carpenter.

  6. Provided counseling and mediation in my case UCMJ 86

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    Stephen Carpenter was extremely helpful in negotiating my return to military authorities after my period of unauthorized absence. Despite working many cases at the time he always had the information I requested the same day if possible. He was unbiased and represented me to the best of his abilities despite his personal beliefs. In my opinion he avhieved the best possible outcome give my circumstances. I woud definitely reccomend him to anyone who needed counseling concerning the UCMJ

  7. He is truly second to none...

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    Mr Carpenter is a no-nonsense, straight forward guy!!!. Words cannot express the gratitude I have for him. His knowledge of the military law and practices of such were amazing but it was his patience, understanding, compassion and passion that I treasured. He took the time to understand me, my case and went the extra mile to make sure he was doing everything possible to represent me in the best way he could. His calm demeanor was much appreciated and needed most of the times. I can honestly say because of him I can continue with my career in the military. He continues to be helpful any time I have questions I am proud to recommend him to anyone and everyone. My daughter thanks you for saving her mommy’s career….
    Note: For the military personnel, I highly recommend him. He is on point...

  8. Mr. Carpenter is one of the best outstanding lawyer's I've encountered!

    Posted by Mase, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    Mr. Carpenter is a professional and gifted lawyer. His expertise and dedication has proven to be beyond any expectation. From the beginning to the end, Mr. Carpenter tackled my issues with such tenacity that it allowed me to have peace of mind throughout my legal proceedings. He is worth more than his services request; I would recommend Mr. Carpenter to anyone. You will not be disappointed! For not only does his work ethics speaks for itself, but also he takes personal interest in getting to know his clients.

  9. Article 15

    Posted by Jacqueline, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Administrative Law matter.

    Case was handle very well I was kept up to speed on all information as they arise. My case case was handle in a professional manner and I would highly recommend him as a lawyer.

  10. Worth every penny

    Posted by John, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Carpenter.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Military Law matter.

    Mr. Carpenter was very helpful with my case. I was facing some serious charges and the effective end of my military career. Mr Carpenter helped show my chain of command that this was not the case they thought it was and helped me to receive an end result of being able to stay in the military.
    The only thing I can fault him on was he was a little slow in replying to my emails occasionally, but that was minimal and did not affect the case whatsoever.
    His knowledge of military law and the military justice system was very beneficial and I would reccomend his services to anyone who is facing legal action in the military. He helped save my career.

Call now for a free consultation.

206-357-8434