C Dennis Brislawn Jr’s Reviews

C Dennis Brislawn Jr

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Extra Mile

    Posted by Aaron,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.

    Most helpful and knowledgeable attorney, period! Dennis went the extra mile for me with several trust issues. He expertly navigated those legal waters dealing in compliance with government regulations that are technical and difficult. He understands personal issues, showing a "humanity" that other lawyers seem to have lost in their practices. Providing for family in the future via a trust and protecting my assets is a point of expertise that Dennis commands that covered all aspects of my requirements. Check him out.

  2. Exceptional lawyer

    Posted by a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn 6-12 months ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dennis Brislawn is an exceptional lawyer. He is very professional and he helped me with a difficult problem I was having with a suppressor I bought while I was living in Washington state. I purchased the Bronze level trust of the GUNDOCX Trust system (which Mr. Brislawn created ) in November of 2012 and was approved by the BATFE and received my stamp in May 2013. My husband took a job transfer to Texas and we moved before I could get my suppressor so I applied for a form 20 to transport the suppressor. Things became more difficult for me when the dealer I bought the item from lost their FFL. For several months I tried to get the matter taken care of and it became more difficult since the dealer could not help me . I could do nothing on my own. Then I contacted Dennis around April of this year to see if he could help. He made phone calls and advised me on how he could handle things. He also updated my trust from the Bronze level to a Silver level since I now reside in Texas. I flew to Washington state this June and I was finally able to get my suppressor. Dennis was able to accomplish so much in a short period of time. He is very thorough and he gets the job done

  3. Absolutely Phenomenal Legal Work

    Posted by Will, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn 6-12 months ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Trusts matter.

    Without Dennis Brislawn, I wouldn't have been able to fulfill a childhood dream of owning a suppressor. I put the wheels in motion back in February of 2013 when I created a trust and applied for the stamp. About 10 months later, the ATF finally approved it and I raced down to my local dealership to pick it up. Unfortunately, during those 10 months, I fulfilled another childhood dream of changing my legal name and this barred me from getting the suppressor since it was for the trust with my former name. I had zero legal experience and no idea what to do. I even considered just eating the cost of the stamp, getting my money back, and abandoning this goal from my bucketlist. Thankfully, I got in touch with Dennis who walked me through the whole process. He knew all the right people to contact, all the forms that needed to be filled out, and he kept me in the loop the entire time. Today, I finally got to thread the suppressor onto my pistol and the smile hasn't left my face since!

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Carol, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn 1-3 years ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After my father passed away several years ago the family was referred to Dennis Brislawn to handle the formation of a partnership and a trust for my mother. From my first meeting I felt at ease with the recommendation of our accountant and was extremely pleased with the manner that Dennis dealt with a grieving family and a confused mother. Dennis has been our family partnership and lease attorney ever since and my personal attorney handling our living wills and our trust. Over the years I have consulted Dennis on numerous occasions, and about many things, in regards to family questions on the partnership, personal and lease questions and found him to be extremely knowledgable. I would highly recommend Dennis to anyone in need of a competent and skilled attorney.

  5. A whole lot of time & money

    Posted by Pat, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn 1-3 years ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dennis did an estate plan for my family. He recommended a revocable living trust, we sat and listened to him for four hours where he mostly talked about his company wealth counsel, and some gun stuff he was working on. None of it was really relevant to my family's estate plan. He finally got around to telling us how much it would cost and for the sake of just getting it done, we paid for a revocable living trust. We came back 2 months later to sign the trust and our paralegal informed us that we would have to pay almost $2500 more to "fund" the trust. And without doing so would cause our estate to be probated which we were trying to avoid with the trust in the first place. Dennis was impossible to get ahold of, and when you finally did he could never give you a straight answer. I do not recommend this law firm or this attorney.

    1. C Dennis Brislawn Jr

      C Brislawn

      Lawyer Comment:

      I care about each client and my staff do as well. We will do whatever we can to help a client reach his or her goals. Pat did not contact me directly about these concerns, and I would appreciate the chance to put things right if I can. My staff feels the same way. We are sorry that things did not go right for these clients and are committed to help in any way we can.

      Pat, please give me a call and ask to speak to me personally. My front desk schedules calls for me when I cannot pick up. You have my pledge to help if I can. Again, if given the chance, we will see what we can do to help you receive value.

      Funding a trust with assets, making the trust the "owner", is how probate is avoided. Some assets bypass probate by contract, but for real estate, investments, personal property it generally takes documentation to make them part of the trust property.

      Our fees are set forth in a written fee agreement. Generally we quote fixed fees for design, document drafting, and related consulting. We expressly state that trust funding is hourly given that each person owns different assets and some prove more troublesome than others to fund. Some clients choose to do their own funding and avoid fees altogether. Funding fees are all over the map, and my paralegals report that 10 - 30 hours is often required. We cannot tell what charges will be until we find out what the clients own. Some clients do not provide the information we request, making the process more time consuming, and some financial institutions are difficult to work with.

      I stand behind my work, my Firm, and the quality of our service. We have thousands of clients that come back to us over time, and who know that we have their back. When a client feels we need to do more, we just need to know his or her concerns so we have a chance to do so.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  6. President

    Posted by Blaine, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn 1-3 years ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Dennis is a unique combination in the legal industry of someone who is very personable and cares about who you are and what you need but can back it up with exceptional technical expertise. He has worked on several legal situations for me and I couldn't have asked for better service and better advice. He is also extremely creative as an individual and can come up with some very innovative ideas and solutions in a variety of areas. Working with Dennis is like a breath of fresh air in the legal community and I highly recommend him to anyone needing assistance in estate planning, LLCs, Wills, Trusts, Gun Trusts and other related areas.

  7. A name you can trust in the industry

    Posted by JB, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn 1-3 years ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Dennis has been a real pleasure to work with. He is an excellent problem solver and is the most trustworthy attorney I have worked with. The trust he provided me was incredibly detailed, accurate, and affordable. There is no more worry for the "what if" scenarios. On top of his strong knowledge, he is very personal and caring. We have developed a great relationship from our working together and i expect it to continue in the future.

  8. high endorsement

    Posted by Florence, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn more than 3 years ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Dennis did a wonderful job of helping my elderly mother. She was a shy, gentle woman who found it hard to stand up to her family/children when they tried to determine where she lived or to take money from her. Because she trusted Dennis, after she was widowed she took his advice about making a living trust, and he helped her put into the document the protections which later enabled her to remain in her home as she wished and to die in peace. He has the highest level of legal knowledge and is willing to fight to protect his clients.

  9. Trust Beneficiary

    Posted by Drew, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend C Brislawn.
    • I hired C Brislawn more than 3 years ago.
    • C Brislawn handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As the Manager, Planned Gift Administration for a national association I work on 60 to 80 estate and trusts yearly. My experience with attorneys, trustees, and executors is mixed. Most do not put much effort in communicating and putting 100% effort to closing the estates without my required inquires. Dennis and his staff gave nothing but 100% in all the above catagories. I highly recommend Dennis and his firm.