Thomas A McAvity’s Reviews

Thomas A McAvity

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thomas is the best attorney out there

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Greatest thing i ever did was hire thomas.. He is very trustworthy and deals with all issues,at hand

  2. Thank You Thomas McAvity

    Posted by Donald and Bonnie, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    During the initial interview we explained that we were in need of a seecond vehicle.Thomas then researched and found a way to include a newer car into the BK. I paid the BK off three years early. Which then we proceeded to try to purchasee a house. m Without Thomas's help that would of never been possibble. Thank You Thomas!

  3. Satisfied customer

    Posted by Owensjillm63, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am very pleased with the service I received from North West Debt Relief law Firm. They took care of me and my mess of debt. They were very kind ,professional, and competent . I would highly recommend them to all I know, thanks Thomas McAvity and staff

  4. Disappointed

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    His receptionist is very rude and when i call she rushes me off of the phone. My first appointment Tom forgot he had an appointment with me in Seattle and took a train back to Portland without notifying me. He never remembers who i am and never calls me back, i have to call his office numerous times and when i do i get switched over to another attorney that i have to explain everything over to. I dont feel that i am supported by him. I will be switching lawyers which will cost me more money, and refiling my bankruptcy case.

  5. Owens

    Posted by Jill, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I made the decision to file for bankruptcy I was filled with many emotions anxiety and stress the top ones. After contacting NW Debt Relief Law Firm and Thomas McAvity many of my fears were alieved. They have been so compassionate and kind. They have made a difficult situation easier to bare. I would use the Law Firm again and would highly recommend them to my family and friends

  6. Very good attorney!!

    Posted by Gary, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thomas McAvity answered every question I ever asked him about my legal situation. He always returned my emails and phone calls on a prompt basis. Thomas is very knowledgeable about the law. I really appreciated his efforts. If one word describes Tom it is EXCELLENCE!!

  7. Find another attorney.

    Posted by Christina, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Wow, how time changes things! I posted a review after hiring Tom but before actually working with him--I should have waited before assuming he was great, because I had to switch attorneys right before filing. I was served with a wage garnishment before I filed (but after I hired Tom) and when I reached out to Tom for help, he gave me a nonsense answer that I discovered (after consulting with another attorney) was completely off-base. He responded to my initial email with one sentence, and when I responded questioning his advice he sent another sentence or 2 that made even less sense--and showed that he knew nothing about me or my case. He never asked me to call the office or come in. Until he discovered (through Avvo, hilariously enough) that I was consulting with another attorney; then suddenly he was trying to call me and discuss my case.

    His office is disorganized, his office staff is rude, he does not follow-up with you in any way and if you reach out to him, he will have no clue who you are.

    Not worth it.

  8. Helpful and reassuring!

    Posted by Christina, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Thomas about 2 months ago. I haven't started the filing process yet, but he made me feel comfortable and in good hands from the get-go. Looking forward to working with him!

  9. It's Not About The Money; It's About the People.............

    Posted by Rose S., a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met Mr. McAvity just today. I went into his office with practically nothing; no hopes that he could help me with my financial disaster and no hope of trying to make a fresh start. I really believed he would turn me away or charge me an outrageous amount to even acquire his services. Instead, Mr. Avity was very compassionate and understanding of my situation and looked at many different options for me to use that would not take a toll on my pocket book. When I left his office an hour later, I felt relief for the first time in months that finally I had found someone to help me. Tom and his associates made me feel at ease from the moment I walked into the office and Sara is absolutely wonderful!!

    Thank you, Thank you for helping me through this difficult time! For anyone looking for a good Bankruptcy Attorney, I would strongly suggest seeing Thomas McAvity.....

  10. Compassionate and experienced consumer bankruptcy attorney

    Posted by Richard, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas McAvity.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Mr. McAvity worked for my law firm on two separate tenures. He was knowledgeable, efficient, and compassionate toward clients. I strongly recommend him.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

503-860-6868