Marcel Gesmundo’s Reviews

Marcel Gesmundo

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Helped us out of a major quagmire!

    Posted by Charlotte, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 6-12 months ago.
    • Marcel handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My roommates and I got wrapped up in a lease at a property that was not in the condition we were expecting, and certainly not worth what we were paying for it. We had countless problems at the property and with the management, and we finally decided we wanted out! We consulted with two different attorneys, but for a few different reasons we decided to work with Marcel - I think we made an excellent choice!
    He helped us get out of our lease with no early termination fee, as well as getting our entire (exorbitant) security deposit back in full. Throughout the entire process he was informative, helpful, and *incredibly* accommodating. He seemed a little disappointed in the end that he wasn't able to get us some sort of settlement for damages or anything of the sort, but that was never really what we were pursuing - we just wanted a clean break from our lease without losing any money on it, and he delivered that well beyond our expectations.

  2. An Attorney's Attorney!

    Posted by Joe, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 1-6 months ago.
    • Marcel handled my Litigation matter.

    I hired Marcel to assist in complex, out-of-state litigation. In addition to excellent work, Marcel was hardworking, insightful and full of great ideas and advice. I look forward to the next time we work together.

  3. Unlawful deposit withholding

    Posted by Ryan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 1-6 months ago.
    • Marcel handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Marcel was excellent in getting us everything that we deserved from previous slim-ball renters. He used many precise references in his letter which didn't give the renters a second guess at their mistake. Marcel worked in astonishing timlyness and aced the case. Thank you Marcel for helping return to us our deposit!

  4. Landlord-Tenant Issue

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 6-12 months ago.
    • Marcel handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Marcel recently handled a Landlord-Tenant matter for my daughter. He was knowledgeable and well-spoken as well as understanding of the matter beginning with our first telephone call to him. He met with us immediately and began to work on the issue through resolution without delay. We knew that we were in good hands.

  5. Great representation, communication and insights.

    Posted by Martin Wilson, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 6-12 months ago.
    • Marcel handled my Real Estate matter.

    Marcel did a great job and gave us a breakdown of the options and pros/cons. He did an excellent job of negotiating and got us more than we had hoped for. Would definitely hire him again.

  6. This young professional blows all others out of the water.

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 6-12 months ago.
    • Marcel handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    After attempting to resolve my problem with my housing management company myself, and juggling school, volunteer work, and work, I hired Marcel as a last resort to help me in a nightmare housing situation. Marcel was prompt, candid, and did not waste my time. He was also willing to give me a special rate and work with my budget. He sent a cease and desist letter to the housing management corporation, and negotiated a settlement agreement with opposing counsel to let us out of our lease. For a less than a third the money we would have had to pay for the lease-break fee, he is well worth the investment.

    Having been around many attorneys in my field of work, my impression of Marcel is that he is a young, bright, attorney that still has that spark of passion and humanity that most older lawyers don't possess anymore. He is sympathetic, but at the same time objective and reasonable. He is responsive in communication, and professional. I get the sense that he truly cares about his clients and wants to help them. I would recommend him to anyone who is in a bind.

  7. Successful resolution of a small, but difficult case

    Posted by Robin, a Government client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcel handled my Government matter.

    I hired Mr. Gesmundo to help me to resolve an ongoing dispute with FEMA after making several attempts on my own to navigate/negotiate their system over the course of several years during which FEMA proved to be a difficult organization to work with and I was unable to attain results. Mr. Gesmundo was extraordinarily thorough in his evaluation of my case, he eagerly tackled becoming knowledgeable about FEMA and the rules/regulations around federal disaster relief aid, and kept me informed with up-to-date information and clear next steps when I needed to take action myself. While my case was small, Mr. Gesmundo showed great dedication to ensuring a positive resolution to an ongoing, emotionally-draining situation that I had practically given up on. In short, Mr. Gesmundo was able to be my advocate with FEMA and as a result the dispute was favorably resolved. I would eagerly recommend Mr. Gesmundo as a lawyer to anyone.

  8. Great Experience

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcel handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Mr. Gesmundo was very attentive to our concerns and explained our options very well. The outcome of our situation was very good. Mr. Gesmundo's fee's were very fair and our situation was handled in an expeditious manner with a positiove outcome.

  9. Knowledgeable and thorough

    Posted by Rachel, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcel handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We hired Marcel on a recommendation, and rather than going to a low-income attorney, we went with our friend's recommendation. For the amount of money that we were due, it was reasonable that we would hire a specialized attorney. Marcel was wonderful and offered great direction regarding our options. He was truly thorough in the information he gathered from us, and with every question I emailed, I received a prompt response. The letter sent to the other folks was totally comprehensive, direct, and not at all accusatory or unkind. And we won! Marcel is fantastic, thanks again.

  10. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcel Gesmundo.
    • I hired Marcel 1-3 years ago.

    I had a great experience working with Marcel. I contacted him for support in a case that was really stressful for me, something that I was concerned I wouldn't be able to find an attorney for that I also felt comfortable working with. During our initial consult, he did a great job of putting me at ease, including when I was emotional, while also giving me a realistic sense of possible outcomes. I appreciated that I was heard and well-supported from the get go, as well as that he was down to earth, realistic and a compassionate person.

    After taking my case, he responded to any questions I had with expediency, handled everything on time and checked in as needed. To resolve the case, he attended court with me, walked me through what to expect and then mediated for me. I felt like I was in good hands the entire time and was able to relax as a result. The outcome was much better than I could have hoped for, and I know that that was due to Marcel's work. I enjoyed working with Marcel, would recommend him to anyone in need of an attorney and will happily contact him again if I do.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

503-869-0631