Debra Vaniman Crawford’s Reviews

Debra Vaniman Crawford

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thankful and satisfied clients.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    I am currently going through a custody battle which is stressful and time consuming and due to Mrs. Crawfords great help it has made the process a bit easier and more understandable. Her great knowledge and expertise that she has demonstrated to us is a quality that we value. She let's us know what is best for our case and has given us the peace of mind that her priority is the well being and safety of our child.

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      I appreciate your willingness to work together to do what is best for your child!

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  2. Unsatisfied

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Debra Crawford.

    I did not feel valued as a client. My phone calls were not returned in a timely fashion, and I was charged a lot of money for very little service. I was very disappointed with the outcome of my case. I would have done much better with a more attentive attorney.

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      I do not know who this person is. It appears to be a fake review. All calls are responded to. If this person has a problem with my service, I encourage them to contact me so that we can discuss it.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  3. GREAT! AWESOME! AMAZING!

    Posted by Alicia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    I would like to thank Debra for her great, amazing help she has provided me. I've enjoyed every minute of her conversations and/or meetings. I want to make sure and point out that since the very first frustrating, devastating, harsh day I found out about my issue, she was there for me, answered my questions and got on the phone that same day to get information on the other party's lawyer and or paperwork. so far till this point I would sure recommend her 110% to others. Debra listened to me and understood where I was coming from. thanks to her I've been able to continue with my life a bit better than what I expected. thank you for all you have done so far Debra and hope we keep in touch even after this issue settles. Mil Gracias

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      I know this process is tough for you and I admire the strength you show!

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  4. Understanding, knowledgeable and Affordable Lawyer

    Posted by Adrianna,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    Debra is a knowledgeable, understanding and straight forward attorney, which is what I like and need. I came to her after realizing I did not know what I was doing and was terrified of what would happen to me and my children. She is helping me to understand how the divorce process works as well how my understanding of the law is not always accurate/realistic. She is prompt to respond to any of issues I am dealing with during this divorce process. I feel confident with her every time she is representing me in court.

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      This process is not easy and I value the thought and time you put into helping with your case!

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  5. Super easy!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    Debra was great from the very beginning. She took care of everything for me quickly and responded to all my questions. I would recommend her to anyone!

  6. Difficult case

    Posted by Marites,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    I came to Debra with a difficult case. My case started back in 2002. At the time I wasn't represented so my case was never done right. She agreed to take my case even though it was a messy one. She was able to work with me and my financial situation. She is very knowledgeable and was able to help me with custody & child support. I felt at ease knowing I was being represented when court came.

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for your help in getting a great result!

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  7. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Tiffany,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    Debra made a very difficult and very scary time in my life a lot easier. She knew I was leaving to move out-of-state and continued to represent me, and again when the case got moved to another county. It was a VERY long ride, but she was phenomenal throughout the almost 3 year span. I am definitely pleased with the end result and all of the help, knowledge, and assistance Debra provided to me. Thank you so much D!!

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was a long process and I saw you grow and learn throughout the trials and tribulations!

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  8. Diligent, committed, and hard-working

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    Deb took over my high-conflict case mid-trial after another lawyer had mis-managed me into a losing situation with what should have been a strong, winning case. Many lawyers refuse to get involved in a case mid-stream, especially one as mismanaged and high-conflict as mine. That didn't stop Deb, who's motivation was to make sure my side of the case was heard.

    To that end, she worked diligently through a small mountain of existing exhibits and quickly determined where to focus our efforts so as to not waste court time and expense on trivial things. In a very short amount of time, she was able to grasp the case and not forget key details. Her mastery of the evidence and witness testimony during trial was excellent. Deb did an excellent job keeping the case "in front of her", and in trial stayed very focused on key matters. She was quick-witted and able to think on her feet as the testimony evolved, which is a VERY big deal in trial. She never allowed the opposing side to take control of the narrative, no matter how dirty they played.

    In short, Deb rescued my case from almost certain defeat. It remains to be seen if the outcome reflects it, but I can say without reservation that I feel that my case was presented professionally and in its entirety, and at the end there wasn't anything I'd wished we'd done or hadn't done. We worked hard together as client and attorney, and we "left it all on the field". My only regret in all this is I didn't find her first.

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks for being a hard-working and committed client. It's been a pleasure working with you and getting to know your family. Onward! Deb

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  9. Such a disappointment

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.

    I would not recommend Debra to anyone. I hired her to assist me in my divorce and child custody case. She was fine in the first meeting, but only a few days later she stopped returning calls in a timely fashion, she did not show up on time for appointments, and would spend the time she charge me for talking about her own personal life. I ended up losing custody of my child due to her poor management of my case.

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      The choice to have a great attitude is something nobody or no circumstance can take from you. Zig Zigler

      We never know how high we are
      Till we are called to rise;
      And then, if we are true to plan,
      Our statures touch the skies. Emily Dickinson

      This person has posted anonymously and with so little information that I do not know who it is. If this is a real review, I would appreciate it if the person would contact me to discuss what happened. The circumstances are not familiar to me and if this person lost custody, it was not “on my watch.”

      Often people present themselves to an attorney in a very favorable light to make their case seem better. Many times there are pending criminal charges such as domestic violence cases and even child abuse cases that they don’t tell the attorney about. This makes it very difficult for the attorney to adequately represent the client when the client is not forthcoming with the damaging aspects of their case.

      Custody is a particularly difficult area to practice as you have two people who once loved each other and had children together fighting tooth and nail to destroy the other person and their relationship with their children. This is very unhealthy for all involved. The court will often order that mental health professionals get involved to help the parties and the children. It is not clear if this happened in this case.

      It is healthy for clients to be able to “own” their part in the conflict and take responsibility for their actions and making their children’s lives better. This person has apparently been unable to do this. There had to have been something serious for this person to “lose” custody. The details are vague, but when a person does not have any custodial rights the court generally has a good reason for it. Even if a person has made mistakes, if the court sees that they are accepting responsibility and working on the issues they will have rights. This person is a “blamer” – one of the toxic trio outlined by Dr. Alasko in his book Emotional Bullshit. This person should accept his or her reality and work from there to better their life and the life of their child.

      A note on how I work: I prefer communications, especially between the parties to be in writing which is so convenient these days with text messages and email so there is evidence as to what was said. I also like to avoid miscommunication by having important communications with my office in writing. This eliminates conflict and lets us focus on solving the problems instead of making more.

      I also encourage mediation and counseling so that the parents can be better parents and role models for their children.

      Once again, I will be glad to discuss this person’s case with them to see what can be done at this point and to understand their point of view better.

      For information on my personal life, I happen to be in the fairly unique position of being stalked, harassed, and threatened to the point that I had to get a full 3 year restraining order against the person. See the bottom review and my website on Civil Harassment. I think this puts me in a unique position to be able to identify with clients and having their personal lives in the public record. Contact me for more information.
      Visit my website www.DebraCrawfordAnnis.com.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  10. She helped me immensely

    Posted by Rochelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Crawford.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I immediately felt at ease the first time I met Debra. She stayed by my side throughout the divorce process, explained everything clearly and helped me win at court. I can't recommend her highly enough!

    1. Debra Vaniman Crawford

      Debra Crawford

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for working so hard to help your case and for being calm and reasonable in a very unreasonable situation.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

Education, Empathy, Affordability. Full Service Law Office. We are here to help.

831-372-3900