Steven M. Chanley’s Reviews

Steven M. Chanley

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I highly recommend Steve Chanley for legal counsel...

    Posted by Michael, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Steve Chanley has been my attorney for over 10 years. From our initial meeting I felt a great deal of confidence and trust in Steve. While over the years he has advised me on many human resource issues, his most significant work with me was defending my company in a large wage-hour class action suit. He worked closely with me for months and ultimately traveled to San Francisco to represent me. Steve settled the case ethically and professionally.
    I have enormous respect for Steve Chanley and I have never doubted his advice or counsel. He listens attentively and gains a clear understanding of every issue we have discussed. Based on his experience and knowledge he is always concise in his practices and his responses to me have always been timely and thorough.
    I highly recommend Steve Chanley for legal counsel on employment and human resource matters.

  2. I recommend Steve Chanley

    Posted by Francis, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I have worked with Steve since 2002 and I can't say enough good things about him . He represented me in a trade secret case filed in Superior Court against a company traded on the New York Stock Exchange. At the time I did not think there was much hope but Steve successfully opposed every motion the opposing attorney filed in the case. He had the opposing attorney on his heels the whole time and was able to achieve a very favorable outcome.

  3. If you have to hire an attorney...he's the one!

    Posted by Heather, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am an independent contractor working as the Controller for small business manufacturing company. In this capacity I frequently have human resource issues come my way. It is never pleasant to need legal help but when this company found itself the target of serious employment allegations I was incredibly grateful they hired Steven Chanley to represent them. I was heavily involved in the process and found Mr. Chanley to be extremely knowledgeable in employment law and very personable to work with. (He even has a sense of humor!) The outcome was better than the Company could have hoped for due to Steven's expertise and experience. The Company now engages him ongoing to head off any potential issues it identifies and to strengthen it's policies. It is not an understatement to say that my client Company would have suffered greatly without Mr. Chanley's support and guidance.

  4. Excellent service, focus, and commitment--highly recommended

    Posted by Segismundo, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I solicited Steve Chanley’s services on the advice of a business associate who had a positive experience with him. This was after trying two other lawyers in my area. So, my review here is based not only on Steve's performance in and of itself, but also as it compares to others in his field with whom I have had direct experience. Simply put, Steve's performance is heads and shoulders above the others, and in fact the best experience I have ever had with any lawyer. I highly recommend Steve Chanley--and no, we are not related nor am I being paid for this review! He is just very talented, and an overall great guy- and I simply desire for him much continued success.

  5. Not Your Typical Attorney!

    Posted by Rakan, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am the President and co-owner of an Aerospace Corporation. I hired Mr. Chanley to represent the Corporation against a class action claim with the EEOC (total of 9 claims). l was extremely impressed with Mr. Chanley communication ability, responsiveness, attention to detail, competency, and professionalism. From the inception to resolution of my legal cases, Mr. Chanley took the lead in every little detail of the cases (preparation of interview/investigation questioners to meeting out of state with federal investigators). Mr. Chanley kept me always informed and I was extremely pleased with his results.

    Mr. Chanley is a very intelligent professional attorney. He continues to provide me with great insight on a wide variety of legal matters and has helped guide me in the right direction.

    I would highly, without hesitation, recommend hiring Mr. Chanley for all your employer legal matters.

  6. Talk about being there for me!

    Posted by Charles, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am a financial planner and left my job after 8 years to start my own practice. I was referred to Steve from one of his existing clients who was also very pleased with Steve's expertise. Steve was prepared, available, informative, strong, clear and absolutely decisive at my most critical points. He guided me every step of the way, communicated with the opposing attorneys, and made sure I was completely prepared for how to legally and competently defend of my interests. I would recommend Steve to anyone who needs employment and trade secret-related legal work and who wants a good connection to a real and caring attorney

  7. Caring, exceptionally sharp and balanced

    Posted by Theo, a Commercial Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Commercial matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr Chanley is a top notch lawyer. I've had to work with lawyers many times in litigious matters and nobody has filled the role with such a great combination of care and intelligence. I immediately built a trust that he was not in it simply to pad his billing hours. Rather, he wanted to find a resolution to the matter that made the most sense for me by being pragmatic. He always kept in mind the bigger picture of solving the dispute with the least amount of heartache and time if this made the most sense, but also pushing hard against the opposition if this made the most sense. And I had this strong sense of confidence in Mr. Chanley's knowledge and clarity in what was the right path to take, yet I always knew that the choice was mind to make ultimately. He is very intelligent, and resourceful. But for me, most importantly, I always felt safe, cared about, and represented very professionally. In short, I WAS IN VERY GOOD HANDS.!

  8. Client Review

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Chanley.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steven Chanley is an outstanding attorney. I have complete faith that when legal issues arise within my company, he will provide me with sound legal solutions. Steve is extremely easy to talk to and fully explains, to my understanding, the procedures and processes involved in the issues. I highly recommend his services.