Jasen Bodie Nielsen’s Reviews

Jasen Bodie Nielsen

Average Rating

Based on 52 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Intelligent, Reliable, and all around AMAZING!!

    Posted by Amy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 1-6 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jasen is the best and I am so glad I had him to help me with this process. I was losing my mind a few days after I got my DUI and I had no idea what to do from there. DMV letters and arrest paperwork couldn't be more confusing. Jasen was the second lawyer I called after getting a ridiculously high quote from another local lawyer. He talked me down after being very overwhelmed by the unknown and told me the first steps we needed to take. He explained everything step by step that we needed to do to take care of my DUI. Not once did I have any doubts. Then when the DMV came at me with a negligent operator charge, Jasen represented me at DMV court and got me my restricted license for work, which I desperately needed. I never waited more than ten minutes for a response to an email, text, or phone call. Any question or concern was always answered right away which I think is one of a kind these days. I couldn't have asked for a better lawyer. Thank you Jasen!!

  2. Best Possible Experience (Minor in Possession)

    Posted by Jake, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 1-6 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Hiring Jasen Nielsen was the best experience. I am 18 years old and just graduated high school. I got a minor in possession of alcohol for buying from a store. At first I thought it was no big deal and would just be a fine but after looking more into it I realized that the charge comes with an automatic 1 year license suspension with a guilty plead which horrified me. I decided to look into getting a lawyer and after talking to Jasen I knew I would hire him because he has the fairest prices and I could relate to him the most. He had an immediate plan and was able to delay the trial until summer so I could drive through my senior school year. Ventura county is one of the strictest counties in the nation with this charge and do not offer any diversion programs to keep your license which was discouraging but when the court date came around Jasen knew exactly what to do. When we got in the court room the judge immediately called Jasen by his first name and joked around with him. He knows many people in the field and how to deal with these situations because he used to be a District Attorney in Ventura County. He talked to the prosecuting officer and told him the situation with the license suspension and showed him some of my accomplishments such as my transcript and college acceptance letters and was able to talk him into dismissing the case! Jasen always kept me informed on what the next move was and was so good at returning my emails. I think I got a response within 10 minutes for every question. He made me feel comfortable in what was the most stressful situation before hiring him. He is so knowledgable in the field and very trustworthy. I am so thankful to Jasen and now I get to drive all of my senior summer and next school year at college. I would refer my family and friends to him anyday. Do yourself a favor and hire Jasen Nielsen you will not regret it.

  3. I Highly Recommend Jasen Nielsen

    Posted by Laurie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 6-12 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am a stay-at-home mother of four children, and recently found myself in a situation I never thought I'd be in, and charged with a DUI. I lucked out in getting Jasen Nielsen as my attorney. From the very first moment I spoke to him on the phone, I knew I wanted him to represent me. Jasen is tremendously knowledgeable in his field, but was also great at explaining the process to me, a novice, each and every step of the way. He was an expedient communicator, always returning calls or emails promptly. But most importantly, I could not have been more thrilled with the outcome of my case. I am certain that Jasen got the best possible result for me, and I could not be more thrilled or grateful.

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Sandra, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 6-12 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Jasen is an excellent criminal defense attorney. He was readily accessible, knowledgable in the law and professional at all times. He not only is a superb DUI defense attorney but also helped my son in a complicated driving with a suspended license case. Not only did Jasen achieve an excellent outcome but he also kept us informed and comfortable with the entire legal process. I would highly recommend Jasen to anyone involved in a criminal or traffic case.

  5. Dui and Expungement

    Posted by Amanda, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 6-12 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired Jasen after a recommendation from a friend. He was extremely knowledge about DUI's and very detailed in explaining my case and what the best and worst possible outcomes were. He was available throughout the entire process to answer any questions I had. Jasen was able to get my case reduced to a wet reckless. Once I received my final decision from the court, he explained everything that I needed to do in order to finalize my case and get off probation. After 2 years, I emailed him to ask about expungement. He responded quickly and was very helpful in getting me the information I needed. I again hired Jasen to continue with my case during the expungement process. He was on top of the case and ensured the court received my information the day I got off probation. He then followed up with the court and me to get the final decision. He kept in contact throughout both the DUI and expungement process which showed me he truly cared about my case and I was not just "another case" to him. I am thankful for Jasen, he was very professional and successful with my case. He went out of his way to help me and was successful in the process which now is behind me and allows me to live my life.

  6. 'Cream Always Rises '

    Posted by Lynda, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 6-12 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I heard about Jasen from several people who raved about him. It's very comforting to know others were eager to recommend someone so willingly. We got along immediately from the first phone call. He was very confident about what he could do without being cocky. He explained the whole process from start to finish in a way I could easily understand. I was impressed with getting an appointment in a couple of days. He welcomed me with a great smile and firm handshake. All of my questions were answered and he promised the process would not be as bad as I thought. His advice worked about all I needed to do. Said he would call to follow up after every step of the way and he did. Always on time too. All the paperwork wasn't so foreign because he laid it out so I could better understand. I trusted him when he told me what to expect and it all happened the way he said. He attended the court dates and got all paperwork to me on time. I got a phone call from him after every one explaining what happened and what to expect next.It was almost too easy. One day I told him I was having a hard time personaly and he asked why I didn't call him so he could put my fears aside ! When court dates arrived he was as confident and uplifting as a good friend. His knowledge of the system eased my mind. Answered every question, even the "what if's" flawlessly, I've told everyone I know about his impeccable services and kind and patient way. Jasen's fee was incredibly reasonable for the services I received. He earned his pay and more.Every attorney should leave his client feeling the way I do. This man is "A List".

  7. Thank You Jasen!

    Posted by Leah, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 1-3 years ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jasen was amazing from every aspect. I received a DUI when I was 18 and had no idea what to expect or what to do. So my parents and I decided to hire Jasen to help us through the process. He was very trustworthy, honest, open and comforting throughout this awful experience. He went to all the court dates and aided me through everything making it very clear what was needed and expected of me. I was able to pay all the fines, complete the classes and all other sentences in one year. I then had to hire Jasen for a second time when I was applying for nursing school the following year. The problem was that I could not be enrolled in the program if I was on probation. Jasen went to court with me in hopes of early termination of my probation. With Jasen's help I was able to get off probation after ONLY 13 MONTHS! Now that I am finishing nursing school, I am still extremely grateful for everything that he did for me, and I know if I ever had a question he would answer it promptly. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Jasen to anyone. Thanks again Jasen!

  8. Honest, reliable, informative and just amazing - Highly recommend Jasen

    Posted by Francisco, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 6-12 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jasen is tenacious, smart, honest, and a trusted advisor and an all around great guy. From the moment that I contacted him, he acted with compassion, provided tremendous piece of mind and instilled great confidence in me that I would get through this ordeal. Jasen was always readily available when needed, clearly communicated options, advice and strategy throughout the process. Jasen felt like a partner truly interested in the best outcome for me and nothing else. In the end, Jasen helped to deliver a favorable outcome for my difficult case.
    I would strongly recommend Jasen to anyone in need.

  9. Straight-forward, responsible, and timely....

    Posted by CJ, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 6-12 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    At a time in my life where dealing with a DUI case was not....shall we say, "convenient" - at all - Jasen helped me to deal with the charges, while keeping the issue as minor in my life as possible. In our first couple conversations, he was effective in finding out who I am, what resources I could offer in fighting charges, and where I was in life so that he could best serve my needs. Shortly after arraignment - which he attended to responsibly without me - he hosted me in his office and explained my situation in clear terms. He left open the possibility of fighting the charges, while describing to me the best of "other options" - ones perhaps wiser for me (modest income, young and freshly graduated) to pick from. I went with a plea deal and within a day of the trial, Jasen called me with good news: my conviction had been reduced to W&R, and my other count had been dropped(I had 2 counts, A and B). All in all, his work saved me months of license suspension difficulty, a pretty penny in court fees and class times, and, perhaps most impressively (considering his effective work in the case), $4000 in legal fees compared to several other attorneys I reached out to. Hopefully I will never have to, but I would contact Jasen regarding representation if similar circumstances ever arose again.

  10. Jasen Nielsen is an incredible lawyer

    Posted by Michele, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jasen Nielsen.
    • I hired Jasen 6-12 months ago.
    • Jasen handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    About a year ago, I ran into a series of unfortunate events with the law, due to some bad decisions on my part. I was charged with two drunk in publics. With my first one I just pled guilty because I didn't really know any better. When I got the second one I knew that I needed professional help! That's when I was fortunate enough to be referred to Jasen Nielsen! He is hands down the most respectable, trustworthy, driven and helpful lawyer I have ever come into contact with! He also is very timely with his work and always responds right away to emails and calls. He was able to get the second drunk in public dismissed for me! He is currently working to get my first one expunged! I am so greatful to have found such an amazing lawyer and I would refer him to anyone and everyone!

Call now for a free consultation.

805-564-4384