Joseph Torri’s Reviews

Joseph Torri

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND JOSEPH TORRI

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.

    I was referred by a friend to Joseph Torri that hired him for his case, I was very happy with the service he gave me, having him in court with me helped me get custody of my child.
    I would highly recommend Joseph Torri for legal services

  2. Great PI Attorney

    Posted by Bonnie Ann, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Torri law office to handle my personal injury case. I was impressed the moment I walked into his office. The office staff was professional knowledgeable and friendly. I have never been involved with a personal injury case so I wasn't quit sure what to expect. Anytime I had a question or I was unclear about anything Mr. Torri was quick to respond to phone calls and answer any questions or concerns I had. I would highly recommend him.

  3. Great Attorney

    Posted by Tamra, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Torri is an excellent attorney. Divorce is hard enough without worrying about the legal aspects especially when children are involved. When I retained Mr. Torri the stresses with regards to the legal aspects were eliminated. He was professional and was precise with his legal advice. He made a hard situation bearable. I would highly recommend him. Thanks Mr. Torri

  4. Pro Per Vs Having His name on Record?

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.

    This problem with I see is that when you first visit the office is that they need to ensure the clients that they fully understand the options being offered at this office.

    To Try and save the client money you can pay the legal assist to fill out your responses to file in court which they will list as PRO PER (which means you will represent youself) because the legal assistant filled out the response/s. But when the court date arrives you can pay the lawyers to represent you THE DAY OF THE COURT HEARING. I feel if the lawyers if going to represent you in court the DAY OF it should be listed as ON RECORD because the lawyer if being paid to appear in court. They are nice people but although Mr. Torri's profile list 8 years.....the questions remains as to how long has he actually practiced FAMILY LAW. Getting in touch with him is not easy and even if you leave a message for either the Receptionsit, Legal Assistant or Lawyers to call you back they both never do and you have to call them back. I realize they are busy and trying to handle as many clients as possible but they still need to set aside some time thoughout the day to return calls. Even if it means having the receiptionist call back and state that the lawyer was called back to court, etc. As for why the legal assistant would not return a call is beyond me as she resides in the office pretty much all day. Perhaps she just doesn't want to deal with the call at the end of day and is just ready to call it day. Part of being in the legal field is putting in that time but I guess because you are not hiring the lawyers full time then he will just get back to you when he can but I would think if you had the money to retain is services full time he is available to take your call at whatever time. Although Mr. Torri is very nice I know I would rather pay for an experienced Family Lawyer. From what I have read on him he started practicing family law in 2009 and received his license to practice law in 2004. I do wish him well as gains more experience in Family Law. :)

  5. Torri law Firm is amazing

    Posted by Lori Vazquez, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joseph Torri and his paralegal Mercedes Fernandez are amazing. Im a 19 year old single mother i had child custody and child support issues,so i really needed legal advice. I was reffered by a friend, when i had my first legal consultation with Joseph and Mercedes, they made me feel like i was making the right decision to leave my case in their hands. Now when it was time for me to go to court i was relaxed because i knew that Joseph was not gonna stop till he gave me the words that i wanted to hear from the judge (which were you have sole legal and physical custody of your child and the father gets no visitations). And i was relieved at the end because that was exactly what the judge said. Now im happy with my daughter and dont have to worry about any custody issues, thanks to Joseph Torri and Mercedes Fernandez. I would definately go back to Torri Law Firm For any further Legal Issues i may come across in my future.

  6. Thank goodness for Joe Torri

    Posted by Joy, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am not sure I clicked the correct info above. He should be rated
    EXCELLENT in everything. We were referred to Joseph Torri and it was our lucky day! He was able to have all the charges against our daughter dropped! Yes -
    dropped! After years of problems - Joe stepped in and took care of everything. Not only that - he has continued to follow-up to see how our daughter is doing.

  7. He Must Have Paid for These Other Reviews

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He was recommended to me for a divorce and he didn't have a CLUE. He took my money upfront, knowing he had no experience in this field. Eventually, he did give me the money back, but told me if I ever wanted to use him again, his retainer would be $10,000! LOL He isn't worth $10. He was hard to contact and was working out of some shady paralegal's office. There are just too many attorneys in the Valley to use someone like this guy.

    1. Joseph Torri

      Joseph Torri

      Lawyer Comment:

      Attorney Response - The name of this unhappy person is Kathleen Munoz. Since she won’t put her name out there for people to see it, I will. It is only fair, and I have every right to do so since she opened the door. I WAS NEVER HER ATTORNEY. Since her Psychologist’s office is next door to a paralegal office, Kathleen Munoz hired a paralegal office to assist with her divorce paperwork. Kathleen Munoz represented herself in a pro per status because she could not afford the services of an attorney. Kathleen was informed by me and the paralegal that I was not her attorney. Kathleen Munoz wanted legal advice about her husband’s offer for a divorce settlement. I informed Kathleen that the offer from her then husband was more than reasonable, but she did not like my answer. The truth hurts, especially when her husband wanted a divorce. Although the truth hurts, that does not mean I am clueless.

      I understand people generally get angry and desire blood when a spouse wants a divorce. People are human. However, it is the lawyer that needs to be a neutral person and give appropriate legal advice no matter how much it hurts the person. I spent over four hours with Kathleen Munoz because she was distraught about her husband’s departure. Since I do a lot of pro bono legal work for the community, I DID NOT CHARGE FOR THE LEGAL ADVICE. People don’t have to have a lawyer represent them to get legal advice.

      Since Kathleen Munoz was referred by her Psychologist to the paralegal, Kathleen wanted a lawyer to appear on a limited scope basis to attend any possible future court dates since she had anxiety and other issues that I won’t disclose (even though she opened the door with this complaint and I’m allowed to). Kathleen would still be representing herself in a pro per status, but I would speak to the parties in court due to her anxiety and issues. I OFFER THESE SERVICES TO POOR PEOPLE BECAUSE EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE ACCESS TO LEGAL HELP. I needed a family lawyer when I was younger, and I know what it’s like not to have a huge retainer to pay the lawyer.

      These services are not unlimited. Clients that pay an hourly fee can reach me at night. Kathleen Munoz paid me $500 — that’s right, only five hundred dollars to have me help her out on a limited scope basis, not attorney of record. I consider that a bargain flat fee to have the assistance of a lawyer while she appears on a pro per status. This is what I do sometimes for people. Since Kathleen realized that I would not breach my ethical duties as a lawyer by causing unnecessary and wasted court dates, she wanted her $500 back. I would have appeared for her at court, but frivolous hearings are unethical and frowned upon by the court. In fact, a person can even be sanctioned by the court for filing frivolous hearings. I promptly refunded the $500. I handle pro bono cases because I want to help people and make a difference in my community. My credibility with the court is important to me, and I wouldn’t want anything to do with her again even if the fee was $100,000.00 or more.

      Posted over 3 years ago. Flag

  8. Great Job

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Was courteous and professional. Was truly concerned about clients welfare and case outcome. Very informative and honest. Told us what to expect (good and bad possibilities). Client had misdemeaner violations. violation of probations in 2 cases and facing jail time. Results were amazing. We would recomend him without any hesitation.

  9. Defended us against a wrongful eviction

    Posted by M+M Nichols, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I are business owners in Palm Springs. We were renting a home that was supposed to go into foreclosure. A court appointed receiver came in and evicted us even though we paid ontime everytime. We lost our deposit and had to up and move our 2 children and find immediate housing before the sheriffs took all of our belongings. Unfortunately we got a judge who did not know that in California you can not put a late fee on a 3 day notice which made it invalid. But Joe Torri and Mercedes were there by our sides. Mercedes is the Erin Brockovich of the desert. She is a fighter very knowledgable and friendly. You want them on your side. You can not afford not to go to court without them. Thanks guys for your work YOU ROCK!

  10. Truly the Best Lawyer

    Posted by Merci, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Torri.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have been doing business in the Riverside County for the past 17 years. I have sat in on proceedings for Criminal and Family Law that Mr.Torri has been the Attorney. I have been highly impressed with his clean, fresh appearance, and his inteligence to defend his clients. I am a future law student, and will approach him one day to teach me to be as good as he is in my opinion. He appears to be approachable, and an Attorney that truly acts upon the best inetersts of his client. I would recommend him to everone, and I know he would represent his clients diligently and equally.