Joseph Mark Lovretovich’s Reviews

Joseph Mark Lovretovich

Average Rating

Based on 29 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. HIGHLY recommended - Wrongful Termination - Thank you JML

    Posted by Jeff,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Lovretovich.

    JML is an honest, knowledgeable, ethical and highly experienced law firm.

    I was wrongfully terminated and a friend referred to me JML - this friend also had a great experience with JML.

    My case, as many do, took more than year. We had several depositions and three rounds of mediation. JML was always on time, prepared and on point with every meeting.

    In the end, we we settled the case in the mediation #3 and received 20x more then their first original offer - a great outcome. JML was so good in fact, my previous employer ended up hiring them for some of their other work.

    Also worth noting, JML took my case on 100% contingency and I have since referred two friends who also had very successful settlement outcomes.

    Thank you JML. I HIGHlY recommend your firm.

  2. Hope for the best, plan for the worst

    Posted by Delanie,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joseph Lovretovich.

    My case: I was the victim of two incidents of raw sewage overflow to my one and only bathroom in my townhouse; one incident occurred while I was three months pregnant. Having felt the sting of an unresponsive homeowners' association, to what I felt were very real damages, I contacted several law firms. I was told by many that I had a great case, but unfortunately they all wanted a large retainer fee up front, which I as a single mom could not pay. Enter in JML law firm.

    The Pros - JML was the only law firm who would take my case on contingency.

    The Cons - From the start I felt the process was a bit slow to start (judgment was filed in December 2012, my case settled in December 2014); however, I was glad to have someone represent me and I made my expectations very clear from the beginning.

    My confidence and expectations in JML were put to the test during my mediation (January 2014). Both of my attorneys were late, one by thirty minutes. I was told several times, and even received a handout, about the importance of being on time to my mediation; so I felt let down when my attorneys were not there when expected.

    Thankfully, I came prepared to the mediation with a clearly labeled folder outlining my case. My attorney wasn't as prepared. He had papers strewn out of a folder, making it very difficult to locate the appropriate papers when asked by the mediator. My preparations proved useful when the mediator came to me for the supporting documents of my case.

    My contact after the mediation was mostly by e-mail, my preference so I had a paper trail. However, e-mails weren't always returned and if they were it was after several days and sometimes weeks later. I was told by my attorney to call the office and not e-mail if I wanted a prompt response. I understood this; however, this is the main reason for me writing this review.

    During one such phone call, I was told my total portion of the settlement. After receiving an e-mail with a total different than the one stated to me over the phone, my attorney stated he would inquire about the amount he had mentioned but thought it unlikely I would receive that amount.

    I don't believe JML law firm is a bad law firm, it has just been my experience that they did not instill a sense of confidence, knowledge and promptness I felt I deserved. Although, like I said before they were the only law firm who would take my case on contingency. For that, I am truly grateful. If I could impart a piece of information to anyone going through the legal system – always get it in writing.

  3. Straightforward, Honest, and Knowledgeable

    Posted by Megan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Lovretovich.

    I have had the pleasure of having Mr. Lovretovich represent me. I appreciated and respected his hands-on representation along with his candor coupled with his depth of knowledge. Joe is always responsive and I always knew where we were in the proceedings, the potential outcomes, as well as the obstacles that may be forthcoming. I respect and trust him completely and he is always my first recommendation for anyone needing legal representation in his areas of expertise.

  4. Excellent and experienced representation

    Posted by Richard, a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Lovretovich.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Lovretovich accepted my wrongful termination case in July 2012 on contingency. I worked primarily with Bradley Benham who is patient and competent beyond words. Mr. Lovretovich is a highly experienced attorney who really understands how to effectively settle a dispute. He and Mr. Benham walked me through every step of the legal and mediation process. In the end, Mr. Lovretovich was able to achieve an absolutely stunning result that is going to allow me to put my life back together after years of hardship. This firm has overwhelming integrity, very prudent spending greatly minimized expenses and helped maximize my recovery. I strongly recommend Mr. Lovretovich and his firm for legal representation.!

  5. Great Service

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Lovretovich.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very prompt and thorough service. Reviewed an employment contract and I needed it on a strict deadline; returned it with great feedback, questions for my organization and amendments related to areas of concerns. I was armed with a great deal of insight for my negotiations.

  6. Unprofessional and disrespectful to his clients...

    Posted by a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joseph Lovretovich.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I waited almost 3 months for Mr. Lovretovich to send me to an Orthopedic Surgeon for my back surgery. He never did. He claimed "it's hard finding a doctor to take a worker's compensation patient". I would send Mr. Lovretovich an e-mail(his preferred way of contacting him) of crucial questions I needed answered for my case. It would take him over 1 week to return my e-mails. If I called him he would tell me "let me get back to you later today". I wouldn't hear back from him for another week! He never mentioned a worker's compensation attorney down in Orange County (who I would never meet)would be handling my claim. The Orange County office was referring me out to a Chiropractor and physical therapy appointments for a back so severely injured I needed back surgery(per a very reputable Orthopedic at Kaiser)! Thank God I had enough medical knowledge and common sense not to go to a Chiropractor visit. A chiropractor could have done serious injury to my back that has bone on bone discs, and ruptured discs into nerves! Mr. Lovreetovich sent me to an MRI facility. Not once but twice they were running 2 to 2 1/2 hours behind. I could not wait as I had a dentist appointment for a broken crown. Mr. Lovretovich sent me a disrespectful, very mean e-mail claiming I should have canceled my dentist appointment(with broken crown) and waited the 2 1/2 hours for my MRI. He said they were "jumping through hoops" to service me, which couldn't be farther from the truth! I sent him an e-mail saying I would not jeopardize my health because of an MRI facility not capable of properly booking patients. I also told him I surely did not see his firm "jumping through hoops" and his law office was giving me "mediocre service at best". Mr. Lovretovich sent me an e-mail telling me to get another attorney. I noticed on other review sites he has done this to other clients before. His unprofessionalism is unacceptable. I lost 3 months of salary waiting for him to get anything done on my case.

  7. Great attorney

    Posted by Judy, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Lovretovich.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joe is the best. He stuck with us through 3 years of legal jarnegan. His staff is warm and friendly especially his investigator. A knowledgeable attorney with abilities that exceed and surpass the average attorney. Would use again and again if ever needed. A fair man with integrity.

  8. Joseph Lovretovich

    Posted by Jessica,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Lovretovich.

    Joseph Lovretovich and his team were great. They really helped me alot
    and gave me peace with my situation. They made me feel comfortable
    And apart of the family. I would recommend this law firm to everyone I know.

  9. Update Review: They Have Acknowledged Lack of Communication

    Posted by Marcus, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Joseph Lovretovich.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    This is an update review to my previous one. I didn't see a way to update my previous review, so I thought I would write another one.

    So after leaving my previous review on Avvo, I was immediately contacted by one of the attorneys working on my case, via email. He acknowledged my frustration and my complaints and apologized for the lack of communication from their law office.

    We scheduled an appointment to meet at their Woodland Hills office, which is approximately a 60 mile drive for me, one way, to go over my case and meet in person. Unfortunately they were not able to meet me at their Orange County office, where I originally met with them.

    The day of the meeting in Woodland Hills, I met with the attorney that contacted me, and he was very courtesy and apologetic for the lack of communication. He re-assured me moving forward they will keep me informed about my case and will make sure that whatever the reason for the lack of communication, they will work to make sure it doesn't happen again.

    We spent some quality time going over my case and making sure all of my questions were answered. He was very professional and took his time. I didn't feel rushed at all.

    After we were done, he brought in another senior attorney, that is part of the team working on my case, for introduction. He was very cordial and also apologetic for the lack of communication. He provided me with direct contact information and encouraged me to contact him directly if I should need too.

    I am overall pleased with the way they acknowledged my frustration and realized their lack of communication. This helps rebuild the client and business relationship.

    I will post another review update as my case comes to an end.

  10. Spotty to No communication regarding case. They leave you in the dark.

    Posted by Marcus, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joseph Lovretovich.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Based on my personal experience, this Law office has horrible customer service. They took my case over six months ago and I am still in the dark about my case. They sent me a couple of emails and that's it. I have left numerous messages and sent emails requesting updates on my case. I have yet to get a response.

    Perhaps I may be an isolated event, however, I would never recommend JML Law to any of my friends or family. I wouldn't recommend them to you either.

    The only reason I contacted them in the first place was because of the reviews that were left here from reviewers. Well, I'm not sure what the hell happened with my case, but, I wouldn't take a chance with them. It may cost you a lot of Money!

818-610-8800