Matthew J Ruff’s Reviews

Matthew J Ruff

Average Rating

Based on 48 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. All-Star: Matthew J. Ruff!

    Posted by George, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matt totally went to bat for me! I found out that I had an outstanding warrant from a 12 year old case.
    He was able to get the community service(that never went through - even though i did it) converter to a fine. He also appeared for me as I don't reside in LA. :) I paid the fine and all is clear! :)

    Thanks Matt!

  2. Out-Of-State DUI

    Posted by Daryl, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Matthew Ruff in May 2013 to represent me in a DUI Case. I travel frequently for work & at the time of the citation, I had a out-of-state residence, and needed local CA resource that I could depend on while I was away weekly.

    After retaining his services, we were in constant "Real-Time" Communication for any and all information regarding my case. If we were not able to speak Real-Time, he always provided options for when we could speak, and/or timelines for any deliverables.

    Throughout the duration of my case, I was not asked to make any court appearances, nor adjusted my work schedule to accommodate any meetings.

    After a year of Hard Work, and discussions with the DA, Matthew Ruff was able to provide me with THE BEST possible outcome for my case, with no jail time, and provided me with online resources to complete any requirements to satisfy the court after the case closed.

    To date, I have not had the pleasure of meeting him. I have only corresponded with him via email/phone.

    I highly recommend his services to anyone! He is dependable, reliable, and most of all capable of great works!!

    Thank You Matt!!! My Warmest Aloha to you and your family!!! Mahalo Nui Loa!
    -Daryl

  3. Happy client

    Posted by Zoilo, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thank you Mr Ruff! After working with several different lawyers over the years; I have come to expect certain things. Mr Ruff has lived up to those expectations. He was always a phone call away! He always kept me informed and shared any info he had at any given time. With the deck stacked against me he never wavered! I had a great outcome! In the end I couldn't ask for any thing more. I will definitely refer you to others as others have referred him to me by past happy clients. Thanks again M. Ruff!!!

  4. With Mr. Ruff's expertise, our son was found not guilty of his 23140 Infraction

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Our 19 year old son was pulled over early in the morning for a tail light that was out, and based on his look and the time of day, he was asked if he had been drinking, was breathalyzed once and blew a .05%, was given a citation for being under the influence of alcohol under the age of 21 (Code Sec. 23140), and told to take a cab home. He was not arrested. We first spoke to a couple of other attorneys recommended by friends, who told us it was almost 100% positive that our son would lose his license for a year and very likely we would also pay the full fine. Mr. Ruff's reviews impressed us so we called him and he agreed to take our case and thought we had a shot based on the situation. After the court delayed the hearing over the course of a few months, eventually Mr. Ruff was heard and our son was found not guilty of any of the charges, we paid no fines, and his driver's license was reinstated. It did not require an appearance by us or our son. Several times throughout the course of the proceedings, we received various communications from the court and DMV which were confusing and contradictory; however, once we spoke to Mr. Ruff about each one, we understood where the case stood. We would highly recommend his skills as an attorney.

  5. 0.21 BAC reduced to reckless driving

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired Matthew to handle my DUI charge with 0.21 BAC. Negotiating with 3 separate prosecutors over a 7 month span, Matthew secured a plea bargain for reduction in charge to reckless driving (prior-able). I cannot say enough about his professionalism, consistency, and tenacity – not to mention steep network within the LA court system. I think it highly unlikely that I could have achieved this dramatically positive result with any other lawyer that I considered. I recommend Matthew Ruff for those seeking the very best legal counsel.

  6. Honest, Caring, Reliable

    Posted by Dmtriy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I have hired Matthew Ruff in a number of cases of the past few years and I have to say, I don't know what I would have done without him.
    His performance and delivery in and out of the courtroom was nothing short of miraculous in my eyes.
    First of all, the gentleman is well over 6'3 -- his presence is definitely noticed in the courtroom. He knows all the key players in the courtrooms whether that be the DA, the judge, and his twenty years of experience is very noticeable.
    I had some pretty serious cases and Matthew has managed to help me get them dismissed of squashed down to petty offences.

    I will never forget one time when he facilitated and mediated a private conversation between the DA and me. Now, I don't know about you, but I don't know that many lawyers that have that much pull in the courtroom,

    When Mr. Ruff walks into the courtroom he is friendly, well mannered, strategic, charismatic and of course greatly influential and convincing,

    He believes in his clients and he will do whatever it takes to make sure they are properly defended and taken care of.

    I have a couple of pending cases even today that I have to deal with-- but with Matthew at my side, I am confident it will be resolved in a decent manner.

  7. Extraordinary Result!

    Posted by Paul, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I am sure it's not everyday that an attorney can say he got a DUI case dismissed with a .15 BAC but Matthew did it here. Here's what happened: Stopped because cop says the headlights were off, pulled out of the car, told to do drunk tests on side of the road, arrested and taken to the station where a breath test was given with a .15. Matthew got a DMV hearing to fight the case and he found that the paperwork was not done right. His arguments at the hearing resulted in case being thrown out, the DMV judge did not even care about the breath test. License was returned within a week. There is a reason why Matthew Ruff has a 10 rating.

  8. Won't settle until you're satisfied

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I have never been in trouble in my life, and after being arrested for a DUI I didn't know where to turn. I researched local lawyers and Mr. Ruff was highly rated, and now I know why. He is very knowledgeable about how to handle DUI cases, and kept me informed every step of the way. Instead of just settling for a DUI, he fought hard and got the charges down to a non-alcohol related Reckless Driving. This means I have no priorable alcohol charges on my record, and I can get it expunged in the near future as part of my deal. I am so happy that this ordeal is over, and I'm glad I hired someone who was willing to keep fighting for me. I would recommend him to any of my friends or family. Thank you again Mr. Ruff for all of your help!!

  9. Keep your money

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Reading all these positive reviews made me wonder if this was the same lawyer that I retained to defend my DUI case a while back. But it is him alright. Matt Ruff came off as very professional and knowledgable over the phone and in person the first time I met him, before I handed him the money of course. After I retained him, it was a different story.

    While he was responsive (returning most of my phone calls), his service was lacking. I felt like I had to do most of the work myself. He did not prep me before we had the DMV hearing nor before the court date. There was not much a fight/bargain as he suggested that I should accept a nolo with the standard fees and probationary terms. I could have gotten that myself.

    I tried to justify, to myself, the money that I paid to him by reasoning that one should always get a lawyer in a criminal case like this. After all that's said and done, I could have gotten better use with that money. While Mr. Ruff certainly has one of the cheapest rates in town, the saying "you get what you pay for" still holds true.

  10. "Lawyer Swag"

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Ruff.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I started fighting my DUI with a different attorney who, unfortunately, passed away. Matthew Ruff was kind enough to pick up where that good gentleman left off, despite having an already full caseload. While waiting outside the courtroom to speak with him about my case for the first time, I saw another attorney approach him and ask him for advice; that's when I knew I had the right man on my side. When my brothers, (who were also my witnesses), saw him for the first time they joked that he had "lawyer swag". He was very confident and when facing a criminal case you want someone who is confident in their ability. I was ridiculously nervous but he never seemed to be, and that helped put me a little more at ease. When I was at my wits end and just wanted it to be over, I was willing to take the wet reckless that was being offered. He told me he never recommends someone take a deal just because they're frustrated. And I'm so glad that I didn't. When I think back to all of the people I watched stand up in front of the judge, their lawyer beside them, plead guilty or no contest I'm thankful for the fact that I had Matt. He could've let me take the plea so he didn't have to deal with a trial. As I sat on the freeway yesterday I thought about the fact that I could be without a license right now. I could be on my way to court-ordered DUI classes instead of on my way home to pick my daughter up for her Girl Scout meeting. That could have been me, stuck paying tons of money that I don't have in fines and court fees. Instead, my case didn't even make it to trial because of a motion Mr. Ruff filed that the judge granted, and my case was dismissed. This whole ordeal was one of the worst experiences of my life - I'd never been to court for even a traffic ticket and had now been arrested and spent Christmas day in jail instead of with my children. The stress of wondering what was going to happen and whether or not I would ever be able to get a teaching job once I finished my program was emotionally exhausting. Matt Ruff has my most sincere gratitude for bringing it to an end and restoring my piece of mind. I truly can't thank him enough.