Dorothy G Bunce’s Reviews

Dorothy G Bunce

Average Rating

Based on 44 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I have made many mistakes but choosing Dorothy Bunce was NOT one of them.

    Posted by David, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-6 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After getting myself in deep financial trouble and enduring countless sleepless nights, I finally threw in the towel and decided bankruptcy was probably my only workable option. First I purchased a thick book about how to file Chapter 7 bankruptcy without an attorney. I read it cover to cover twice. Then I searched online to see what others have experienced. Through reading on this website and many others, I concluded that going it alone is rarely a good idea. So being a frugal guy at heart plus having very limited funds available, I next researched the concept of hiring someone at a deeply discounted rate. Again, after hours of reading other people's experiences, I concluded that one generally gets what one pays for when seeking legal help. Please read for yourself some of the horror stories posted online by people who hired the cheapest price law firm.

    Due to the excellent reviews I found for Dorothy Bunce, I decided to call for the free consultation. After fully explaining my financial nightmare, she agreed that Chapter 7 bankruptcy was the best option for me. Much to my surprise, there were no high pressure sales pitches or pressure to sign immediately. I was most impressed with the way Ms. Bunce conducts herself and, after a few more days of fretting, I had confidence that retaining her would be a good decision. She has handled thousands of bankruptcies in her 30+ years experience.

    I am now so relieved that my choice was the correct one. Ms. Bunce did a stellar job throughout the whole process and I continue to be impressed with her. I am grateful for her help. I am glad to say that everything went smoothly and I now have my discharge. Can't argue with success!

  2. Satisfied Client

    Posted by Jared, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-6 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We are currently a client and we are just waiting for our case to be finalized and charged off by the courts. Dorothy Bunce is an excellent bankruptcy attorney, my husband and I filed for BK and was very nervous about the whole process and our upset creditors. But Dorothy was easy to deal with, kept us right on cue through all the steps. She was quick and right on the ball with processing everything and was very easy to communicate with. Dorothy made this process for us so much easier and gave us a peace of mind to get through it. We highly recommend her services!

  3. Honest and Fair

    Posted by jameskeoijsio, a Maritime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-6 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Admiralty / Maritime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are looking for a knowledgeable and effective attorney who not only really cares but is accessible to her clients, Dorothy Bunce is who you need know! She is honest and fair in all of her dealings and will go out of her way to help you. SHE IS SIMPLY THE BEST!

    1. Dorothy G Bunce

      Dorothy G Bunce

      Lawyer Comment:

      I can only assume that James made an incorrect selection of the services I provide when filling out his review as I do not handle Admiralty or Maritime matters. I do appreciate your confidence in me, James!

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  4. financial problems

    Posted by gary, a Credit Card Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Credit Card Fraud matter.

    After consulting with Dorothy Bunce about my financial problems, I couldn't tell which choice she wanted me to make. The other bankruptcy attorneys I met with all said they recommended bankruptcy, but Dorothy described how debt settlement worked and even explained what could happen if I did nothing. So I asked for her recommendation & she said it was entirely my decision, but pointed out what things might influence me to decide one way or another. I am not used to having a lawyer treat me with this level of respect and showing me that she knew I was smart enough to make my own decision

  5. good

    Posted by andyan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.

    I called Dorothy Bunce after seeing an article she published about debt collector telephone calls. I didn't realize that she worked in Las Vegas and wasn't able to give me any advice about Michigan law. Even though she couldn't take my case, she returned my call right away & gave me the name of an attorney in my community to contact for advice.

  6. I Need More Stars

    Posted by Kaye, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    After losing my marriage and a job, I was drowning in debt. I had actually considered suicide. I know that sounds overly dramatic, but it's the truth. Finally getting up the nerve to seek legal advice, I saw two other attorneys in town. I left their offices hopeless and in tears. I then found Dorothy. My self esteem was already through the floor, but Dorothy made me feel that everything was not my fault. We discussed my situation and possible solutions over a cup of coffee at her office. I immediately felt like I was talking with a trusted old friend. She never made me feel bad or questioned how I got myself into such a financial pickle! And don't be fooled by her niceness - she knows what she's doing! She outlined everything that was going to happen with a Chapter 7. We discussed all the options available to my situation. I left her office with a folder containing not only all her contact information, but helpful articles, documents and timelines. After the process got rolling, she communicated everything with me, coaching me as to what paperwork was due now, what the next step would be, etc. When we finally got to the 341 meeting, I was prepared, calm and collected. How much is that worth? The whole process went through in about 4 months, smooth as silk, just as Dorothy said it would. And all this for one fixed price. I cannot give Dorothy enough praise or higher recommendations. Do yourself a favor. Hire this woman. You will not be disappointed. She literally saved my life.

  7. She saved my life!

    Posted by Kaye, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    After losing my marriage and a job, I was drowning in debt. I had actually considered suicide. I know that sounds overly dramatic, but it's the truth. Finally getting up the nerve to seek legal advice, I saw two other attorneys in town. I left their offices hopeless and in tears. I then found Dorothy. My self esteem was already through the floor, but Dorothy made me feel that everything was not my fault. We discussed my situation and possible solutions over a cup of coffee at her office. I immediately felt like I was talking with a trusted old friend. She never made me feel bad or questioned how I got myself into such a financial pickle! And don't be fooled by her niceness - she knows what she's doing! She outlined everything that was going to happen with a Chapter 7. We discussed all the options available to my situation. I left her office with a folder containing not only all her contact information, but helpful articles, documents and timelines. After the process got rolling, she communicated everything with me, coaching me as to what paperwork was due now, what the next step would be, etc. When we finally got to the 341 meeting, I was prepared, calm and collected. How much is that worth? The whole process went through in about 4 months, smooth as silk, just as Dorothy said it would. And all this for one fixed price. I cannot give Dorothy enough praise or higher recommendations. Do yourself a favor. Hire this woman. You will not be disappointed. She literally saved my life.

  8. A Fresh Start

    Posted by melissaclain,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I do not recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy more than 3 years ago.

    I went to see a big name bankruptcy attorney after my Wife wasn't able to remember the last name of her attorney Dorothy. After being really disappointed with the big guy, I had my wife do a little digging and she found the name & phone number for Dorothy Bunce at A Fresh Start. What a difference it makes to see the right person. Dorothy explained how I could easily settle my debts myself for pennies on the dollar, which debts to pay first and which ones to ignore, and even printed out two articles she had written that helped me out. And she didn't charge us a penny for this advice. There really are some nice lawyers in the world and Dorothy Bunce is one in a million.

    1. Dorothy G Bunce

      Dorothy G Bunce

      Lawyer Comment:

      I don't understand why this client indicates that he wouldn't recommend me. Maybe he made an incorrect selection when filling out the form.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  9. good nights

    Posted by Cheryl,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 1-3 years ago.

    I came into A Fresh Start Law for a bankruptcy consultation feeling like I was a worthless sorry excuse of a man. After meeting attorney Dorothy Bunce I was laughing at my own problems after imagining the debtor collector's rage at finding out I had filed bankruptcy and that they would have to stop harassing me. For the first time in so long I can't remember, I had a good nights sleep where I didn't wake up worrying about my bills.

  10. politely and soft spoken

    Posted by antoinetted,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.

    I consulted with Dorothy Bunce after a friend told me I needed to hear the truth and that his attorney was someone who wouldn't lie to me. Boy, did he get that right! While Ms Bunce was polite and soft spoken, she took the truth and slapped me upside the head with it. I have taken her suggestions about how to get my life back together and it is a relief to know I am finally headed in the right direction. No wonder this office is called "a fresh start" because Attorney Bunce shows you the way to get a second chance from the mistakes you made.

Call now for a free consultation.

702-456-1920