Dorothy G Bunce’s Reviews

Dorothy G Bunce

Average Rating

Based on 52 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Short Sale Help

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.

    I had a short sale issue and Ms. Bunce promptly assisted me and lead me in the right direction. Thank you for your help.

  2. Review

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dorothy Bunce.

    I was very surprised to see positive reviews for this attorney and had to share my experience. About 6 years ago I was experiencing some severe financial issues, loss of job, payday loans and many many bills. I didn't know what to do and saw bankruptcy as my only option. After researching attorney's Ms. Bunce seemed like a good choice because her advertisements billed her as someone who cares. I went to her office which was a converted home on Eastern Avenue. The home was kind of dingy and I was a little nervous. She talked about going to Mexico and it looked like she was packing up the office. She seemed very nice, though, and told me that to represent me she would need $795 cash. I believe that $295 of it she said was for court filing and $500 was for the bankruptcy. I knew the price before I set up my appointment so I had the money on me and I paid her cash. Then while still in her office she told me she needed to check my credit. Instead of going through what I would consider ethical channels, she used some site for a free credit report and asked me a lot of personal questions so she could get the report for free I was feeling very uneasy at this point but I had already paid her and I was hoping against hope that she was legitimate. I called many times and never received a call back. I thought she had fled to Mexico since she was talking about Mexico when I was there. It took me a few weeks to really realize it but I knew that deep down I had been ripped off and chalked it up to not listening to my inner voice when I saw that home and it looked like she was moving out. Imagine my surprise a few months later when I received a bill for $1000 that was kind of threatening. Never did one thing for me or return my calls and that if she bothered me ever again I would report her. I never heard from her again. I am sorry I did not pursue action against her but I was barely able to afford the money I had already paid her and could not afford to hire another attorney. Based on her location and my impression of her office, I had the impression that she preyed upon the less fortunate. It was an expensive lesson for me and I would not recommend Dorothy Bunce.

    1. Dorothy G Bunce

      Dorothy G Bunce

      Lawyer Comment:

      I can't figure out who this reviewer might be and I do keep records and receipts of all cash payments going back more than 10 years. The facts described by the reviewer are not consistent with way I practice law and the facts are inconsistent in many ways. For example, I return all phone calls and emails personally and promptly. It is true that did have weight loss surgery in Mexico several years ago, but I was only gone for less than a week. During this entire time, my office was open and fully staffed, and I was 100% available by phone. Although I show people how they can obtain their own credit report for free, I don't use the free sites myself for credit reports because they are not compatible with the software I have used for the past 15 years. It can look like we are moving out when repairs are being made, but since I own the building, it would be kind of foolish for me to move.

      I wish this reviewer hadn't just given up and had either walked into the office to discuss the concerns voiced here or continued to contact me by phone or email. S/he is still welcome to contact me to address these concerns. Yes my practice is still in that converted home on Eastern Ave, and I just had the place re-painted yesterday. This reviewer may not recognize me if we did indeed meet before my short trip to Mexico because I lost more than 100 lbs and now work out at the nearby gym on a regular basis.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  3. I called Dorothy Bunce

    Posted by Alice, a Maritime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Admiralty / Maritime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I called Dorothy Bunce 5 times in the last week, and she personally picked up the phone 4 of those times before the third ring. On the 5th time, I left a voice message and got a prompt call back.

    1. Dorothy G Bunce

      Dorothy G Bunce

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am glad I was able to help you but it wasn't with a Admiralty or Maritime matter. You may have overlooked the list of legal fields and your computer selected the first specialty on the list. Thanks for this positive review.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  4. I called many many bankruptcy

    Posted by rafel, a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I called many many bankruptcy attorneys to see if someone could file a bankruptcy to stop our foreclosure sale. Yes it was at the last minute, the day before the sale. Dorothy Bunce at A Fresh Start returned my call promptly, while none of the other lawyers bothered to call me back. Dorothy said she could stop the foreclosure sale but warned us that because there was no time to carefully prepare our case, I would have to understand that she would to "a good job" and that she would have to clean up any problems down the road. Because I was desperate for some help, I took the chance. I have no idea what this attorney meant by saying she would only be able to do "a crappy job." Everything Dorothy did was meticulous and when we went to court, there was no problem at all with our bankruptcy. I will take the good job Dorothy does over any other attorney’s work any day.

  5. Bankruptcy Lawyer

    Posted by Heather,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.

    I recently was unsure of my financial options, and Dorothy truly helped to get me on the right track. I may have made a hasty or unintelligent decision if it were not for her expert advice and knowledge. My case dealt with some student loans, and she went out of her way to contact an expert in the field, just to ensure she could provide me with adequate advice. She is also a very compassionate woman, which is extremely helpful in a lawyer. So many are only worried about money, you can tell Dorothy cares about you, and she will fight her hardest to help you.

  6. The BEST!!!!

    Posted by Steve, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thank you Dorothy!!!! Highly recommended

  7. Great Service, Great Advice

    Posted by manuell882, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dorothy provides a great service and gives great advice. Dorothy was trustworthy, knowledgeable and very responsive to my calls and emails. I thought she did a great job of keeping me informed, I am very happy to have her in my corner.

  8. Awesome!!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy more than 3 years ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Dorothy made my very scary, very emotional experience smooth and easy. She was very kind and understanding of my situation and very professional handling it.

  9. I have made many mistakes but choosing Dorothy Bunce was NOT one of them.

    Posted by David, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After getting myself in deep financial trouble and enduring countless sleepless nights, I finally threw in the towel and decided bankruptcy was probably my only workable option. First I purchased a thick book about how to file Chapter 7 bankruptcy without an attorney. I read it cover to cover twice. Then I searched online to see what others have experienced. Through reading on this website and many others, I concluded that going it alone is rarely a good idea. So being a frugal guy at heart plus having very limited funds available, I next researched the concept of hiring someone at a deeply discounted rate. Again, after hours of reading other people's experiences, I concluded that one generally gets what one pays for when seeking legal help. Please read for yourself some of the horror stories posted online by people who hired the cheapest price law firm.

    Due to the excellent reviews I found for Dorothy Bunce, I decided to call for the free consultation. After fully explaining my financial nightmare, she agreed that Chapter 7 bankruptcy was the best option for me. Much to my surprise, there were no high pressure sales pitches or pressure to sign immediately. I was most impressed with the way Ms. Bunce conducts herself and, after a few more days of fretting, I had confidence that retaining her would be a good decision. She has handled thousands of bankruptcies in her 30+ years experience.

    I am now so relieved that my choice was the correct one. Ms. Bunce did a stellar job throughout the whole process and I continue to be impressed with her. I am grateful for her help. I am glad to say that everything went smoothly and I now have my discharge. Can't argue with success!

  10. Satisfied Client

    Posted by Jared, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dorothy Bunce.
    • I hired Dorothy 6-12 months ago.
    • Dorothy handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We are currently a client and we are just waiting for our case to be finalized and charged off by the courts. Dorothy Bunce is an excellent bankruptcy attorney, my husband and I filed for BK and was very nervous about the whole process and our upset creditors. But Dorothy was easy to deal with, kept us right on cue through all the steps. She was quick and right on the ball with processing everything and was very easy to communicate with. Dorothy made this process for us so much easier and gave us a peace of mind to get through it. We highly recommend her services!

Call now for a free consultation.

702-456-1920