James Portman Webster’s Reviews

James Portman Webster

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. 2nd Time Clients

    Posted by Mike and D, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We are extremely lucky to have found such an intelligent, caring, and well rounded attorney. He has the ability to translate extremely detailed work into understandable terms and made us comfortable.
    Jim thinks before he speaks, he is clear, concise and is detail oriented.

    This is someone everyone should have on their side.

    We have and will continue to recommend Jim to all our friends and coworkers.

  2. Fantastic

    Posted by Martinez, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We found Jim through Avvo after dealing with another attorney's errors for over two years. Jim and Kim's knowledge of bankruptcy and their willingness to correct the previous attorney's errors helped put us at ease. They both truly care about what they do, and have they ability to back up their words. We appreciate, respect and like them a great deal for going above and beyond. This is a law firm that gets things done the correct way the first time. Thank you. !

  3. Personal debt turned bankruptcy fraud

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jim Webster was awesome. The information and advice he gave me was not only educational, but extremely helpful. He was able to handle my situation with a personal debt/bankruptcy fraud through e-mail, and phone conversations. We never had to see a courtroom.
    Previously, I had worked with him on my bankruptcy case, and his performance was stellar then, as well.
    Currently, I'm receiving yet further advice from him on an issue I have with a collections outfit for an apartment complex at which I never resided. I'm entirely confident that he'll be able to help me out of this, as well.

  4. Simply Professional - Exceeded our expectations by far!!!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jim and Kim were extremely patient, professional and a pleasure to have represent us. I have recommended them to many, and would highly recommend them for any services they can provide.
    Jim and Kim were willing to meet with us on several occasions, prior to completing our filing. We never once felt pushed, as they were always patient, answering every question we had. I truly believe we found a diamond in the ruff.
    Thank you both, for making this process easy and comfortable, and for seeing it through to the end. You definitely exceeded our expectations.
    My wife and I plan to seek other services provided by Jim Webster.

  5. Better than expected

    Posted by LM, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Webster's office through my union and he was the closest attorney to my house. I was pleasantly surprised by his understanding of my hopeless situation. his office cheered me up when I really needed it. It was more than just paperwork. it was about me and feeling better.

    As for the paperwork, the first time I came in, the attorney sat down with me and started to collect my information including a credit report. I left with a short list of what I needed to complete the paperwork. I was worried about the process but the office made it easy. At least easier.

    Thank you again!

  6. The best Lawyer and team I have worked with

    Posted by Michele, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husbands business did not survive this economy so we had to file bankrupsy. This was a difficult and scary time for us. We went to James Webster and he and his team were to supportive and responsive it made the whole process much easier for us to go thru. We have turned to them many time after this issue was completed and we have always had there help even if it was just a question about an issue. I just can't say enough good things about the Webster team!!

  7. Mr. Webster is the MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted by Henry and Lara, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Not only is this guy cute, but an awesome lawyer. If I had money I would rent this guy to become my friend. In all seriousness Mr. Webster outperformed himself getting me and my wife out of a pot hole and what I mean is that I was looking at being banned from filing bankruptcy for life and having a derogatory credit hampering my future, Thanks Mr. Webster.

  8. Remarkable

    Posted by Mark, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Webster.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    James Portman Webster was retained by me to file chapter 7 bankruptcy. Prior to filing, I interviewed perhaps seven or eight other attorneys and asked them a series of questions I had prepared regarding bankruptcy in general and my case in particular. Not surprisingly, but to my dismay, I received a wide variety of answers to the same set of questions from each of the various attorneys I spoke to. Due to my background and education I was very familiar with the entire process before going through it personally. Mr. Webster offered the most straight-forward, reasonable and logical answers to all of my questions and he took the time to make sure that I was comfortable with his answers to everything I inquired about. In addition, he was very generous with his time during my initial free consultation, and his fees were among the most reasonable of those I encountered. After selecting Jim to represent me in bankruptcy, I was relieved that he remained generous with his allocation of time and energy devoted to my particular case. Mr. Webster and his firm worked with me very graciously and cooperatively throughout the entire process which extended over a seven month time frame as I had anticipated the filing of my case well in advance of its occurrence and retained him accordingly. More to the point, the timing of filing, the tax and legal implications, and a myriad of other details including the selection of the trustee, were all handled proficiently, were complete, and darn-near perfect. My case was filed as planned, the timing of the events involved in the process went precisely as he had explained and anticipated, and the discharge was granted exactly 113 days after my filing date. When I had questions throughout the process, Jim was always available to answer them. He took the role of "counselor at law" to heart and made time to "counsel" me during the duration to help me better understand the process and to relieve my anxiety of going through a chapter 7 bankruptcy. Jim's analysis of our situation and his empathy, combined with his thorough understanding of the law involved in bankruptcy legislation, made the entire process manageable and less stressful than I had anticipated it to be (this is an understatement). I imagine if you are taking the time to read this entire recommendation, that you are seriously considering filing your own bankruptcy petition. If that is the case, I strongly endorse Jim Webster and his law firm as an excellent choice among the many alternatives available to you. I am certainly pleased with my choice and have recommended his services to several of my friends and a few acquaintances who have shared their personal circumstances with me and a referral to Jim seemed appropriate. With Jim Webster, you get much MORE than you actually pay for. I am delighted with the results I achieved through using his services. Filing bankruptcy isn't always the best option, but I believe Mr. Webster will offer you straight-forward legal counsel in plain, easy-to-understand terms that will be appropriate for your circumstances. I wish you luck in your search for a good attorney to represent you in a rather complex matter that will impact your financial future assuredly. I hope you will contact Mr. Webster and set an appointment to disuses your situation with him and explore the possibilities that he may recommend depending on your needs. By the way, I am an actual client and this recommendation is another way that I am able to express to Jim my appreciation for what he has done for me. Even though I paid for his legal services, he made me feel like a friend and that my outcome was as important to him as it was to me. (Jim, if you are reading this by chance, my hat's off to you. You deserve the accolades. Much obliged!) Give Jim a call and let him handle the details so you stop worrying and you can get your life back on track.

Call now for a free consultation.

480-464-4667