Steven N Cole’s Reviews

Steven N Cole

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mr Cole was a bad divorce lawyer for me . Only saw him up front when he collected money , and last day on my court day.

    Posted by Amil, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I'm new to the divorce situation , so i needed a lawyer and i went with Mr. Cole. Biggest mistake i did , I only saw him the first day when his team collected my retainer fee $ 3,000 and at the Court date . He did not fight for me at all, it felt like my wife's lawyer was much better than him as whatever she proposed , Steven Cole just went with it , and i felt like he didn't even care about my situation. Then comes the Trial court, he turns around and asks for another $ 3,500 which was never discussed up front, and i was thinking ok why should i pay him, since all he will do is collect and not fight for me. I did not want him to represent me anymore because i couldn't pay another $ 3,500 for Trial as up front ,i was told only $ 3,000 retainer that covers everything , that was a lie . I will say that Jo Passmore , i guess she was his co-worker, she was awesome as she emailed me and called me many times, but when i wanted answers straight from Mr. Cole since Jo couldnt answer my questions, he only replied to me one time on an email , no phone calls, or didnt ask me to come in to talk to him in person. Again, i only saw him up front when they collected their money, and the court date . He is selfish, and will not fight for you , i strongly don't recommend him , since he will just agree with the other lawyer because he did not want to waste his time.

  2. Not very honest

    Posted by Bobby, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used this Lawyer for a brief moment regarding my divorce case. He and his staff seemed uninterested in communicating after I gave them my retainer. Very unresponsive and also I got the notion they were working with the other attorney to elongate the process to make more money. I would never refer him to anyone. They have a nice office though.

  3. Not too aggressive

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Doesn't really go the extra mile for the client. Mostly just tries to go along with the opposing attorney. I had to do almost all the negotiations myself, he was of little help.

  4. An attorney with results!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steven Cole was very knowledgable and experience with my case and now have my child 50% of the time, reduced my child support and got spousal maintenance dropped. Also have a very strong, experience, and knowledgeable paralegal "Jo" and Attorney Kelly. The right combination for great results!!!

  5. He handled my custody case with care

    Posted by Gloria, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm extremely happy in the way Steve and his staff handled my custody case. He was very attentive to my needs and I can't thank him enough. Although it was a difficult process, I always felt as if the staff and him had my best interest in mind. Besides that his pricing was better than most that I was quoted by other lawyers, so good job on that one too.

  6. Mr. Cole was the attorney I needed in my child custody

    Posted by Chase, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Cole was the third and last attorney I needed in my child custody and support disaster caused by the attorneys before him. After wasting so much money, he was my last hope and didn't disappoint me. He successfully worked with the 2 weeks remaining to give me justice!! He is the best and I’m confident you will get justice if you find yourself in a similar situation like I was.

  7. Could not have asked for a better attorney

    Posted by rob, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I needed a great family attorney. What I got was the best family attorney in Phoenix. He understood my problem and went right to work with a solution. In a really tough time, Mr Cole put me at ease, that he not only had the best interest of my child at heart, but mine as well.

  8. Excellent really!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Well, I was in a very tough spot and got very good advice throughout ... the office was very responsive also ... very reasonable indeed ... I'd call them, let them know what you are dealing with ...

  9. I have been using Steve for 3 years now and his Firm is Great

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Steve's office has helped me with my divorice and custody 3 years ago and now I am currently dealing with more custody and Child support. His firm has helped me with all my needs and made sure they have advised me on my rights as a parent and what the best choices are for me and my daughter. I have recommended him to people who I work with and friends. Great Firm, great attorney.

  10. Unprepared for court appearance

    Posted by Eileen, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Cole.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Cole did an expremely poor job of preparing for first court appearance and notified us the evening before the second appearance (after agreeing to waive his fees for the second appearance due to his unsatisfactory perfomance the first time around) that he had an emergency and would not be in court the next day. He sent another attorney in his place. This attorney was admonished by the judge for the lack of Mr. Cole's ability to share documents with the other attorneys. We were led to believe that this case would be fairly simple and should not exceed a certain price point. We clearly stated ahead of time what our financial abilities were. He then filed with the court to dismiss us because our balance of approximately $800 (after already giving $5000) was not paid within 30 days. The case paperwork forwarded to us after this dismissal were nothing but boiler plate documents filled with misspelled names and incorrect dates, including birthdates.