James Scott Gilbreath’s Reviews

James Scott Gilbreath

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Took on Becky Beaver and won

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    When my ex-wife hired Becky Beaver, I knew I needed attorneys that had experience fighting her and her crazy process.

    Jake knew both Becky's process as well as her associates' tactics and used that against them. We blunted her attack and counter-attacked very, very effectively. My team out-prepared Becky's side and essentially won all of our hearings, killed my ex's separate property and wasting claims, and successfully navigated a great recommendation from the guardian ad litem. In the end, there was very little for my ex to fight over and we settled the week before trial (which is exactly what my team told me would happen with Becky).

    As frustrating and as expensive a process as it was for me (and that was driven by Becky and my ex-wife), the final mediated settlement was substantially better than what I expected and better than what I would have settled for early in the case.

  2. Excellent divorce attorney

    Posted by Tracy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When my husband hired Becky Beaver, I immediately panicked and wondered how I would survive the divorce, both financially and emotionally. Jake was the perfect opposing counsel. Never once did he flinch in the face of her scare tactics. He was the consummate professional, staying away from threats and sticking to firm facts and the law. Not only is Jake an expert when it comes to handling the legal matters involved in a divorce, he truly cares about his clients. Throughout the most emotionally difficult time in my life, Jake was both accessible and empathetic. He kept me calm during the most stressful situations, and was extremely responsive whenever I needed him. If you are going through a difficult divorce, you want Jake and his team on your side!

  3. Why you need to hire James Scott Gilbreath

    Posted by Joe, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When my wife of 10 years and partner of 20 filed for divorce I was devastated. We had spent the past 10 years of our lives planning for a family. My father and I had built us an incredible arts and crafts home in the Texas hillcountry, we had a nice sized savings and we were ready to start a family. After trying to have children of our own, along with numerous failed IVFs, we eventually adopted a beautiful baby boy. My wife became so consumed with our new son, she thought it best to take him and leave. Her lack of concern for total destruction was incredible. She made it very clear that the house was going to sell, she'd get half of the proceeds, she would get full custody of our son and leave me destitute. On top of that, she had a job that paid considerably more than mine. She hired a very high priced attorney. I, in turn, hired a local attorney. Two weeks into the divorce, I was sent the most insulting proposal. It basically stated that she was taking our son and that I needed to leave the house immediately. My attorney called and told me that I needed to figure out how to buy the house back within the week. That was the lowest point of my life. Depressed, I called numerous friends. I eventually was led to Brian Walters. He called me and talked me through details and eased my anxieties. Although he could not take my case, he recommended Jake, his new partner. After a conference call with Brian and Jake, I fired my old attorney and moved ahead with Jake. THE BEST DECISION I HAVE EVER MADE!!! I lived with my wife through this ordeal only to be with my son. It was awful and painful to be around her. She was so confident to the very end she was going to bleed me dry. On the day of mediation, Jake proved to be everything you'd ever dream of in an attorney. Strong, confident, brilliant, and swift. In the end, I ended up with more than I ever expected. I got as much time as the law would allow with my son, my house (I just took over the payments,) my retirement,and half our stock portfolio. My wife left with her retirement, 3/4 of the divorce debt and the loss of what could have been a wonderful life. I've got a new life to figure out now, but I have my son in it, and I'm not pauper. I can provide for him and move on with this new life with my son. I can't thank Jake enough. Jake's tough as nails. He fights the fight with the high priced lawyers and comes out on top. I can't recommend him enough. Thanks Jake, I owe you my new life.

  4. Satisfied client of Piper and Turner attorney James Gilbreath

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    Jake was thorough, competent and responsive. He handled working with challenges from opposing counsel that were unpredictable and without rational basis and were therefore frustrating. He kept his cool and followed through such that we were able to achieve best outcome for all concerned including myself as plaintiff in case and the defendant which saved money and time for both sides.

  5. I wish I'd found him sooner...

    Posted by S, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    I had a cross-country international divorce case going on (India-USA) and Jake stepped in at an extremely crucial point during the case. It was a difficult and complicated case with multiple cases in the 2 countries. He not only took over the case completely, but kept me informed and helped me retain my sanity during my toughest times. Due to his advice and guidance, my daughter and I are finally able to restart our lives. He even helped me locate and find another attorney because of some unavoidable and specific issues. He became my guide, and eventually, my friend - someone I can never thank enough for how much he did for my daughter and me - we are finally safe, thanks to the ball that he set rolling. And the best part is that we always only talked on the phone! I still haven't seen him in person! That's how awesome he is. He's one of the good guys, and a keeper! If I were you, I'd trust him in a heartbeat.

  6. You want this team of attorney on your side!!!

    Posted by Holly K, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jake Gilbreath and his team at Piper and Turner are some of the best attorneys I have worked with. I had a very difficult divorce with various complications, Jake and his team were always well prepared and ultimately got me everything I wanted and more!!! If you need a strong attorney that will fight hard but ethically you need not look any further!!!

  7. Stellar attorney for representation, Family Law involving Child Custody

    Posted by JC, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    Jake is the attorney one should hire for representation especially if the case is family law and involving child custody. We took the "high road" on most all issues and the final decisions in the case were all on my side and in mine and my children's best interests. Advice and logic was spot on, courtroom demeanor stellar, and mediation negotiation sharp. Jake returned calls promptly, followed through on the myriad of details, and held my hand, so to speak, through the difficult emotional stages to help me see the light at the end of the tunnel.

  8. James, Luật sư uy tín, trách nhiệm cao, nhiệt huyết

    Posted by Vy, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    Tôi tên là Vy Truong, Tôi là khách hàng của luật sư James từ tháng 10/ 2012 đến tháng 03/2013. Tôi là người phụ nữ không may mắn trong hôn nhân. Trong lúc tôi chưa biết làm sao để thoát ra khỏi cuộc hôn nhân địa ngục của mình thì SAHELI đã giới thiệu tôi được gặp luật sư James. Trước khi gặp James, tôi nghĩ những người làm luật sư rất khô khan và khó gần gũi nhưng khi tôi được gặp James thì mỗi cảm nhận của tôi đều được thay đổi. Khi nghe tôi trình bày về hoàn cảnh khó khăn của mình, James đã xin Manager để bào chữa hoàn toàn miễn phí, để giúp tôi thoát khỏi cuộc hôn nhân với người chồng ích kỷ, có tính gia trưởng bạo hành gia đình trong 10 năm qua.
    James làm việc rất nghiêm túc và nhiệt tình, mặc dù thứ bảy là ngày nghỉ của luật sư nhưng đã nhiều thứ bảy luật sư đã đến tận Shelter, cũng như hẹn chúng tôi đến văn phòng luật sư, để James và thư ký ghi rõ chi tiết của hồ sơ, chỉ dẫn tôi tận tình cách làm việc với cảnh sát, cách giải quyết tài sản, làm sao để con cái an toàn thuộc về tôi, và giúp tôi tự tin, khỏi bỡ ngỡ trước tòa
    Phong cách làm việc của James rất thân thiện, vui vẻ, không làm cho tôi cảm thấy bị áp lực. James giải quyết mọi yều cầu, thác mắc của Tôi rất nhanh và rõ ràng khiến tôi cảm thấy yên tâm và hài long.
    Theo như tôi biết, với những luật sư khác khi tòa án ra quyết định cuối cùng là trách nhiệm của luật sư đã xong nhưg với james thì luật sư vẫn theo dõi case của tôi đến khi con tôi 18 tuổi, James là người rất nhiệt tình và có trách nhiệm với công việc. Khi làm việc Jame luôn có những kế hoạch tốt nhất cho người mà được James đang bào chữa. James là người làm việc rất uy tín, khi James đã hứa điều gì thì chắc chắn James sẽ làm được, và không bao giờ đưa những lời hứa suông cũng như những lời nói và dự báo suông cho case của mình.
    Câu chuyện của tôi đã kết thúc được 1 năm rồi, mọi chuyện đã được giải quyết tốt đẹp. Tôi và các con được bảo vệ an toàn khỏi người chồng tệ bạc, vũ phu. Mọi tài sản đã được luật sư giúp đỡ thủ tục chuyển nhượng cho tôi quản lý. Để có được cuộc sống tự do, thoải mái của ngày hôm nay tôi cần phải cảm ơn James, cảm ơn những gì mà luật sư làm cho tôi rất nhiều

  9. Our experience with Jake was a positive experience

    Posted by Linda and John Buono, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Support matter.

    When Jake took over our case, it had been a thorn in our side for many years. He presented himself in a professional manner in the office as well as in the courtroom. He was respectful of our time, adhering to the appointment times, always punctual and prepared. We felt he retained the facts that were given to him about the case and they were organized and easily accessible if needed. When there were times that we needed to vent, and he was there to listen as well as empathize. He brought the case to a close in a reasonable amount of time and we would hire him again.

  10. Family Law - Same Sex/ Child Custody-Standing Rights

    Posted by Teri, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Gilbreath.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    Words cannot express my gratitude for James "Jake" Gilbreath and his team. When Jake took on my case, I realized quickly that he was in it to make a difference. His compassion for every human, his passion for equality, his knowledge of the law and his tenacity surpassed what I ever could have expected. Jake and his team kept me updated and informed each step of the way leading to our trial. I never worried about what was going on because of the constant communication either by phone, email or office visits. They made it easy to put my trust in them and relinquish my stress.

    When a relationship ends things can become complex and due to the current Texas Laws same-sex child custody disputes can be especially complicated and challenging when only one parent is biologically related to the child. According to Texas Law this applies to Same-Sex Couples, Non-Biological Parents and Grandparents. After much of my own research I learned that the outcome in these types of cases can be daunting and far reaching, but Jake has made a difference in my life, the life of my daughter and for the future lives of many who face the same challenges.

    Today, it's because of Jake and his team that I won this fight and have rights to my daughter, it's because of Jake and his team that I was given Standing rights. So, if you're looking for an attorney that exemplifies true and honest character, if you're looking for an attorney who will put you first during an already stressful time in your life and if you're looking for an attorney who will give it his best fight, I strongly recommend Mr. Gilbreath.

512-588-1355