Joseph Francis Hoelscher II’s Reviews

Joseph Francis Hoelscher II

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. He cares about us.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph 1-6 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Hoelscher has done two cases for my family. One was a felony. He was court appointed but he took care of my brother after his ex said he touched her girl by another guy. He listened and believed us and it got dismissed after he showed the prosecutor that she was crazy. We thought court appointed would be bad but Mr. Hoelscher only takes major felonies like murders and he says he does it because he likes hard cases. Well he had an investigator and everything. He did more on the CPS case than our CPS lawyer. After that, my cousin got arrested for cocaine and marijuana. We hired Mr. Hoelscher even though he was expensive. He got those dismissed. We are saving money for the expuction. We've sold a lot of plates. Mr. Hoelscher also helped me by getting me power of attorneys when they were in jail and he got my cousin a bond fast. Only thing is he doesn't always answer his cell phone but Margie always gives you an appointment to see u m in person. He texts too.

  2. Joe saved our family when nobody else would help.

    Posted by Bernice, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    When my husband got his third DWI, a friend sent me to Joe. He got my husband out of jail, arranged a discounted bond, and eventually got the case dismissed. The best thing Joe did was talk my husband into rehab and help him get the county to pay for it. Now our family is back together, my husband has a good job, and has even been promoted. We call Joe whenever we need advice and he is always there for us. If you need a lawyer, you need to meet this man.

  3. Honest and Professional

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    As a long term (2 1/2 years) client of Mr. Hoelscher, I can say that Joe's honesty, integrity and willingness to fight for his clients' rights far outshines the "abilities and experience" of so many mediocre attorneys that I encountered in my search for a lawyer.

    When I first read the charges filed against me (2 misdemeanors and 1 state jail felony) I assumed the worst -- that my life was pretty much over. I realized that the only way I was going to get my life back and be able to live with a clear conscience was if I fought these charges in a trial setting.

    Every lawyer I interviewed before Joe immediately tried to convince me that a plea deal was my best option without so much as listening to what *I* wanted to do. Joe was the only one who didn't. He listened carefully, pointed out a few flaws in the prosecutor's discovery, took some notes and simply said, "this is a great case, I'd love to take it on."

    What I appreciate most about Mr. Hoelscher is that he never once tried to convince me to change my mind. I made it clear that (win or lose) I was not willing to waive my right to a jury trial. It's Joe's personal philosophy to prepare every case as if it were going to trial...something I found out later.

    Mr. Hoelscher was always great about keeping me informed. He was honest about telling me what tactics would and wouldn't work. He was up front about costs -- private investigator fees, transcription costs, etc. Even with his busy schedule he was always prompt about answering my calls/texts/emails. Joe always gave me fair estimates about timing and what my alternatives in every situation were. He was patient with my questions and was great about explaining anything I didn't understand.

    Here I stand 2 1/2 years later...all charges dropped/dismissed -- with a great career and a whole new outlook on life. Joe Hoelscher helped me get my life back.

    Call him today...you will NOT be disappointed. Thanks for everything Mr. Hoelscher!

  4. Honest and straightforward

    Posted by Sylvia, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joseph is an excellent lawyer. He has great presence in the courtroom and obviously knows his business. Joseph's confidence can be felt in everything he does and puts me at ease every time we talk. Even when he gives me bad news, I know he has done everything possible. He has even refused to take my money when he couldn't help. He has already done so much for my family.

  5. He beat my blood draw.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Joe told me in our first meeting that I was in trouble because the cops got a warrant for my blood. He predicted my BAC would be about three times the legal limit in Texas. When the results finally came in, he was right. I was .252. Other lawyers (I interviewed 6) either acted like everything was ok or were telling me to take a deal (even when they charged MORE). Joe was straight with me from day 1 and kept me informed, even returning texts or emails on weekends. Best thing: my case was dismissed. Joe almost made me believe the blood test was wrong. He's a great lawyer and I'll always owe him for this second chance.

  6. Mr. Hoelscher II is an excellent lawyer.

    Posted by a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Hoelscher, is an excellent lawyer-well educated and very supportive. He worked tirelessly to fight for my case from start to finish. I would trust him with any of my friends, family or clients cases. He is one of the good guys! Which is hard to find when looking for a lawyer. I would not trust anyone else with my legal business.

  7. Call Him NOW.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Hoelscher is definitely a client's attorney. By this, I mean to say that he is clearly in law to defend his client's rights first and foremost (money is secondary to this man). He has been a consultant to me on felony matters, and his demeanor in-person was nothing short of professional and amicable. As an example of how much he cares to do his job, he has given me 4 hours of his time and charged me for ONE. Clearly, he doesn't always do that, but the fact that he goes the extra mile when necessary shows. It is often joked that attorneys are terrible communicators, but this guy can clearly win over a jury - and not with lies and deceit, but with his well-carried demeanor and legal acumen. When I read the police report on my own, I saw a plethora of things to be afraid of. When he went over it with me, all I saw was Swiss cheese by the time we were through. He'll put your mind at ease, and his retainer fee is reasonable in comparison to the attorneys around town. Do not pass on this man - he comes highly recommended from lawyers in-and-out-of-town for reasons you will know once you've had a face-to-face with him. As a graduate of the Baylor School of Law, he is DEFINITELY a trial-oriented attorney because that is what they do there.

  8. On the ball!

    Posted by Charles, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This guy is a contracts genius, he drafted a better contract than I could have ever imagined, I am definitely sending all of my legal needs his way and would strongly urge you to do the same, you will not be disappointed at all. This guy is on the ball!!! Thanks a million Joe!!

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Fantastic Lawyer. Always responsive and got a fair outcome.

  10. Thank you

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Hoelscher.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thanks for all your help and really appreciate you professionalism in handling my case and for the excellent outcome. I wish you the best in your endeavors. I will be sure to refer you on and thank Laura for referring me. Dee

We're ready to help. Call now for a free consultation.

210-222-9132