Mark W. Bennett’s Reviews

Mark W. Bennett

Average Rating

Based on 67 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best decision you'll ever make

    Posted by Jeremy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.

    I hired mark two years ago when I was arrested for felony theft. I was never so scared in my life. From the moment I first met mark I knew and you will to , he's not just any run the mill lawyer. You should see the amount of respect and presence he has in the courtroom. He knows his stuff. He got my felony reduced to a misdemeanor deferred . Now mind you I had overwhelming evidence against me and he still got it reduced. I received 16 months probation and I was done in 8. Just recently I filed petition for non discloser and was in court again. Mark never charged me for representing me again and SCHOOLED not only the DA but the judge as well on the laws ! the DA was trying to say I had to wait 2 years before I could petition the court for non discloser and the judge agreed! I thought that was it until the super lawyer came to save the day and proceeded to tell them BOTH what the law was! I can i just tell you I have never seen a judge and a DA look so stupid in my whole life! You will not regret hiring mark Bennett as your lawyer! If you are not convinced go talk to him , you will not regret it !

  2. One of the best descions you'll ever make

    Posted by Chris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    The morning I got out of jail after being charged with a Class A misdemeanor, I started looking for an attorney to represent me. Never having been arrested, or in any kind of legal trouble before in my life, I was scared to say the least. I did some research, "shopping around" if you will, trying to find the cheapest lawyer I could and one that I felt comfortable would help me the absolutely best he could. When I called Mr. Bennett's office, I was surprised when he personally picked up the phone. I explained the situation to him, and asked him how much he would charge. He talked to me, told me what I needed to do that would help my case, and without realizing it, gave me peace of mind all free of charge. I was sold at that point and didn't care what the cost was. I walked into his office the next day, payed him and waited on the court date.

    Over the next 7 months he fought my case and ultimately got it dismissed. He kept me well informed on what was happening, the next steps to be taken. He even ran down different scenarios the DA could do how he would go about it. But everytime he walked into the courtroom, I was reminded of that peace of mind knowing that he was going to win like he had been telling me all along. He really does have this court presence that says he isn't going to be walked over by the prosecutor, or taken lightly.

    Anyone who might be reading this who is on the fence about weather or not to hire Mr. Bennett, I promise you won't be disappointed. If you don't believe me, read the other reviews and I'm sure they will say something along the same lines. Mark Bennett is NOT one of those $100 mail order attorneys. If you are looking for that you need to go somewhere else. Just remember you get what you pay for. I hope I never have to use his services again, but if I do then I know exactly who to go to first.

    Mr. Bennett, if you happen to be reading this, again thank you for everything you did.

  3. A job well done! Thank You Mark!

    Posted by J, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mark represented me in a Class A Misdemeanor Family Violence case. Even though I knew the case was BOGUS, evidence and witness statements were garbage, the D.A. on the other hand was pushing hard to try and turn this into a Felony Case. Not only did they want to make it a Felony case, the D.A. was pushing hard to try and make charges stick without regard to my innocence and the proof I had. Mark took on my case after my first appearance in front of the judge by myself. I knew as I was sitting in the court room and listening to other cases being tried, I needed good representation. I was given his number and called him the second I left court. He had me go straight to his home office, which was very nice and a quite comfortable setting. I told him all the facts of my case and he told me that he would take it on. He handed me the nicest and most unique business card I've ever seen. On my next scheduled court appearance in front of the Judge, Mark was there. He kept me well briefed. He got the Judge to lift the Protective Order on our first appearance, which was keeping me from going home to my wife and kids. It took him only 2 months, with a total of 4 court appearances, to make the D.A. realize and the Judge convinced that they had no case. Which in my book is a Job well done. I've seen cases like mine dragged out to almost a year, I'm glad he was my lawyer and I would gladly rehire him all over again. I thought for a brief second I could handle this case on my own, but I'm glad I didn't try. Mark is not all shimmer and shine, he's unique! Unique from his business card to his bow tie and cowboy boots. Even more importantly though, on the way he gets things done. I didn't need a runway lawyer, I needed one that knew the law and that's exactly what I got. With a job like mine, Government related, I couldn't take the chance of things going bad. So if your reading this Mark, THANK YOU!

  4. Want to be defended like you're defending yourself? Hire Mark W. Bennett

    Posted by Dreyvon, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I found Mark Bennett just like you will, online. I was desperate, searching for that someone I could trust to listen and execute while keeping regular communication with me through the entire ordeal. So I searched and read review after review. His and others, and I read Mark’s entire site. I met with some 5-6 of the most powerful criminal attorneys in Houston. I chose Mark, and you will too. There are key differences between Mark and even some of the most prominent attorneys in Houston, i.e (DeGueirn, etc). 1. Mark has never been a prosecutor (D.A.) this is important because he doesn’t think like one. He’s not looking at what the DA knows to be true (evidence), he’s thinking like you, what can he do to get you off? And because he’s never been a DA he hasn’t had to experience the coldness of sending innocent people to jail because hey, it’s the system or it’s just his job. 2. Mark takes care of you HIMSELF. He doesn’t treat himself like he’s all the attorney that HE REALLY IS and send you to his second help who is some rookie. No, he wants to fight himself and he, himself wants to get you off. So on his contract its states that he only takes so many clients at a time so he can give each a great deal of concentration. It also states chances are he told someone no to tell you yes. No number game with Mark, it’s a life game for him. It’s all about winning! 3. Mark has a great deal of respect and prominence in the courtroom. I felt secured. He is such a serious man he literally changes the vibe of the courtroom when he walks in. What he wants he get, period. Ok, so my experience is I was charged with Deadly Conduct with a Firearm-Habitation sometime in November 2012. Mark quickly got efforts on the streets to find out the truth by comparing stories with witnesses and myself. Mark called the Assistant DA the day after I retained him to ask her to dismiss the case because of its inconsistencies. By February 2013 my case was dismissed due to results of excellent investigation by given to the Assistant D.A. by Attorney Mark Bennett. So not only was the case dismissed, I didn’t deal with headache long, compared. God Bless You, Mark Bennett!

  5. I Recommend Mr. Bennett as a Professional and Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by Kevin, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently needed an attorney to represent me in a Domestic Violence case. I had narrowed my search to Mr. Bennett and one other attorney after researching them extensively. The first attorney I met with left me with a feeling of uncertainty. After meeting with Mr. Bennett, there was no doubt that he was the one I wanted representing me. He has extensive knowledge of the laws and took the time to answer any questions that I had concerning them. He always kept me informed, and explained what was next in the process. We always communicated before each court date, and before court started on the scheduled dates. He even answered some questions I had that were not related to this case. Everyone I met in his office was professional and helpful.

    Through Mr. Bennett, I was able to reach an agreement with the court that did not involve a trial.

    I met a woman the last time we were in court who said that she had a family member that was accused of a similar offense, and was there to find out how the process worked and watch how different attorneys conducted themselves. She noticed how Mr. Bennett conducted himself, and asked me in the hall what my opinion of him was. I explained to her how Mr. Bennett had helped me, and I had no reservations in recommending him.

    If you are in a position where you need to hire a defense attorney, give Mr. Bennett a call. His experience and knowledge are obvious when you meet with him, and even more so in a courtroom.

  6. Excellent Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mark is one of the few attorneys here in Houston that you absolutely have to consider for your representation. Mark doesn't guarantee that he will obtain the favorable outcome that you want to obtain when you've been accused of a crime, but I WILL guarantee you that you can rest easy once you have him on your team. He knows how to work the system and he will do the work you expect him to. That says a lot nowadays when attorneys are out to maximize there hourly rates by disposing of your case as quickly as possible. Mark does not have a huge volume of clients and therefore you are assured to have him work on your case as much as is needed to help you obtain a favorable decision on your case('s). Before I hired Mark, I witnessed first hand what other attorney's will do when they don't really care about whether or not you have your freedom. I had originally interviewed Mark after I was charged with one misdemeanor family assault and one felony evading in Harris County, but I felt he was too expensive and I thought I could get by with a cheaper defense. I screwed up an hired a guy off the Internet that advertised himself as the best affordable attorney in Houston. What a load of crap....that guy was horrible. Within two weeks I found my misdemeanor case being enhanced to a felony. Anyway, he seriously screwed me but I'll explain that on his review. Needless to say, I fired the guy and went back to Mark to please help me on my cases. I was very surprised he even wanted to touch them because of the wreckage the other attorney had caused but he accepted and didn't charge me anymore than what he originally quoted me. I felt a sense of ease after hiring Mark, after 3 weeks of going thru hell with that other bird brain as my counsel. I knew I was in much better hands with Mark. The other attorney had tried to get me to accept a plea on my charges that included a lot of jail time and 3 years of un-adjudicated probation following. All for two things I didn't do. Mark said no absolutely not, I'm going to try to get these no-billed by a grand jury and at worst we go to trial on both of them. That's another great thing about hiring Mark...his flat fee that you pay up front means you have already paid for your trial should it come to that. It really helps to put your mind at rest because you know that you have a darn fine lawyer that's in it with you for the long haul. It means a lot when your are facing serious penitentiary time, as I was facing 2-10yrs on both counts. So, long story shortened a little...5 weeks and 2 court dates and a grand jury presentation by the state and re-butted by Mark, and I find out last Monday that my cases had been "NO-BILLED" by the Grand Jury! Both of them. I don't know what Mark did in the room that day, but I will be forever indebted to him for providing me with my freedom.

    In closing, Mark is not only at the top of his craft, but he cares about your freedom. He absolutely believes it is his duty to keep you from spending your life in a cage like a zoo pet. If you are facing serious charges that could ruin your life and everything you have achieved, Mark needs to be the person you call.

  7. When your life is on the line, this is the person to call.

    Posted by Michelle, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I needed a criminal defense attorney and Mark came recommended by close, personal friends within the legal industry. Whether you are experiencing the consequences of a momentary lack in judgement, a victim of circumstance or have a troubled past, when your life is on the line this is the guy to call. The Kafkaesque nightmare will not disappear but you can have piece of mind that you have retained qualified, quality representation and he will prepare for your fight as if it were his own, should he choose to take your case. It's worth the call to see.

    He personally answered his phone on a holiday weekend, my first appointment was on the actual holiday itself and he worked diligently throughout the course of the proceedings. He does not take every case, he can't...he is too hands on for that type of legal representation. I appreciated his vast and intricate knowledge of his craft. You will not get a guarantee of a result because there are no guarantees in life, Virginia. But you will get what you pay for and what you are paying for is top notch legal representation. He is worth every penny, plus some. I value my life and my freedom. There is no price I could put on that.

    Not only would I recommend Mark but when I had a good friend (a grown man, Texan, professional engineer with a great job and amazing family) get into stupid, nonsensical, high stakes trouble in Georgia, I called Mark to refer a top professional in that state, with expertise in that county to replace the underperforming attorney he retained under the duress of the circumstance. He made a quality recommendation.

    Mark can represent you at a county, state or federal level. That's a unique skill set and a testament to his ability. I highly recommend.

  8. Solid and Smart

    Posted by P and J, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is long overdue (I thought I had posted this when it had occurred , but clearly did not). Mark helped our son get out of a couple of scrapes involving his vehicle. One incident involved a high profile attorney's daughter where we live. Even though we lived outside the Houston area, Mark was able to help us get to a good place with these events. No charges were filed on either side and a resolution was reached. I would reccomend Mark to anyone who needed a lawyer's help.

  9. Excellent Federal Criminal Attorney

    Posted by EW, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent attorney. Mr. Bennet took my case and worked with me for 2 years in a federal case. He charged one flat fee and was available for me day and night. Mr. Bennett is very knowledgeable in the federal criminal system and is well respected by all federal agents I came in contact with.

  10. Failure to stop and give information

    Posted by Scott, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Bennett.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was fortunate to find Mark Bennett. I felt like crap after receiving an arrest warrant for a collision I wasn't even involved in. No matter how innocent I was, 'probable cause' means the county thinks I am guilty and up to 6 months in jail is possible. Even if jail time is unlikely, who wants to gamble with it? A more likely outcome would be a plea bargain for probation. How could I agree to that when I did nothing wrong? I would rather risk a conviction and even jail time than plead guilty or no contest. I believe some lawyers prefer plea bargain because it is quick and easy and limits damage. But in my case it means accepting punishment for a crime I did not commit. Fortunately Mark saw it my way. Mark listened carefully to my story and asked many questions to ensure he understood the sequence of events I described. The part I like best about Mark's way of handling the case is that he accepted it for a fixed fee (flat rate). To me, the importance of flat rate is that presumably the prosecution knows that not only do I have the means to finance a jury trial defense, but I have already paid for one.

    Be sure to read every word of Mark Bennett's web site, along with his blog. You will find many answers as well as useful advice. I am convinced Mark puts his beliefs about criminal justice way above personal gain (read his blog to see why). Mark really is a low volume lawyer. I dealt directly with him. He did not make any mistakes, and he was polite when I made mistakes. Though I did a huge amount of work to gather evidence of my innocence, Mark obtained two key items that were not possible for a private citizen to obtain. With any lawyer, I would suggest doing as much leg work and ordinary investigation for your case as possibly. No lawyer is magic. Provide material and let the lawyer decide what to use. I was prepared to give Mark a good review even if the outcome was less than perfect. Even if you are completely guilty, you need the best lawyer possible. I watched people get 6 months jail time for personal use of marijuana, something completely legal in other parts of the country. Oh, and the outcome for my case? DISMISSED! Thank you Mark.