Marshall Douglas Murphy’s Reviews

Marshall Douglas Murphy

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Saved me from losing job

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall more than 3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Driving home from the Houston Rodeo BBQ Cookoff, I was pulled over by police in Brazoria county for running a yellow (soon to be red) light. I failed a field sobriety test and was charged with DWI.

    I knew of Doug Murphy's work and called him immediately after booking. My automobile was a company fleet car. Company policy was termination of employment for any DWI offense. Through great effort, Doug was able to get the DWI dismissed and the charge was reduced to speeding and running a red light.

    If not for Doug's fantastic "lawyering", I would have certainly lost my job. A year after the incident, Doug was also able to have the lesser charges removed from my driving record.

    I highly recommend Doug Murphy.

  2. Attorney as client

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall more than 3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    As an attorney, I knew the best evidence against me was none. Even though I had just been out to dinner with friends- if you're not 110% I knew not to "blow". When pulled over by West U police for rolling a stop sign, I encountered two officers. The older was not pleased with my decision not to perform field sobriety test or breathalyzer. Needless to say I was arrested, which was the most terrifying and humiliating experience of my life. However, working with Mr. Murphy not only made me feel confident that I was getting the best representation possible, he also made me feel human again. I was able to hand my case over to Doug and know he would handle the rest. Upon getting the officers' testimony, Mr. Murphy promptly met with the Asst. District Attorney and my case was quickly dismissed. He also referred me to an attorney who handled my occupational license case. My case has since been expunged. I could not possibly be more pleased with his representation and although I hope to never be in need of his services again, I would wholeheartedly and without reservation recommend him.

  3. Best in the Biz...

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall more than 3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I had the pleasure of having the best lawyer for the job to assist me in a criminal matter that seemed like it would take my life from me. Doug was supremely beneficial in making sure my life stayed on track and in ultimately getting the charges against me dropped. My family and I will always owe a huge debt of gratitude to Doug for being here to help us, as well as other people who have to deal with the supremely inefficient and lopsided justice system. Never doubt his tactics because he's always in it for YOUR best interest. Tell your friends this is the guy to call when they get in trouble!

  4. Best DWI Lawyer

    Posted by Lauren, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall more than 3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A few months ago I was pulled over for speeding. I admitted to having a drink but refused a breathalyzer. I was charged with a DWI and taken to jail. A friend recommended Mr. Murphy. Hiring a lawyer is a big decision but when I met Mr. Murphy I hired him on the spot. He was very patient answering all my questions and is extremely knowledgeable about the law. My case was ultimately dismissed and my record expunged. I was so lucky to have Mr. Murphy on my side!

  5. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Jorge, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall more than 3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After getting pulled over and receiving a DWI I called several lawyers over the phone. After explaining my situation they all gave me an estimated cost and practically told me they could try to get me probation, a fine, and my license would be suspended for a period of time. Then I ran into an article about the top Lawyers in Texas and decided to call, Mr. Murphy did not give me a quote over phone, he simply asked me to meet him at his office and after explaining my case he asked that if I hired him i needed to be ready to fight because he was not going to negotiate with the DA. Long story short I never even saw or talked to the judge my case was dismissed. Thanks Doug!

  6. JG

    Posted by JG, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall 1-3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Doug is extremely knowledgeable and thorough, and is well respected by prosecutors and judges throughout southeast Texas. This combination made him exceptionally effective in advocating my case.

  7. Doug Murphy

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.

    Doug Murphy is a lawyer I would recommend to anyone I know. When I brought my case to Doug he made no judgments he just took it as a mistake that we all could make. Through out the entire process Doug made me feel better about my situation and made it clear that he would do everything in his power to help me and he did. I owe alot to Doug, and I really appreciate everything he did for me. Doug is a lawyer who actually does care about his clients, I was not really a believer in such a thing until Doug represented my case.

  8. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Ryan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall more than 3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was pulled over after rolling a stop sign around the corner from my sister’s house about 2 years ago. The field sobriety test didn’t exactly go according to the plan and then I refused to blow. I was referred to Doug from a friend, and that was easily the best money I have spent in a very long time - probably ever. The case was dismissed within about 6 months at tops. In addition to being extremely knowledgeable, he took a very personable approach which was and still is greatly appreciated! Doug is a stand-up guy that I would strongly recommend to my closest friends, and of course to all.

  9. Professional

    Posted by Eric, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall more than 3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Doug Murphy is a very skilled and artful litigator , would , and have recommended him several times. All parties achieved the results they wanted.

  10. Review of Marshall Douglas Murphy

    Posted by Alex, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marshall Murphy.
    • I hired Marshall 1-3 years ago.
    • Marshall handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Doug is a Great Lawyer that came very highly recommended. I used his services for my second DUI. My case was dismissed. I am very thankful for what Doug was able to do for me.