Stuart L. Brown’s Reviews

Stuart L. Brown

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Shady practice

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Stuart because my ex wanted to modify our existing order. Long story short, this process took over a year because this office has no organization and can't keep employees apparently so just when you think the legal assistant knows you and your case, they get someone to replace him. The staff lacks communication altogether and you have to call repeatedly to actually speak to someone. My case only finally got finished after more than a year because it was on the docket to be thrown out for being open for so long with no activity. All the promises went out the window and my order basically remained the same because the few modifications I had wanted, which were "no problem" in our original consultation, I was now advised the judge would not agree or go for and that I'd be wasting time/money trying to fight for it. That would have been nice to know up front before spending so much money for nothing.

  2. Worst Decision Ever

    Posted by Jimmie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart 6-12 months ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Stuart for a divorce case and over $8,000 dollars later I am being force to represent myself to finalize my divorce. He is not for the client he is just in it for the money. He acts like he cares and than will send you no communication and if he thinks he hasn't received any money he will attack you verbally via email. The office he works for is disorganize not what you would expect paying $300 an hour. Stay Away

  3. Worst experience ever

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Child Support matter.

    I wish I had seen this website and his reviews before I hired Stuart. His communication skills are nonexistent and his assistant Annette is the same. I tried to take my husband back to court to get child support. What should have been a simple case turned into a nightmare. Please don't waste your money on this attorney.

  4. Horrible Communication and Just wants money

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Child Custody matter.

    Stuart seemed very professional in the beginning and said if we chose him that he could get documents written and served to the father within a few days to a week. This is of course before you pay him his nominal $3,500 retainer. Then after he has his money he never returns phone calls or any follow up information. After 1 month goes by with not a word, we withdraw services. Of course there is a $500 clause written that he can keep from the retainer no matter what just for duping you into using his services. It took him 2 weeks to even write a simple check out so we could get our retainer back. Such horrible service and they typical bad attorney just in it for the money and not another care in the world. Would highly recommend to not give this guy any business whatsoever.

  5. Not what he promise he will be at ALL!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Child Support matter.

    I hired Stu as my attorney in a child support case that is in Virginia. He represented me here in Texas to determine the child support. He promised the world in the initial consultation and took my CASH gladly. He said he had this taken care of, this one shouldn't be a problem at all, he said. He ended up taking the easiest way out for himself when it finally got to court. Talked me into something I wasn't comfortable with but said it was my best bet. So here I am 6 months later and am still having issues with the state that he was suppose to keep updated on. Well let's just say that didn't happen. All I got was a nasty email from him telling me that they were going to through me in jail and I needed to take care of it, no other response or advice. Guess that's what I get for being foolish enough to pay him all cash up front. I ended up going to the state to release him as my attorney with no help from him I am in no better shape now than when I started. Actually he has made it much worse for me. My suggestion if for some crazy reason you do use his services, DON'T PAY HIM IN CASH UP FRONT.

  6. Excellent attorney

    Posted by BB, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stu represented me in a high-conflict custody battle, and he was able to win a vicious, two year legal ordeal. He was referred to me as an excellent atty who always wins, and my case is no exception.
    My ex-wife had tested positive for methamphetamine use and CPS had taken away her child by another man, yet Collin County saw fit to give my ex-wife partial custody. As a result, my daughter was exposed to drug use , sex and other social pathologies--all because the court is loathe to hold parents accountable for their actions/bad behavior. The current legal trend is for judges to cling to the principle that joint conservatorship is in the child's best interest--when in fact in some cases this arrangement can be harmful to the child. Stu was able to demolish the court's biases and and help me protect my child by winning me sole conservatorship. He gets the job done and he keeps you in the loop--and his rates are reasonable (personally, for the amount of time and BS he saves you, he's easily worth double his rates). Thanks again Stu . . .

  7. Non-Responsive

    Posted by Ken, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This attorney appeared to be with-it during initial consultation. If you dont take all his recommendtions, he just does nothing, will not return phone calls, does not return emails, does not read or review motions or settlement proposals from the opossing counsel. Will not supply invoice of remaining retainer. He had to be removed from the case in order for my case to proceed.

  8. THE BEST ATTORNEY

    Posted by Steven, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stuart Brown did my Divorce in 2009, he did an execellent job on every issue. I would highy reccommend him to anyone for anything, he definitely has "lets get it done attitude". I'm proud to say after my divorce was final, I made a friend with Stuart, Thanks Stuart for everything. You the man.

  9. Excellent Attorney in Plano, Texas

    Posted by Karen Ambrose, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used another firm to handle my divorce case and was extremely dissatisfied. I went to Stuart (based on a referral from from a friend) when I needed help in filing a Protective Order against my ex-husband for the protection of my children and myself. He subsequently represented me in a case to remove the Domicile Restriction from my Divorce Decree. We won both cases.

    I have recommended Stuart to several friends who are also extremely pleased. He is a good man and an excellent attorney - the combination of which is difficult to find!

  10. Excellent choice in divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Brown.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stuart Brown was prepared on first visit. He had paperwork and information prepared ahead of time for our first consultation. He explained procedures and options in simple terms and listened to the direction I wanted to go. He was understanding, yet very professional leading me through this process. As a 58 year old woman, married 38 years, I would highly recommend Him.