Charles Martin Markwell’s Reviews

Charles Martin Markwell

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by Cheryl, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 6-12 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Guss for anyone seeking an attorney, especially for bankruptcy. He is very knowledgeable in all aspects of the bankruptcy process and he explained it in simple, easy-to-understand language. Our mortgage company was very slow and less than cooperative with our loan reaffirmation, and Guss kept in constant contact with them, pushing them along to get it finished. He was always just a phone call or email away, and always very professional. His prices were competitive with other lawyers in the area. Great guy and highly recommended!

  2. Easy to talk to lawyer

    Posted by Craig, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Charles helped my wife and I with a bankruptcy case due to job loss. He was very knowledgeable of the legal system and was readily available, even on weekends. We are very satisfied with the effort he put forth on our case and recommend him to anyone in need of an attorney.

  3. Better call Guss!

    Posted by Jan, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Guss was able to lead me through the wilderness of bankruptcy. He met with me and we discussed my situation with its various options. Once I decided on a plan, he and his staff made all of the anxious moments fade away. He has some great tips for you if you find yourself in financial trouble. I recommend him highly!

  4. Great job!

    Posted by Joseph, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Markwell was very personable. He handled my case himself. He did not turn me over to a paralegal or alternate attorny. He delt with me on a one on one basis. I could contact him personaly at any time with no run around. He kept me informed through every phase of my case and continued to help me with any questions or concerns I had even after my case was completed. Very knowledgeable. I now consider him my personal attorney and will use his services for any other matters that arise

  5. A Great Attorney!! Give Him a Call!!

    Posted by Mary, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Markwell is awesome. Very knowledable, professional, and attentative to details. I highly recommend him for all your legal needs. He definitely helped me alot.

  6. VERY HELPFULL IN OUR BANKRUPTCY

    Posted by Don and Kim, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Our family is off to a fresh start thanks to Guss. He is highy recomended by my family. Very responsive even to the most pain of a client hahaaa. No Guss returned all my calls and concerns very rapidly and answered all of our questions quickly and honestly. We are very pleased and happy with all the professional service he provided us. Thanks again Mr. Markwell

  7. A Plus!!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Charles was very helpful and understanding of my situation and made me feel at ease with the whole bankrutcy process. Very responsive and quick turn around times with my questions. I highly reccommend Charles!!!

  8. Down to Earth Lawyer

    Posted by Katie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Guss (Charles) Markwell was professional, and didn't use lawyer jargon - he spoke to me like a human being, and took his time...I never felt rushed and all of my questions were answered. His replies via email/phone were always prompt, and his fees were competitive (for bankruptcy). I'd definitely recommend him to anyone needing a BK lawyer!

  9. Recommendation for services

    Posted by Craig, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Gus for anyone that is having a financial crisis and needs a way out. He is the most easy going , knowledgeable, and experienced attorney Ive ever worked with. Most attorneys are really hard to understand and follow, but Gus explains everything so that anyone can understand and follow. He has made a very difficult part of my life seem like it was not a big deal at all. Best decision I could have made. Thanks Gus

  10. Highly recommened

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Markwell.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was very happy with the service Mr. Markwell provided. He was very knowledgeable in all aspects of my case. The communication was second to none, he was always very prompt and understanding in returning my calls. My case turned out exactly as he described it should go. I would highly recommend Mr. Markwell if you have a need for a bankruptcy lawyer.