Matthew S. Chase’s Reviews

Matthew S. Chase

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent

    Posted by Zerell Leverett,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Mr. Chase answered the phone and was very responsive. He listened carefully and gave me very good advice. He was knowledgable and direct. Would definitely recommend him to anyone who needs a lawyer. He is someone that you want on your side someone who would listen and take into account everything. Mr Chase is a Godsend.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much. If you have any further needs, please call.

      Posted 3 days ago. Flag

  2. Great Advice!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Matthew was a great voice of reason and gave sound advice on the questions I asked him. I won't go into specifics but he took the time to speak with me directly and I would recommend seeking him for representation if needed.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much. Glad to have been helpful.

      Posted 9 days ago. Flag

  3. Tenant

    Posted by Brit, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew < 1 month ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After calling Matthew Chase about my problems with my tenants rights, I was very satisfied with him confirming my rights and the landlord right. He gave me great pointer about my situation. And even offer to help me if my case goes to court. I have also been able to move forward on what I need to do about my situation. Thank You

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much. Glad to have been helpful.

      Posted 9 days ago. Flag

  4. Absolutely Fantastic Attorney - HIRE HIM IMMEDIATELY!!

    Posted by Rebecca, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been working with Mr. Chase now for a little over 6 months. In that time, he has proven himself to be an extremely educated, well versed and professional attorney with a great knowledge in Rent and Possession cases. Mr. Chase is the first attorney I have ever worked with that when you reach out to him either via email or phone call, you actually reach him and not some green secretary that forgets to pass along your message. I feel that no matter if it's day or night, I can reach out to him and always get a quick answer. I've had to go to court with him by my side for multiple court hearings and he is always in charge and knows exactly what he's doing. Our company files roughly 15-20 evictions a month and Mr. Chase has yet to get us anything but the best on all of the cases! I insist you hire him, he does not charge an astronomical amount of money and he is worth every penny!

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Rebecca. I very much enjoy working with your company, and appreciate the business always.

      Posted 9 days ago. Flag

  5. Very Professional and Prompt

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I contacted Mr Chase for some advise on a matter that i had some concern about. He was very fast in responding to my email and even contacted me after hours. Although I did not need an attorney for this matter I will definitely keep his name and number handy.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much. Glad to have been helpful. Please of course call if something requiring legal counsel arises.

      Posted 9 days ago. Flag

  6. Matthew Chase is professional, courteous, thorough and knowledgeable

    Posted by Leroy, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you want a lawyer who cares. It’s not easy I certainly met my share but I can assure you Matthew S. Chase is truly concerned about his clients. He worked very hard for me to make sure I got the best possible outcome. I had no surprises and everything I needed to do was clearly laid out for me. You can’t ask for any more than that from an attorney.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much, Leroy, for the kind comments. Please don't hesitate to call if circumstances require it.

      Posted 23 days ago. Flag

  7. Thank You Matthew Chase...5 Stars...Mission Accomplished!!!

    Posted by Christian, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Chase is a fantastic attorney and I would rank his abilities amongst the best of the best in the St.Louis area. I strongly recommend Mr. Chase to anyone seeking immediate legal assistance, representation, and or legal advise relevant to the areas of tenant and criminal law.

    My family and I found ourselves held hostage and victims of a local landlord who had been unlawfully detaining our family possessions for over a 3 month period and had been operating a large scale criminal organization, which preyed upon low income, hard working, & innocent tenants. As the St.Louis City Police Department sat around and laughed at us, with no intentions to do anything but hold strong to their blind eye, Mr. Chase, within the first day of contact, invited my family and I to his home in order to formulate an aggressive legal strategy, attacking head on the injustices committed against my family by career criminals and now local authorities.

    As the federal government and state agencies ignored our pleas for help, Mr. Chase stood strong in the line of fire and fought for what was truly right in the language of the law. Within 24 hours, Mr. Chase had successfully made his entry, offered an immediate resolution to our legal problems, and within 2 months had victoriously resolved all legal entanglements, including amending a Class C felony charge down to peace disturbance. The felony charge was stemming from my attempts to rectify the situation civilly, under the guidance and direction of the St.Louis City Civil Court system, Police Department, and Prosecutor, which unfortunately was done prior to hiring a private attorney and in the long run cost my family our savings and threatened my freedom.

    Mr. Chase contacted us immediately after submitting to the Avvo site and offered a very insightful look down the road of what was to be expected moving forward and offered payment structuring in a manner which made his services very affordable to our family. Mr.Chase represented, my family and I, on five related cases, in which, Matthew Chase obtained favorable results in each case and successfully won judgement in our favor against our landlord.

    Mr. Chase more than exceeded my expectations and has truly earned the 5 star review! Mr.Chase is a true life saver, a genuine caring person learned in the law, and a unswerving industry professional setting the standard for expert legal representation in the St.Louis area. I am grateful for choosing Matthew Chase as my attorney and will continue to utilize his services moving forward, he has done an excellent job!

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much, Christian. I am glad we were able to help and obtain the result we did. You certainly helped me, and I must thank you, as you are one of the most organized clients I have had. Ever. That helps a lot. Look forward to hopefully working with you on more positive matters in the future.

      Posted 23 days ago. Flag

  8. An Excellent And Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by Joseph, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matt Chase was and still is an excellent and knowledgeable attorney. When I was having issues with a former landlord, Matt was resilient, steadfast, and extremely knowledgeable about my rights as a paying tenant. He defended those occupant rights and remained persistent until the end. He was approachable; he was responsive, and he kept me informed about our next move. I plan to hire him again on other corporate development projects.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Joseph. Very nice working with you and hope to do so in the future.

      Posted 23 days ago. Flag

  9. Mr. Chase, a best lawyer, great achievement!

    Posted by Lisa, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thanks Mr.Chase who represented me in the landlord-tenant case. I appreciate all hard works he has done and the great & quick results have been achieved. It is 100% fully satisfied. In fact, it is over my expectation. I made initial call to Mr. Chase for free consultation by the end of May. With Mr. Chase's help, in about two weeks, I got the consent judgement signed by the tenant. By the end of Jun, I got full payment of 2.5 months rent and possession. The whole process took about one month. I'll strongly recommend Mr.Chase and I'll hire him again for any legal issue in the future. Best lawyer!

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Lisa, glad that we were able to get your matter handled quickly and to your satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to call in the future.

      Posted 23 days ago. Flag

  10. DO NOT HIRE THIS LAWYER OR YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!!!!

    Posted by Very unsatisfied client, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Just a bit of history, I hired him several months ago for a landlord/tenant dispute. He never actually had me sign a contract or agreement about what our relationship would entail as far as payment, etc. Next he had me upload all my data on Dropbox. After I uploaded it, I then waited several weeks not hearing anything from him. Next I contacted him via email and he stated he was "on vacation", which he was on ALOT, and he would look over the file when he got back. He did this trick several times through the entire time he was hired. About a month after I uploaded the material, he discussed things, but when I talked to him, he sounded very confused and that again he had not even looked over my case or the material for my case. Again, he was very unprepared. Next, when it came to negotiating with the other attorney on my behalf, he would not contact the other attorney and give the terms to the other attorney that I had agreed to. He kept telling me he would call and the other attorney would not return his call (I do not think this is even true). He would say he was delaying on purpose which again is not true. When I asked to see the correspondence with the other lawyer, again, he delayed asking me why I wanted to see it, then tried to explain to me why there was a lack of correspondence or no communication of agreed terms to the other attorney by the "delay" reason. I finally gave up and hired another attorney. When asked for a refund of my money from him, he did not give me an itemized receipt and came up with "a number of hours spent on the case" to justify keeping the money. In reality, we had only exchange a few emails and had one telephone call, during which time he acted like he never even knew the material for my case. My new lawyer has stated he has had interactions with him in the past and that each time, Mr. Chase lost the case, once because he turned in something too late and other time it was for incompetence on his part as well. When I tried to get my file from Mr. Chase, again, he delayed and stated he was "on vacation" and would have it done when he gets back. He never did and when I asked him about it a second time, he stated "he destroyed it" and it could not be passed along to my new attorney. Please do not hire this attorney. Again, I am currently submitting a complaint to the bar association for this interaction. I hope this helps any other unsuspecting people looking to hire an attorney.

314-757-4861