Matthew S. Chase’s Reviews

Matthew S. Chase

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An Excellent And Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by Joseph, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matt Chase was and still is an excellent and knowledgeable attorney. When I was having issues with a former landlord, Matt was resilient, steadfast, and extremely knowledgeable about my rights as a paying tenant. He defended those occupant rights and remained persistent until the end. He was approachable; he was responsive, and he kept me informed about our next move. I plan to hire him again on other corporate development projects.

  2. DO NOT HIRE THIS LAWYER OR YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!!!!

    Posted by Very unsatisfied client, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Just a bit of history, I hired him several months ago for a landlord/tenant dispute. He never actually had me sign a contract or agreement about what our relationship would entail as far as payment, etc. Next he had me upload all my data on Dropbox. After I uploaded it, I then waited several weeks not hearing anything from him. Next I contacted him via email and he stated he was "on vacation", which he was on ALOT, and he would look over the file when he got back. He did this trick several times through the entire time he was hired. About a month after I uploaded the material, he discussed things, but when I talked to him, he sounded very confused and that again he had not even looked over my case or the material for my case. Again, he was very unprepared. Next, when it came to negotiating with the other attorney on my behalf, he would not contact the other attorney and give the terms to the other attorney that I had agreed to. He kept telling me he would call and the other attorney would not return his call (I do not think this is even true). He would say he was delaying on purpose which again is not true. When I asked to see the correspondence with the other lawyer, again, he delayed asking me why I wanted to see it, then tried to explain to me why there was a lack of correspondence or no communication of agreed terms to the other attorney by the "delay" reason. I finally gave up and hired another attorney. When asked for a refund of my money from him, he did not give me an itemized receipt and came up with "a number of hours spent on the case" to justify keeping the money. In reality, we had only exchange a few emails and had one telephone call, during which time he acted like he never even knew the material for my case. My new lawyer has stated he has had interactions with him in the past and that each time, Mr. Chase lost the case, once because he turned in something too late and other time it was for incompetence on his part as well. When I tried to get my file from Mr. Chase, again, he delayed and stated he was "on vacation" and would have it done when he gets back. He never did and when I asked him about it a second time, he stated "he destroyed it" and it could not be passed along to my new attorney. Please do not hire this attorney. Again, I am currently submitting a complaint to the bar association for this interaction. I hope this helps any other unsuspecting people looking to hire an attorney.

  3. On demand and upfront

    Posted by Nikya,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Called between 9-930 p.m expecting to leave a voicemail. Nope! He answered right away. He kept it straight up with me and didn't sugar coat anything. Answered every question I asked. I love the fact that he was on demand and upfront!

  4. The late night call

    Posted by Austin,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Called at 11pm thinking he had a voicemail set up and it ended up being his own personal cell. Very respectable and didn't act in a hostile manner when I woke him during his sleep. He gave me some very resourceful information that I can utilize amongst the near future!

    Overall he seems like a caring individual and is very knowledgable! I would most indefinitely recommend him!

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you, Austin, and no worries. A late call now and then isn't going to kill me. :-)

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  5. excellent

    Posted by Adrianne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Mr chase was veryeasy to contact and also followed up with me at the times he was busy. His input was helpful and informative. I look forward to continuing my services with him

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much for your review.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  6. Very prompt and knowledgeable

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I appreciate Mr. Chase's prompt attention to the question I posted on his site. I had followed up with an email to him, and he quickly called me to discuss the situation of my concern. He is very knowledgeable about the law and I felt he understood and was on my side. Should I ever need further legal representation, I would definitely consider him because I feel he would do his job and do his job right.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks very much for taking your time to submit this review.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  7. Fast, Efficient & Professional

    Posted by Kevin, a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matthew navigated a legal maze, made contact with the appropriate local officials and agencies and secured a records release within 24 hours. Within 4 days we had a notarized copy of the requested records and were able to respond within the time allotted for response. Matthew also contacted a local state agency to make them aware of our records search and expected response times.
    Excellent communications throughout. Was kept abreast of all developments. Will not hesitate to use Matthew again.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks very much for taking your time to submit this review. Glad I was able to help.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  8. Consummate professional and extremely quick response times!

    Posted by Justin, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My wife and I recently engaged Mr. Chase on a legal issue we were having involving a lease agreement. He was prompt, professional, and extremely knowledgeable about the subject. I will continue to use this gentleman now and into the future. He was very helpful and helped assuage our fears about the matter.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks very much for taking your time to submit this review.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  9. AN ABSOLUTE GOD SEND!

    Posted by Susan, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Foreclosure matter.

    I was searching this site to find an answer regarding a foreclosure. Needless to say I was upset and very worried. I contacted Mr. Chase and was immediately impressed by his knowledge as well as his direct honesty and professionalism. I hired him and he was able to negotiate a very favorable settlement for me. Thank you Mr. Chase for making this extremely difficult situation bearable. I appreciate everything you did for me.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks very much for taking your time to submit this review.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  10. Just fantastic.

    Posted by Josh, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I originally called Matthew to seek advice over an issue with our tenant. He gave me fantastic advice and I decided to hire him on the basis that I felt comfortable with him representing us in any legal issues we could potentially have with the said tenant.
    He was knowledgeable, supportive, and gave us the right advice, not just what we wanted to hear. He was willing to do this without the 'dollar due' thrown into the conversation. I would highly recommend him with any tenant/landlord disputes and will keep his number close by for any future issues we may have (you never know in this day in age) Thanks Matt - really!

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks very much for taking your time to submit this review.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

314-757-4861