Matthew S. Chase’s Reviews

Matthew S. Chase

Average Rating

Based on 39 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Tenant eviction

    Posted by Betty,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    He said he could do it and he did it!! No nonsense kind of guy!! I will definitely contact him whenever I need help again. He even went above the call of duty and got more than I asked for.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much, Betty. Pleasure to work with you and I look forward to working with you again! Thanks for the review!

      Posted 5 days ago. Flag

  2. Needing to have rental property declared "abandoned".

    Posted by Mark,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I needed to have my rental unit declared abandoned after my tenant who was several months behind in rent ended up in prison. Matthew gave me instructions on how to do this as well as a sample letter for me to use as a guide. He made it very simple for me to get done.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Glad to have helped. Best of luck!

      Posted 27 days ago. Flag

  3. Tenant complaint with Landlord on early termination of lease

    Posted by Karen,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I recently submitted early termination of my lease which ends in 3 months. i gave 60 days notice to my LL who indicated they were ok with the notice until started to move out prior to the 60 days. I still paid rent for the 60 days. After I moved out and turned over keys my LL started harrassing me telling me I still had to pay 1.5 more months over the 60 days plus holding my security deposit due to cleaning and damages. LL sent threatening message indicating reporting me to police for vandalism. I was shocked. I had lived in the residence for 6 years and yes some dirt and wear and tear of 6 years. I was worried about this and called a couple different attorneys the past 2 weeks with no return calls. I found Mr Chase's info on AVVO and called the number. The person answered immediately and I thought I dialed incorrectly so I hung up only to call again and find that it was actually Mr Chase. I was a little embarrassed..lol.. I walked MR Chase through my issues and he was nothing but honest, knowledgeable, straight forward and spent at least 10 minutes listening ...and advising....not charging for the initial discussion. I can go through the weekend not worrying about the LL's threatening emails. I will definitely hire Mr Chase if I need him in the future.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Glad to be able to help. If you do end up needing counsel, I'd be pleased to work with you. Thank you for the kind words!

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  4. Very helpful!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Mr. Chase doesn't practice in the area of law I needed but pointed me in the direction where I should go. Mr. Chase answered my call immediately and was very helpful. Mr. Chase actually went above and beyond and contacted the attorney he recommended to let them know I would be calling!

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Glad to be able to help and point you in the right direction. As attorneys, all of us have, at times, delved into areas which aren't our specialty, but as with most attorneys who've done this for a while, I've found my niche in a couple of specific areas of the law, and everything else I'll try to send you to the right folks to help, if I can.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  5. Terrific Attorney!

    Posted by April,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I called Mr. Chase about an eviction notice that my husband and I recieved after being wrongfully treated by our landlord. He told us exactly what I rights were and what the landlord could and couldn't do. We were so relieved to learn that our landlord couldn't do they things he was threatening us with. He gave us the name and number of a women that could help out more since my husband is a disabled veteran. I am so relieved that I called and talked to Mr. Chase and got the information and help we needed.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you for the kind words. I hope that you were able to find the right help, and don't let unscrupulous landlords take advantage of you.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. Great lawyer and wonderful advice

    Posted by Elvia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I contacted Matthew in regards to my ex husband and finances that i feel i have been taken advantage of. It wasn't a straightforward case and had quite a few aspects to be covered. I had been in contact with a few lawyers and none of them offered the knowledge and expertise that Matthew did. I highly recommend Matthew Chase and would contact him again if i ever needed any legal help.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much for the kind words. I look forward to working with you in the future, should the need arise.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  7. Talk About Responsive and Trustworthy !!

    Posted by Veronica,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I had to find an attorney who understood our need to get tenans ben After looking for a new Landlord/ Tenant Attorney for two days, a friend recommended Attorney Chase. I waited for four attorneys to call me back that day and they never did. Attorney Chase called me back within that hour and immediately emailed me the information I needed to know about his services the very next day. He was out of town that week and still communicated with me on his way there as well as on his way back to St. Louis on some pressing issues. Attorney Chase has been our Landlord/Tenant attorney now for almost 9 months and his response time hasn't changed. I deal with a lot of unseen issues being a Property Manager in the City Of St. Louis and Attorney Chase has assisted me on prompt evictions as well as possible criminal issues . I've never had a problem with being misinformed or led astray on a legal matter. Trust me if he's not 100% sure he will do the research and get back to you immediately. Talk about going above and beyond !! He is an awesome ,reliable, friendly attorney with great Tenant/Landlord knowledge.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I very much enjoy working with you as well. Glad to be helpful!

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  8. Matthew S. Chase -- A Terrific Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Mr. Chase is a terrific attorney. He is extremely responsive, he is extremely knowledgeable, and gave me excellent and timely advice. I would highly recommend Mr. Chase.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for the kind words. Glad to have helped and look forward to working with you in the future.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  9. Great consultation

    Posted by Don,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    I called Matthew with a landlord-tenant question, Matthew was responsive, thorough and pleasant to work with. He provided good direction and helped ease my concerns with my tenant issue. I highly recommend Matthew, he's a solid legal professional.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Glad to have helped. Please call back if I can be of further assistance. Thank you for the kind words.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  10. Very informative

    Posted by mwjk2013,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Chase.

    Mr chase called me immediately after posting my question and was very informative. He gave me a lot of information and advice. Thank you.

    1. Matthew S. Chase

      Matthew S. Chase

      Lawyer Comment:

      Glad to have helped. Please call back if I can be of further assistance.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

314-757-4861