Steven Anderson Leahy’s Reviews

Steven Anderson Leahy

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Successful Home Modification from Attorney Leahy!

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In our first meeting with Attorney Leahy, my husband and I felt very comfortable.
    We met to discuss the options regarding the foreclosure process of our home.
    Attorney Leahy was very kind, patient & thorough in explaining our options to us.
    He took time and laid out possible scenarios for us regarding the foreclosure & answered all of our concerns.

    Suzanne was extremely helpful with us as well throughout the duration of our case.
    She was very prompt on getting us the answers we needed.

    As a result of one of the best decisions we have made, Attorney Leahy saved our home & we received a home modification.

    We highly recommend Attorney Leahy, he provided us with relief & piece of mind during the entire process!

    1. Steven Anderson Leahy

      Steven Leahy

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm happy we could help!
      - Attorney Steven A. Leahy

      Posted 11 days ago. Flag

  2. An Understanding and Knowledgeable Attorney

    Posted by Mary, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Due to a series of unfortunate luck, I needed the service's of Mr. Leahy. I felt from the very beginning I had picked the right attorney. He helped me through making a very difficult decision and explained everything very clearly, sometimes more than once. He is extremely patient and very knowledgeable. His staff is friendly and always there to answer questions. My bankruptcy was delayed for over a year, again due to unfortunate incidents, and they never made me feel rushed. I know they were getting phone calls from creditors, but just told me to file when ready.

    I would highly recommend Mr Leahy.

  3. Honost & Great to have on your side!

    Posted by Julio, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I just want to say it's been great working with Steven Leahy. I went to him because he help my dad a few years ago with similar situation. I came to some meeting my dad had with Steven just to check him out. I personally have dealt with allot of attorneys in my profession over the last 13years. With that said, i had trust issues with many attorneys out there that are just out there to take your money. I could say that this is not the case with Steven, he did %100 work %100 of the time. Even long after he was paid for his services. He is a person that I could recommend to everyone very trustworthy, which is a hard trait for find in an attorney now a days.

  4. With me side-by-side during the most stressful financial situation I've ever faced

    Posted by Joseph, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I worked hard my entire 17+ year career to build a home, financial stability, and a future for myself. When I was laid off from work in 2012, I had to dip into my "emergency fund" that I diligently built during the years I was employed. Thankfully, I recovered from that unemployment to start working again later in the year.

    Unfortunately, disaster struck twice in less than a year... I found myself laid off from work after a mere 8 months of being employed again. Those 8 months didn't provide me with the opportunity to re-build my "safety net/rainy day fund." It didn't take long before I started to fall behind on mortgage payments and credit card bills. I knew that what was happening to me was outside of my control, but I tried everything I could to work with my creditors to find an exit from the situation in which I found myself.

    Attorney Leahy, and his team, patiently described options available to me in a calm, professional and caring manner. He was open and honest, and really made me feel welcome. Ultimately, I decided that a voluntary bankruptcy petition would be the solution that best met my needs. As much as I had hoped to avoid that scenario, I ran out of options.

    Once I decided to file for bankruptcy, I had no hesitation to hire Attorney Steven Leahy to prepare my petition and represent me. I am so glad I did. Attorney Leahy and his staff were with me every step of the way. He was kind, professional, patient, and demonstrated competence about bankruptcy law. I never hesitated contacting him, or a member of his staff, when I had questions about my case. During this very stressful situation, I can honestly say that his team helped put me at ease!

  5. A Lawyer You Can Count On

    Posted by Ken, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Tax matter.

    I was hurt on the job and the past three years were very difficult. I was able to pay expenses, but because I was “not working” the bank kept giving me the run around. I sent information numerous times to the bank, but they kept telling me that they never received the information. I was getting very discouraged. I wasn’t sure where to turn. I had worked with an attorney in the past and I was dissatisfied with his lack of concern for what I was going through and the careless follow through. Steven, you did what you said you would. I never felt uncomfortable talking about my situation with you. You understood what I was going through and you explained my legal issues so that I could understand them. Whenever I had a question or issue, you were extremely responsive…something I was not used to with the other attorney. And, you never charged more than our agreed price, no matter how many times I called or how many questions I had. My case seemed as important to you as it was to me. Thanks for that Steven and a whole lot more. You were my light at the end of a very dark tunnel. You are a true professional and your thorough staff was remarkable. I highly recommend Steven Leahy with my big two thumbs up!!!

  6. Have faith in steve when it is difficult to do with others

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Thank you Steve for the unexpected 500.00 dollars credit that you have sent me from the court fee. That proved to me your honesty and ethical character. Since our first office meeting I felt comfortable sharing my situation with you. I felt that I was able to trust you. You came through with your words and helped me keep my house from foreclosure. I have worked with other lawyers before and have shown that you are above them all. Thanks again for your professionalism and ethics.

  7. A Lawyer with Integrity !

    Posted by Mary, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Mr. Leahy and his staff are the most kind, efficient, caring , knowledgeable people that I have ever met!
    I found Mr. Leahy 4 years ago when my house was going into foreclosure, a very confusing and tumultuous time for me. He explained what needed to be done and how he could accomplish that for me. He also handled my bankruptcy.He quoted me a fair price and has done EXACTLY what he had promised to do!
    Mr. Leahy and his staff have always treated me with respect and dignity, something that I really appreciated especially when one is going through such a difficult time.

    I am so delighted that I had the good fortune of finding such a fair and upstanding lawyer and his staff to take help me solve my financial problems! I don't know where I would be if I hadn't found them.
    I can't thank them enough!

  8. Best Attorney We've Ever Had AND a Very Nice Guy

    Posted by Chuck,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

    Dear Steven:

    As I have said to you on many occasions, I’m a hard sell. When my wife first suggested that we contact you, we were about as in need of an attorney as anyone could be, but I refused to accept that there was a solution to our problem. Talk about down and out, defeated in spirit, and negative to the core, I was there. Nonetheless, she was determined that we meet with you. We did, and, as a result, we are now at a place that I could not have dreamed of.

    You said that you would address our credit issues, which were myriad, act on our behalf with the IRS, and help us with foreclosures on two houses. All that was for a flat fee, and if that wasn’t enough, we could give you a down payment and pay the balance monthly. It sounded too good to be true, and that’s what I said to my wife. She told me that we could proceed in any way I thought was best, but that everyone in your office assured her that you were good to your word and a nice man. Heady compliments in this day and age. I didn’t believe it, of course.

    Not only have you done everything that you said you would, but you have shown an interest that I would never have expected. I thought your “flat fee approach” would vanish once the final monthly payment was made, but that was a year and a half ago, and you have been as attentive and responsive as the first day we signed the agreement. You were also very effective. We were able to keep one of our homes, both of our cars, and all of our personal property. You helped us avoid foreclosure by negotiating an alternative with one of our lenders. And, last but not least, you helped us deal with the IRS and get back on track with our taxes.

    You know, Steven, they say that word of mouth is the best form of advertising. Unfortunately, words cannot adequately express how much you have done for my wife and me. I can’t describe the countless sleepless nights and the thoughts of failure with no hope of a solution. I would never have met you and, more importantly, trusted you if not for my wife, but I’m grateful that I did. It’s impossible to describe the difference your actions have made in our lives. Thank you from the bottom of my heart, and God bless you.

    As a closing thought, sometimes you read testimonials such as this, and the writer doesn’t give his full name or address. I often question those, and, given the circumstances, privacy is certainly an issue. However, this is too important to the people who need someone like you to help them, so please, if anyone asks, give them my name and phone number so they can put aside those doubts and let you help them to start over financially.

  9. Steven Leahy the ATTORNEY you want !!!!!!

    Posted by Kelly, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Foreclosure matter.

    If you are seeking a lawyer who is knowledgeable, compassionate, and accessable. Steven Leahy is the person you are looking for........Several years ago, we blindly chose Steven Leahy off of the internet to help us out with our Home remod/foreclosure process. It turned out to be one of the best financial decisions we have ever made. We knew of friends and neighbors going through similar experiences with their lawyers, and it is amazing how much better the results can be with the right attorney. From day one, Steven and his staff truly cared about our situation. With his wide array of financial knowledge, we not only used him for the foreclosure process, but also for filing bankruptcy and tax advice. 3 years ago, I never could have predicted the results that Steven has provided us. Our financial situation has improved greatly and we are still living in our home hassle-free. He has helped us every step of the way without any surprises or unexpected fees. His staff is also amazing and always willing to handle our questions with quick and knowledgeable responses. The peace of mind he has given our family is truly priceless and I would gladly recommend him to anyone who wants to get a positive result from a bad situation.

  10. Mr. Leahy Helped Us

    Posted by John, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Leahy.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    After attempting a mortgage modification the mortgage company filed foreclosure proceedings against us. After spending money hiring several law firms and not getting results we were directed to Mr. Leahy. Mr. Leahy advised us to file for bankruptcy protection to save our assets. We let Mr. Leahy and his staff handle our case and 3 years later we are buying the home of our dreams. Thanks to Mr. Leahy my wife and I are enjoying retirement with nary a care. Thanks so much Mr. Leahy

Call The Law Office of Steven A Leahy for a FREE consultation

312-664-6649