Lisa Marie Giese’s Reviews

Lisa Marie Giese

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highest possible recommendation!

    Posted by John, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 1-6 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    After over three years of divorce and post-divorce dramatics with my ex, Lisa was able to come in, and for a fraction of the time, cost and aggravation that I'd experienced prior, actually bring some sanity and fairness to my situation. She got me some much needed relief on my maintenance obligations, got me more flexible and more time with my kids, and managed to finally get my name off the mortgage with my ex. I honestly consider her engagement on my case a godsend, and I cannot speak highly enough about her diligence, professionalism, and capability. If you have a need in this avenue, you couldn't possibly do better than to have her on your team!

  2. Professional, Very Responsive, and Passionate!

    Posted by Dario, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 1-6 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Custody matter.

    I was very lucky to find Lisa as my first attorney on my child custody and visitation needs. Where do I start, she’s amazing! Everything from responding quickly to my emails, to handling stressful situations with complete professionalism, through keeping me extremely well informed of the entire process. Lisa is very passionate in her work, and this alone makes a huge difference. Don’t think…just hire her. You won’t be disappointed.

  3. Lisa accomplished for me in HALF the time, HALF the cost, than my previous attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 1-6 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Robert Downs Law (Chicago) in June 2013 for my divorce case. I continued to retain Downs law until end of Jan, 2014 - then I fired them. Downs Law estimated that my divorce case (0 kids, 1 house, 1 car - could go to trial, and last thru the end of 2014, possibly 2015 - for them to handle). This is an "experienced" lawyer, in a high-rise Chicago (Wacker drive) building.

    I hired Lisa Giese starting Feb, 2014. Lisa got my case settled, without going to trial, end of May, 2014.

    Lisa did in 4 months, what Downs Law failed to do in 8 months.
    Lisa did in half the time, and literally half the cost - what the other attorney failed to do.

    Would I recommend Lisa to others?
    Would I seek her guidance in the future?

    Without a doubt!

    Thank you, Lisa!!!

  4. Absolute best! I will (and have) recommended her to anyone who'll listen.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 6-12 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Prior to hiring Lisa, I had the misfortune of hemorrhaging money to four other attorneys. Lisa is the absolute best! She has accomplished more for me in a matter of a few short months than any of the other attorney's combined.

    Ditto to all the kudos in other reviews! There are not enough adjectives to describe her abilities.

    My only regret, is that I didn't find her sooner!

  5. KNOWLEDGEABLE ATTORNEY

    Posted by Steph, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She went above and beyond on the hearing date by getting our case heard. She could have said nothing, and the motion to vacate would have been granted. I know that if I didn’t have a great attorney, the motion would have been granted. She has experience, knowledge, and gave affectionate guidance, she made me believe that I was worth being her client. She handled my case in an extremely competent and professional matter. Aside from just liking her personally, her preparedness was impressive.She had great patience with me, I know that was probably rough. I have great appreciation for her, and her incredible representation, she has been very pleasant, courteous and helpful in her dealings with me and, of course, I will highly recommend her to anybody looking for your services.

  6. Hate to do it ...

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 6-12 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Custody matter.

    Ms. Giese hasn't helped me one bit, even has made me angry more times than not. She made more decisions that went against me than for me. Yet I cannot bring myself to give her anything less than a stellar review. As my children's GAL she has been exceptionally hard working, tactful, honest, patient, caring, compassionate ... absolutely nothing an attorney is supposed to be. I wish I had hired her for my attorney first. I hope anyone reading this can appreciate; though her exceptional reviews from those she has helped is meaningful, their is no higher praise, no higher professional accolade that one can receive, than from ones own critics. I cannot say thank you Lisa, but I can say; well done, very well done.

  7. Child custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 6-12 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Custody matter.

    I changed attorneys and Lisa represented me in a lengthy custody battle. She is smart and fair and I was able to receive custody and start to build a life for the kids.

  8. Outstanding

    Posted by Joe, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lisa helped me finalize a child support issue, she was professional, prompt, responsive and caring, I would Highly recommend her for legal services,

    Joe C

  9. Professional, Knowledgeable. An excellent attorney.

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    8 years after my divorce my ex-husband and his new wife were starting their "new" family, they has some interesting ideas about reduction in support and daycare regarding my daughter. I needed a knowledgeable attorney that would fight for my daughter’s rights.

    Right away Lisa dug into my case and made sure that not only did my ex-husband have to pay additional support (as his salary had increased the past 8 years), but he had to continue to contribute to daycare. He also was required to contribute to extracurricular activities and her schooling, which he previously had not contributed to.

    It was obvious that she reviewed all of my previous legal documents and she thoroughly reviewed everything provided to her by his attorney. She even found a few instances where my ex-husband had lied on his financial statements. Lisa was also very responsive whenever I contacted her. She always made sure to keep me informed of what was going on and gave me her honest opinion as to what was in my best interest even if it was what I didn't want to hear.

    Lisa proved to be an excellent attorney and someone I would highly recommend.

  10. Outstanding

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa Giese.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was a little skeptical at first, Lisa did not have decades of experience and our divorce was complicated. However, she has proven to be a total gem. She is committed, is in it for the cause and that makes a huge difference. She was very good at all of the legal details and nuances, knowledgable - knows the law, was constantly in touch with me via e-mail (day, night and weekends), always kept her cool and was professional even when his attorney was very unprofessional, and worked incredible hours even while she was on vacation! Most of all - really forced the settlement, so we both did not spend a fortune in attorney fees. She was the really my case settled - she forced that issue. I do not usually write reviews, she is worth it.