Deborah Ann Stencel’s Reviews

Deborah Ann Stencel

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Honest, highly competent, and solutions-oriented.

    Posted by Anna,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Stencel.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.

    I have worked with Deborah twice - once on legal matters involving our condo association and once on legal matters involving a business partnership. The situations were not without complications and she was able to navigate both with ease - and, most importantly, I trusted her to do what was best for me and/or my business.

    Deborah was able to quickly grasp the "big picture", understand my needs, and has a natural ability to think outside the box - which meant she was able to provide multiple options for resolution where a previous attorney had only provided one (expected) solution. This not only speaks to her expertise, but to her willingness to go the extra mile for her client.

    Personable and easy to work with, she is a highly-capable legal partner who gets the job done. Would enthusiastically recommend Deborah Stencel ...

  2. Great Personality & Very Informative/Helpful

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Stencel.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I worked with Deborah two times in the last year. Both times she has been extremely helpful and patient.

    She takes the circumstance which is very uncomfortable to talk about, more comfortable.

    Not only does her personality help you discuss the harder topics, she seems to have an extreme amount of knowledge on the topics we discussed. I brought a few questions which she answered before I even asked them, then answered questions I would of never thought of asking.

    After consulting with her I feel 100% more confident in my current foreclosure process. I also feel if issues do come up along the road, she will represent me extremely well.

    I would highly recommend her for representation if a Lawyer is needed or you need consulting in Bankruptcy or foreclosure.

  3. Extremely helpful

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Stencel.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Stencel was extremely knowledgable regarding my backruptcy issue. She was very up front about everything and has always been available when I've had questions.

    I would recommend her. She has a wonderful personality which makes working with her enjoyable as well.

  4. Unreliable, Dishonest & Totally NOT TRUSTWORTHY!

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Deborah Stencel.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This Woman, Deborah Ann Stencel, was paid a retainer to represent me in foreclsure court. I found her online and based on the reviews thought that she would be honest and reputable.

    After a few months of dealing with her she refused to return my calls and after repeated attempts to call her office and leave messages with her receptionist, the only way that I was able to get in contact with her was to call her anonymously by calling her from a restricted number that she did not recognize. This was the last and only time that I spoke with her.

    She did not show up for the scheduled court date and just left me completely without any recourse.

    If you are looking for a respectable and honest lawyer do not utilize her services.

    It would not be any suprise if these flawless reviews were written by her alone.

    Do not let her bubbly personality and charm sway you. She is a dishonest and an unreliable person.

    It is lawyers like this that give this industry a bad name and reputation.

    Beware of this lawyers and seek counsel else where.

    1. Deborah Ann Stencel

      Deborah Stencel

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review is both painful to me personally and outrageously inaccurate. Unfortunately, due to my duty of confidentiality to my clients, I cannot even begin to defend myself to these specific allegations in this open forum.

      When prospective clients call and mention they saw my online reviews (which until this one were stellar), I always try to point out that taking things written anonymously on the Internet with a grain of salt is generally considered a best practice. (Didn’t Abraham Lincoln say, “You can’t believe everything you read on the Internet”?) This applies equally to the good and the bad.

      “They” tell lawyers to ask every client personally for an online review, but honestly that’s a burden on the client and frankly a lot to ask so I do try to limit the solicitation to special client relationships. I am tremendously grateful for the kind words. It is much easier to let a service provider know when she has not reached your expectations than to compliment one when she has done what you paid her to do.

      In 11 years of practicing law I know I have not made every client stunningly happy although I have not encountered this level of anger before. I have however always done my best, been honest with my clients, and if I make a mistake I will tell them about it and do what can be done to fix it. One cliché my lawyer mentors always threw around was “under-promise and over-deliver.” I try to live by this maxim because it makes for much happier clients (and a happier me). No results are ever guaranteed in the law and I would never lead anyone to believe any result was guaranteed (a point I spell out in my contracts with my clients).

      Sometimes client relationships end before the matter is complete. A few (of many) reasons why that might happen include: client changes his or her mind; client loses touch with the attorney; client doesn’t pay for services as promised; a new strategy is required for client’s situation and the case needs to be referred to another attorney; client dies; or two married clients with one attorney divorce and can no longer be represented by one person. When I am the one to end a relationship with a client, s/he gets a letter explaining why and notifying him or her of any deadlines in his or her case that need to be minded.

      I cannot always answer or return all calls the same day. My contract with my clients even tells them to give me a reasonable time to return a call, which I define as 24-48 hours. I have no problem giving clients my cell or even my home phone if they need or demand it. In the end, I do return calls and emails as expeditiously as possible. I do ask folks to leave a message on the machine because I forward the office phone to my cell often and I cannot rely on caller ID at all. My receptionists do not take messages for me; they transfer everyone to voice mail. This has a few advantages. I can check the voice mail from the road or between court appearances and the messages do not get lost.

      As a final point, I want to make an argument for effective conflict resolution. If something makes you unhappy, pick up the phone and calmly discuss it with the parties involved. Going online to vent anonymously doesn’t resolve the problem for you. It may make you feel better for a moment but you still have unresolved conflict and unresolved legal issues. This review may convince some people to not call me, but in the end what did it accomplish for the reviewer?

      In my practice of law, I have taken every situation in which things did not go as well as I would have liked as a chance to learn something. I am still working out what the lesson is here, what I could or should have done differently, but I hope this reviewer takes this opportunity to learn something as well. I gave him or her the best advice I could in the situation and I wish him or her only the best.

      -Deborah A. Stencel

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  5. Thank You

    Posted by Jennifer, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Stencel.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am very thankful to have had Ms. Stencel help me. Bankruptcy was (to me) a scary process as it is something I've never had to deal with before and never thought I would have deal with in the first place. I was confused on several issues and Ms. Stencel took the time to explain everything to me (several times!) very thoroughly. She was calm, professional, friendly, and had an answer for all of my many questions.

  6. Amazing Lawyer

    Posted by Parker, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Stencel.
    • I hired Deborah 1-3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Wow. You think of lawyers and dirty sharks come to mind, right? Well, not this one. Ms. Stencel is one of the most honest, ethical, and to be honest, nicest person I have met in a while. She kept me completely informed of what could and couldn't be done on my case and I couldn't be happier with her performance.

  7. Great lawyer

    Posted by Christy, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deborah Stencel.
    • I hired Deborah more than 3 years ago.
    • Deborah handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I've worked with Deborah twice in the past year. She is an excellent lawyer. She is extremely knowledgeable and explained things very well so I could understand them easily. I would highly recommend her.