Nicholas A. Leydorf’s Reviews

Nicholas A. Leydorf

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Job by a Great Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Was referred to Mr. Leydorf by Scott Grabel, which is also an excellent attorney but you can see his reviews as well if you'd like, they also speak for themselves.

    Received a minor in possession of alcohol charge when I was 17 years old... Not all of us make the best decisions right when we graduate high school. Have since changed a lot and have not gotten in any trouble since then. Now 24 years young but had a job fair at school coming up so I didn't want employers ruling me out of interviews for a mistake I made over 6 years ago.

    Nick was great through the whole process; I was out of town for a while and he somehow found a court date that worked perfectly with my schedule to get this charge expunged from my record. Just going through some paperwork now to finalize everything and (hopefully) on my way to an exciting career after this job fair.

    Thanks Nick!

  2. Nick is simply the best.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Nick is the best. He handled my case in a quick and easy manner, with a glorious outcome. He is a pleasant, reliable guy who is ready to help and answer questions. I couldn't have asked for more. ABSOLUTELY worth every penny.

  3. Turned a terrible situation around

    Posted by Nick, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My ex works for the county we live in so things got really bad and unfair for me because of the connections she has. It was a long process and Nick understood what was important to me and didn't mind taking the rough road to get there. He is very kind and smart. Communicated every aspect of the case with me and always explained all my options. I highly recommend Nick Leydorf. He helped me clear my name and I will be forever grateful for that.

  4. Excellent Attorney/ Superior Person

    Posted by Matthew, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was searching for a local attorney in East Lansing, MI to aid me in a traffic violation in which I was arrested for class 1 controlled substance possession without a prescription. I knew absolutely nothing about Mr. Leydorf prior to calling him. It was a Saturday afternoon as I recall when I made my initial phone call and the last thing I expected was "the" attorney to answer the line! Much to my amazement the line was answered and it was Nicholas. He was courteous and spoke with me for approximately forty-five minutes regarding the case. I retained his services the following Tuesday and he did not disappoint! He was ALWAYS accessible and informative throughout the two months which preceded my sentencing. My outcome was extraordinarily favorable and I am more than pleased with the results. Without a doubt I was fortunate to have found him out of all the attorneys I could have called or retained. He is a professional on all levels but, most importantly, to me, he was just a great person. He is an unpretentious, unassuming, humble individual with a lot character and personality. Easily the best attorney I have ever made acquaintance with...and that's saying a lot considering most of my immediate family were attorneys!

  5. Great lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Nick helped me with a recent DUI case, my second offence. I talked with several lawyers and he was the only one who looked at the facts of my case and researched the validity of the charges. All the others just immediately wanted me to take a plea, without even looking at any evidence. Nick was honest, available and I was satisfied with the the outcome of my case. I'd recommend him to anyone in need of a good criminal defense attorney.

  6. Excellent Lawyer To Get The Job Done

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Don't go to court without him!!! The outcome exceeded my expectations. Thank you Nick.

  7. Exceptional, Honest and Eager to Fight for Your Case - Nick Leydorf Gets it Done.

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nick welcomed my case from the beginning. After speaking with several lawyers who were less than thrilled with my background, most were blunt when explaining how little they would be able to do. Nick was honest in saying he wasn't sure if there was much to be done, but was eager and welcomed the challenge. After one meeting Nick was on the line with what could be done, but reassured me he would work to make sure I wouldn't be given a sentencing that was too severe.

    It was my third MIP - loss of license of 30 days and restricted license after, in addition to fees and community service.

    The result of my case was 25 hours community service, and an alcohol assessment($250) and my misdemeanor was dropped to a civil infraction ($150). The money was well worth the result. There was no probation, I kept my license, and nothing additional was placed on my permanent record.

    Nick is an exceptional lawyer; one who is eager to help his clients. I can't say enough about how well and comfortable he made me, along with my extremely disappointed parents, feel. While I hope I'm never in need for a lawyer in the near future, if the situation were to arise, the first person I would call is Nick Leydorf

  8. Experience Gets Great Results, But Character Counts Too!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Faced with a criminal situation for the first time, I had no where to turn except the internet when a family member needed a lawyer. As I called around and explained the case, I was not given very much consideration and found the initial consultation process frustrating, unprofessional, and it left me feeling hopeless – until I called Mr. Leydorf. He was immediately a calming voice in this difficult and scary process. He was professional and treated us with kindness and respect from the beginning and throughout the process. He was honest about the potential consequences and the challenges of the case and while he didn’t promise exceptional results, he did promise to work hard on our behalf, and he did. He quoted a very fair price and made himself available to us 24/7. He did his homework and used his experience and excellent reputation to deliver amazing results – reducing a misdemeanor to a civil infraction and keeping criminal activity from permanently and negatively affecting the otherwise clean record of bright young individual. We appreciated Mr. Leydorf’s expertise and his exceptional quality of character, and were very pleased with the outcome he produced for us. I couldn’t have found a better person to work with in a difficult time. Our family is grateful to Nick and would recommend his services to others.

  9. Professional expertise and experience to get the job done!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When a family member is having legal issues, it can be a very traumatic time for all involved. Mr. Leydorf has the legal expertise and experience needed to take care of the situation at hand as well as the professionalism to take care of the person as a whole. Just knowing that Nicholas was there in our defense made the situation bearable. I trust him, and believe with all my heart that he will do everything necessary for a successful disposition of his clients cases. Thank you for all you do!

  10. Incredible Lawyer

    Posted by Tammy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Leydorf.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.

    Nick was an amazing lawyer – I would recommend him to anyone. He was very informative on all sorts of situations and answered all the questions that I had. I could call him, text him, or email him and he would always answer quickly. He is extremely friendly and I felt comfortable calling him about anything. We always kept in touch and I was very satisfied with how my case turned out. Nick even managed to get my charges lower than what I expected. He offers extremely reasonable prices and I think he is the best lawyer you can get!