Shannon Marie Smith’s Reviews

Shannon Marie Smith

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. AMAZING! This is what you call a true dedicated laywer!

    Posted by a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Shannon is an amazing person who really isn't bias, she actually want to find and figure out the whole story before making a decision. A family member was accused of molesting a friend of mine, Shannon right on the spot investigated why this person would say such a thing; thus, figuring out why my family member could not have done this. She really figures out the physiologic influence of the person. This case didn't even go to court! She handled it so well that the prosecutor didn't take it to court. She really is different unlike other lawyers, Shannon devotes her quality time and interests in the case! Words can not describe how dedicated this person is!!!!!!

  2. Dedicated and energetic

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shannon is dedicated and energetic. She literally saved my son's life after he was falsely accused of sexually molesting a young girl. To see her present her final argument was absolutely riveting. She is so dedicated, intelligent and energetic. I'm so glad she was our family's choice. I don't think anyone else could have done such an exemplary job.

  3. Super lawyer / Super person

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Once we hired this amazing person, Shannon Smith to represent my sons case that had media attention and serious charges filed against him she quickly put her ego aside and hired another super attorney by name of Cheryl Carpenter and worked together professionally and diligently to save my son from a long term prison time. My son got only one year jail time and was not placed on a sex offenders list or have any record of the charge if he completes his probation for the next three years. i can honestly tell you don't look any further than these two attorneys, together they saved my loved one to the best of their ability. Both delivered what they projected to happen with the case and the outcome in my opinion was more than a miracle. They knew how to handle the prosecutor, their approach was realistic and not a push over considering what my son was charged with. i will not be able to repay these two woman with my kindest words, but i can say they will always be in my prayers for as long as i live and i wish both of them to continue to save others to put their clients' life's back together.

  4. My brothers case

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My brother faced false allegations of CSC, he had paid a retainer to a criminal defense attorney. Had we not researched & had the fortune to meet & talk with Shannon Smith in the timely manner that we did, I KNOW my brother would be in prison for something he didn't do. Her professional knowledge is impressive & thorough.

  5. helped my sons

    Posted by daisy, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have hired Shannon Smith not once but twice for members of my family and I can say that if you need a very good lawyer you will not be sorry you hired Shannon Smith. Shannon has high integrity high standardsand honesty. No matter how many clients she has she makes you feel like you are the most important one.Shannon fights for her client. When you hire Shannon Smith as your lawer you can be sure you have the very best

  6. saved my life

    Posted by Jim, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was accused of a very serious crime and my mom hired shannon smith for a very reasonable rate. Shannon sunk her teeth right into my case and I knew I was in great hands. She knows what she is doing she is very good. I was in a world of hurt but when I found out Shannon was on my side I knew all would be well and it is. I owe my freedon to shannon. She stayed in close touch with my family throughout this whole mess. Great job Shannon I love ya.

  7. Shannon Knew How To Coordinate The Best Defense For Our Son

    Posted by Mike, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Do not make any assumptions based on Shannons youthful (looking) appearance. Let the opposition do that, let them underestimate her. Shannon has an easy going, personable demeaner that she uses to her (your) advantage. When time comes, she's also fully able and willing to do the grunt work and get her hands dirty (don't be surprised to find her up working, researching cases and answering emails in the middle of the night). Shannon understands the importance of team-work and consulting with experts (she listens). Shannon was always straight with us, she doesn't pull her punches, but tells it like it is. I think one of Shannons strongest attributes, is her ability to organize a defense into a battle plan, she's a great tactician. Lastly, I would like to add that I think a person has to truly believe in what they're doing to choose this as a profession. Often families are separated for substantial periods of time depending on the outcome. I believe Shannon truly appreciates that fact, judging by how hard she works, she must! Sincerely, Mike

  8. Shannon Smith is an amazing attorney!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon more than 3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shannon has a fire and spirit like no one else. She doesn't back down in or out of the courtroom. She works harder, is smarter and is 50x more prepared than anyone in the courtroom everytime. When it comes to work she takes it personal and when things aren't right she makes things happen. She is like a samurai in trial but her skills are so deep in so many ways. I'll try but I can't even come close. When you are accused of a serious crime that doesn't require proof it is very difficult to prove your innocence. I needed someone who cared, believed in me, and was going to do whatever it would take to prove my innocence. On top of that the skills, experience, and dedication that it would take to turn around what was an awful situation. From day 1 she asked the right questions and looked me dead in the eye and said it's going to be ok. She knew exactly what she was doing and she started what was to be the strongest defense I could have ever imagined. She is able to intelligently get evidence in and get more info on my case than anyone ever could. She is professional and aggressive yet polite and everyone knows she means business but with a smile of course. Shannon is organized, great with people, and so sharp with a pen and her tongue. Some people are great on their feet and some are good at research and preparing and Shannon just happens to be both. She knew the case inside and out and fought. If she hadn't won my case I would have been looking at the rest of my life in prison. Shannon saved my life on what was an impossible situation. She carried me....for a long and hard fight. Shannon can be trusted. She knows how important it is and is not in it for the money....and as far as money goes. If your life is on the line or something is very important to you don't take someone who is less money who plans on doing less work on your case. Shannon is not only worth every penny....She's priceless. Shannon thanks for my life back. Thanks for every phone call, every drive, every email, every smile, every reassurring word. Thanks for all the nights, and days. The times you yelled at me, and got serious. The laughs, the tears, when it all mattered, every decision-your guidance...you protected me, comforted me through over a year and four days of trial that you would have fought if it were a 100. Thanks for being so good at what you do. Thanks to your husband and family. Thanks for using your gift to help people. My official Shannon Smith song is God Gave Me You.... and now like a little league player I look up at Shannon and she says "it's ok, get back in the game and have fun...you're ok now"

  9. Excellent, knoweldgeable and personable support

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon more than 3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A family member was involved in a false accusation of a sex crime against a minor child. The person alleging the charges was a spiteful ex-girlfriend who was trying to negotiate a marriage in exchange for dropping (false) charges. Difficult to believe that in today’s world ANY accusation of child molestation can lead to an arrest and the need for legal support. The first attorney hired to represent at the hearing was local and not experienced enough. Had we known better, we might have had appropriate representation who would have been able to communicate with the court on the lack of evidence and tainted statements in the accusation, and been able to have the charges dropped before the mess continued. Unfortunately, we did not know about the experience and background of Shannon Smith at that time, but when it became obvious that we needed better advice and a real expert in this area, we went looking (hundreds of miles away) and found the very best! Ms. Smith is experienced, knowledgeable, a leader in this area, and she provided excellent guidance and support through every step (and delay) of a very complicated legal system. Her expertise protected an innocent person from what might have been an unfair and unjust outcome. We are so grateful for her availability, support, and personable manner in handling an emotionally difficult period and proving and providing an outcome of innocence.

  10. Words cant describe what Shannon has done for me. I couldnt have asked for a better person to represent my intrests.

    Posted by Stacia, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon Smith.
    • I hired Shannon more than 3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shannon was amazing from the first day I met with her. She assured me of her confidence in me and the case throughout the entire process. she is confident and strong in the court room, and is yet easy and comfortable to talk to. She knows her stuff, and it shows in her ability to act on the fly when things come up that are unexpected. Little things don’t get past her, and she is quick to act on them. She brought me through the trial of my life with barely a scratch. I am so grateful for Shannon, and I cannot even bring to words all she has done for me. I would defiantly retain her as my lawyer again, and I highly recommend her to anyone needing representation. Shannon if your reading this, You are amazing, and I owe you my life.. My life was in your hands, and now i have it back.. Thank you so much Shannon.