Joan Elizabeth Champagne’s Reviews

Joan Elizabeth Champagne

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Happy!

    Posted by Jeff, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joan was very helpful in the process of gaining custody of my daughter. She was knowledgable and kept me informed. I was very happy with the outcome.

  2. Very good experience!

    Posted by Andre', a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan < 1 month ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was searching for a lawyer with limited time to spare. I had consultations scheduled with two other lawyers but something just struck me with Mrs. Champagne. So I cancelled those consultations and went to see Mrs. Champagne. I will say it was the greatest decision I've ever made.

    She's very courteous, nice, understanding, punctual and knowledgeable. She was very upfront with everything and how my case might go. She gave me a sense of peace. And on top of all that, her services were reasonably priced.

    I have no complaints at all. Very appreciative of everything she helped me achieve. And I would recommend her to any and everyone in a child support/ custody cause...

    Thanks Again, Mrs. Champagne!

  3. Child Support Case with the Father being the absent parent.

    Posted by Tom, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I hired Ms Champagne to assist me in an on-going child support case. I found her and had a telephone call during which I found out that she was a former Assistant District Attorney over child support cases. We also discussed that not all absentee fathers are deadbeats and some of us experience challenges that were manipulated by the custodial parent. Ms Champagne earned my confidence through that telephone call and reassured me that she has no personal bias towards men that are absent parents. I hired her and she immediately began a thorough analysis of my case and we discussed what actions would be cost effective and what actions would be cost prohibitive in my case. She discussed these with me until she was sure that I understood the applicable laws in my case and was comfortable with the decisions that I reached. She maintained contact with me as needed on a timely basis. I received a detailed expense report from her office monthly so that I could track my case financial impact as well as the case progress. In the end, Ms Champagne saved me more money on this case than I was charged in legal fees which was exactly my goal. In her thoroughness, she discovered an error made by 'THE COURT' of jurisdiction that would have been costly to me. At the risk of sounding distrusting of the court system, would anyone within the court system that is stacked against absent fathers have caught and corrected this error? I think not! I am completely satisfied with the representation of Ms. Champagne and the outcome of my case. If you are the absent parent in a child support case in Indiana and want a professional and unbiased attorney handling your case, give this lady a call!

  4. Review of Joan Champagne

    Posted by nelson, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Champagne helped me with a child custody case. I didn't think I had a chance. I walked out of the court room and felt Ms. Champagne did an excellent job and when the court came back and ruled in my favor I was very happy.As a man fighting for the right to be a dad, Ms. Champagne believed in me and saw that I had been doing the things a dad should be doing. I would ask Ms. Champagne help again in I needed to go back to court.

  5. Joan is a terrific lawyer and really helped me a great deal.

    Posted by Judy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.

    I am going through a divorce and although it is amicable, I thought I needed some advice from someone solely representing me. Through a high recommendation of one of my friends , I found Joan. We had a consultation and words can not express how happy I am that we did. She walked me through all of the legal fog that I was surrounded by. She helped me with wording on my agreement and what I needed to do regarding child support. It was all so helpful. I would recommend Joan to anyone. She is caring and really knows how to explain hard to understand information which made me feel more in control during this time.

  6. Joan Champagne was an incredible help to me!!

    Posted by angie, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Support matter.

    Joan Champagne helped me with child support changes. I had one child already in college, and I had one child approaching college, and my ex husband was just "adjusting" the child support of his own accord. Joan Champagne efficiently and effectively helped me to get the child support legally and accurately adjusted. Her knowledge and expertise on each and every question or concern I had about the child support changes and options were extremely helpful and comforting to me. I knew I was being "taken care of" professionally and accurately. And Joan Champagne handled all that I had hired her to do in a LOT less time than other lawyers I had worked with would have done. This saved me time, frustration and money! Thanks, Joan, forall of your help!! For the first time, I felt VERY FAIRLY represented!!!!!!

  7. Great lawyer

    Posted by Kris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Child Custody matter.

    It was a pleasure working with Joan she was very helpful and knowledgeable. She did not waste any time doing what I needed her to do. Most importantly I never had any trouble at all getting in touch with her to discuss my case.

  8. Review of Joan E. Champagne-Guardianship and small claims cases (3)

    Posted by Jeff, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joan performed flawlessly in a very difficult family matter concerning protection of our mother in a guardianship case and two small claims cases as they were related. She listened very well, considered all options, took an emergency stand on my/mothers behalf by unknown advances by the other parties, she stood up to their aggressive acts. She is completely trustworthy and nonjudgemental. She handled all aspects of the cases with confidence and class. I will call her again if needed.

  9. will

    Posted by libby, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan more than 3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John and I really appreciated all the help and understanding Joan gave us. It has been a difficult decision to do our wills, but Joan made it very understandable. Thank you

  10. Joan Cares!

    Posted by Paula, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Champagne.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The great thing that Joan did for me during my divorce was to listen! She cared enough to listen to what I wanted and then efficiently complete the process with a minimum amount of confrontation (read that as frustration/heartache and legal fees). Joan also was there when I needed to talk - she answered my questions right away and made me feel like I was heading in the right direction with my property settlement. I have already referred several friends to Joan because I believe in her superior abilities to represent a person.

317-259-9480