D. Benjamin Sessions’s Reviews

D. Benjamin Sessions

Average Rating

Based on 56 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Ben Sessions is great!

    Posted by Jesús,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.

    Without such a caring, trusting and experienced lawyer, I would not have had the opportunities that have made me who I am today. Ben was a wonderful person to work with, always keen on my well-being and serious about his work. I felt very comfortable and confident having him as my lawyer.

  2. Takes care of his client!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.

    Ben handled my DUI case back in 2012. My wife was pretty hysterical when I called her from jail. Luckily, she ended up calling Ben Sessions. Right away he put her at ease by answering her questions and explaining the process. I was extremely grateful that he was able to reassure her everything would be alright and reduce some of the stress she was dealing with.

    I met with Ben several times to go over my case and I can’t say I wasn’t nervous, but I can say I know my case was in the right hands. If I had a question, he was always available by phone or email and always responded that day or the following morning.

    I was a first offence DUI. Ben was able to get it down to reckless driving and keep the fine down to something I could financially handle.

    I recommend Ben Sessions for anyone who has a DUI charge.

  3. Honest Opinion

    Posted by Wesley,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend D. Sessions.

    My honest opinion of Mr. Sessions is that he was not worth the thousands of dollars he was paid. Poor communication at best. I called him many times over the course of a year while my case was being pushed back and pushed back, with very few call backs that came days later if at all. Oh at first it was all systems go with communication and hopes of a good outcome. However after a few months the communication seized and eventually he had no hope in defending me at trial. He all but talked me into taking a plea. Which by the way I did because who wants to go to trial with a lawyer that is unwilling to fight for you? The plea that he eventually worked out with the state was exactly the same as the people who plead guilty without an expensive lawyer. When I asked him exactly what did you do to earn your money, the only thing he could say was that "I got your license back at the ALS hearing". I asked his office to write a letter to a prospective employer simply stating what I was charged with and that I was awaiting trial and they failed to do so. I lost that job because they would not write a three sentence letter! The only reason that I am not giving him a poor rating is because he wasn't a complete moron and he did show up when we had a court date. But I wish he had not so that I could have hired another attorney!

  4. My gratitude to the Attorney that Saved me

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ben Session is an excellent attorney. I am so grateful to him. I was in a very tricky situation last year when I ended up getting 2 dui's within 6 months. He was very methodical on how he approach my Dui's and literally saved me from getting hit with both. I for sure thought I was going to be faced with time in jail and 2 Dui's on my record but he was very crafty and meticulous on how he presented the facts of my case to the jury and to the judge. One of the best feelings in the world was when the jury said "We the jury, find .............. on Count 1, DUI, NOT GUILTY!!!!!!!!!" I went through a really rough year and I couldn't have made it through this if I didn't have Ben as my attorney. I may have been one of those pain in the tush and eager clients calling him all the time :) but he was very responsive and I'm grateful for the experience and advice.

  5. Highly recommend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions more than 3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am from Greenville, SC and I hired Mr. Sessions back in 2010 after I was pulled over and arrested for DUI- marijuana, DUS, and speeding in Franklin County Georgia. I knew that I needed a lawyer to represent me in fighting my case. I spoke with Mr. Sessions a few times, each time feeling a since of ease and confidence.
    For 3 and a half years, every few months, I drove to the Franklin County Courthouse for roll call with Mr. Sessions by my side. Finally I had my day in court on Sept 2 2014. When Mr. Sessions started to address the judge, I was impressed with how well he knew every bit of my case and how prepared he was for this day.

  6. You're in Great Hands with Ben Sessions!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    While driving home from downtown Atlanta, I was pulled over in Alpharetta, GA for failure to maintain lane which turned into a field sobriety test and arrest for Dui. My reading from the intoxilyzer test was .141. I immediately asked for an independent test and was taken to two different hospitals but was never given my independent test. Later that morning when I was released, I called an attorney that I worked with and explained my case to him. He suggested that I contact Ben Sessions who is a knowledgeable DUI Lawyer. After speaking with Ben over the phone, because of my busy work schedule, he offered to meet with me after business hours for a consultation.
    Meeting Ben face to face was a pleasure. He is very professional, trust worthy, down to earth and knowledgeable about the Dui laws and cases. After our meeting, I knew Ben Sessions was the perfect attorney for my case.
    My license was never suspended and Ben suggested that my case be bounded over to state court for a motions hearing to get the evidence suppressed. Just by listening to Ben at the motions hearing you knew he was on your side and willing to do whatever it takes to WIN your case. A few months later Ben called to tell me that all my charges for Dui had been dismissed for a plea to reckless driving. This is the type of results that you will receive from Ben Sessions.

  7. Tenacious

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions more than 3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Tenacious seemed like the best word to describe Ben and his representation of me in my recently resolved case. He took a seemingly unsurmountable case and looked at it from every angle. We all knew something was off and finally after a four year battle we were able to get the best possible result! This is thanks to Ben's diligent work ethic and efforts. I recommend him for anyone looking for representation.

  8. An Outstanding Lawyer - Worth Every Penny!

    Posted by Mel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Attorney Sessions in September of 2012 after I had been arrested on a DUI Less safe charge. The circumstances around the arrest were a bit shady but the incident occurred during an accident during which the officer determined I was at fault. I knew it was going to be difficult to fight on my own. The case itself took almost 2 years to reach trial status. During that time frame, Attorney Sessions and his office staff were not only extremely helpful in keeping me informed of the case progress, but also never hesitated to take my calls or answer any question I had. When it came to making life changing decisions, Attorney Sessions always made sure to let me know about all the options available to me and the possible outcomes of each. During the trial itself, Attorney Sessions was informed, ready to work, and extremely professional. His performance during the trial was impressive as he knew exactly how to attack the holes in the Prosecution's case. Needless to say, through his dedication to "just another client" Attorney Sessions helped me keep a clean record as the jury came back with a not guilty verdict on all counts. I definately would not hesitate to reccomend him to anyone!

  9. This attorney will go the extra mile.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 6-12 months ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Ben Sessions agreed to take my case on a Thursday evening after the close of business and after I had exhausted all other possibilities regarding representation. I was to go in front of the judge the very next morning and my future was in her hands. Ben's knowledge of the court system and his willingness to fight for my freedom is the reason I was released from jail the very next day and avoided a lengthy prison sentence. Ben clearly goes the extra mile and will exceed your expectations. I would recommend Mr. Sessions to any of my family or friends because he is fair, patient, compassionate, and driven to get the best possible outcome for your case.

  10. The Only Attoney You Must Meet

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I met Ben Sessions almost eleven months ago, on 1/03/2013. Ben was the first and only attorney my husband and I met with to defend me, for a DUI prescription drug arrest, which occurred two days after Christmas, 2012.

    Within five minutes of meeting Ben Sessions, I not only knew Ben was the only attorney I needed to represent me, but that he was also the kind of person I would like to know. In our initial meeting, Ben Sessions explained to me every legal detail, medical fact, and legal precedent in the state of GA regarding prescription drug DUI arrests. During this first meeting, Ben explained and answered each and every scenario and question I put before him. He was straightforward and honest with me, while never undermining the charges against me, given the circumstances surrounding a DUI arrest for legally prescribed medication. I am an incredibly anxious person, and I have never been more ashamed to share this story with anyone, not even an attorney.

    My actual arraignment was the first week of November, 2013, due to delays on my part because of personal circumstances. During discussions with the prosecution on the day of my arraignment, Ben shared the facts of my case with the State, which were not merely answers to the prosecution. Ben recounted to the State the facts of my case with overwhelming knowledge and meticulous detail. Ben was the only person able to provide the factual information and evidence the State must assume regarding the burden of proof against the defense. Within an hour of discussions, the State entirely dismissed my DUI charge, and I was only cited for a single traffic violation. Ben Sessions is the reason my case was completely dismissed. But, Ben Sessions gave me something I can never return, he gave back to me my faith, dignity, and hope.

    Finally, I would be amiss without mentioning Ben Session's law firm partner, Sean J. McIlhinney, as well as the entire firm at McIlhinney & Sessions, LLC. This firm's outstanding reputation goes without saying, it is a class act with brilliant, experienced attorneys. Simply stated, Ben Sessions is an extraordinarily smart and judicious attorney, a gentleman, and the kind of person we all would like to know.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

470-225-7710