D. Benjamin Sessions’s Reviews

D. Benjamin Sessions

Average Rating

Based on 47 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Only Attoney You Must Meet

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I met Ben Sessions almost eleven months ago, on 1/03/2013. Ben was the first and only attorney my husband and I met with to defend me, for a DUI prescription drug arrest, which occurred two days after Christmas, 2012.

    Within five minutes of meeting Ben Sessions, I not only knew Ben was the only attorney I needed to represent me, but that he was also the kind of person I would like to know. In our initial meeting, Ben Sessions explained to me every legal detail, medical fact, and legal precedent in the state of GA regarding prescription drug DUI arrests. During this first meeting, Ben explained and answered each and every scenario and question I put before him. He was straightforward and honest with me, while never undermining the charges against me, given the circumstances surrounding a DUI arrest for legally prescribed medication. I am an incredibly anxious person, and I have never been more ashamed to share this story with anyone, not even an attorney.

    My actual arraignment was the first week of November, 2013, due to delays on my part because of personal circumstances. During discussions with the prosecution on the day of my arraignment, Ben shared the facts of my case with the State, which were not merely answers to the prosecution. Ben recounted to the State the facts of my case with overwhelming knowledge and meticulous detail. Ben was the only person able to provide the factual information and evidence the State must assume regarding the burden of proof against the defense. Within an hour of discussions, the State entirely dismissed my DUI charge, and I was only cited for a single traffic violation. Ben Sessions is the reason my case was completely dismissed. But, Ben Sessions gave me something I can never return, he gave back to me my faith, dignity, and hope.

    Finally, I would be amiss without mentioning Ben Session's law firm partner, Sean J. McIlhinney, as well as the entire firm at McIlhinney & Sessions, LLC. This firm's outstanding reputation goes without saying, it is a class act with brilliant, experienced attorneys. Simply stated, Ben Sessions is an extraordinarily smart and judicious attorney, a gentleman, and the kind of person we all would like to know.

  2. The best decision I could have made

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 6-12 months ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was feeling about as awful as a person can feel about themselves when I was released from the Dekalb county jail, having been charged with DUI and speeding in Dunwoody. The evening of my release I did a fair amount of internet research on various attorneys. Although it was quite late in the day, I decided to make some calls. Ben Sessions not only answered my call despite the late hour, but was so approachable, reassuring and willing to go out of his way to set up a meeting that I made an appointment with him for the following day. At the meeting we went over the details of my arrest and Ben laid out his strategy to negotiate a reduction in the charges. I was impressed with not only his obvious legal ability and his familiarity with the Dunwoody municipal court, but also his reassuring, friendly demeanor. I could tell he was very good at what he does, but I also just genuinely liked him. It was a no brainer to hire him then and there. At the meeting he also gave me some elements of a potential sentence that I should accomplish in advance of my arraignment to help facilitate the reduction in charges.
    Prior to my arraignment we stayed in touch via email and phone. During that period Ben was able to have my automatic license suspension dismissed until the case was resolved, which was a tremendous relief. Just before the arraignment we met in person and Ben explained what he was going to try to accomplish, and also helped ease my considerable anxiety.
    At the arraignment a technical question forced a rescheduling for two months later, which was terribly nerve wracking for me, but it was also a blessing in disguise and Ben advised me to complete 40 hours of community service, which was the only element of a potential sentence that I had not yet undertaken.
    At the next court date Ben went and met with the prosecutor, and this meeting took substantially longer than the first. When he finally emerged he presented me with a negotiated reduction in charge to one count of reckless driving! Additionally, with the exception of fines and probation, all elements of the recommended sentence had already been completed!
    I have no doubt that Ben's excellent rapport and reputation with the people of the Dunwoody court played no small role in the very positive outcome of my case, as did his great advice about what I could do in advance of a court date to prove my willingness to cooperate.
    I think he's a very knowledgable and canny attorney. I also think he's a very hard working, compassionate human being who cares about his clients, not just their cases. If you should have the misfortune of finding yourself in the situation that I did, do yourself a favor and call Ben Sessions.

  3. Thank Goodness I Hired Ben Sessions

    Posted by Jason, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    The first thing I want to say about Ben Sessions is that he helped me stay as calm and positive as possible during the ordeal with my DUI. From the first moment I spoke and met with Ben I knew that he would take my case and care for it not because he was a lawyer but because he actually cared about what happened to me. Throughout the months that followed and my constant nagging of Ben because I was beginning to worry about what would happen to me, he always knew how to make me relax and feel better about my situation.

    Secondly, Ben's ability to keep me calm helped me not go crazy before my arraignment date but his skills as a lawyer and genuine attitude helped me on that date more than I could write in this review. Ben's efforts have effectively kept my life moving in a forward direction and I will never question the day I hired Ben Sessions as my lawyer.

    The only other thing I can think to say is that the process you may be going through or about to go through is stressful and possibly very time consuming. My advice is to stay patient, keep positive and hire Ben Sessions! Honestly, without Ben helping me through this process I know my future would be different...and darker. I am eternally grateful for the help Ben Sessions gave me and have no doubts that Ben can be one of the best decisions you have made in this process...as it was for me.

  4. Helpful

    Posted by Christopher, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions more than 3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Sessions was extremely helpful in my situation. I was stopped for a speeding violation and a DUI. He was very honest during the whole process. And extremely smart in all the moves he made in my case. My case was draged out for sometime and
    During that Ben was reassuring and kept me feeling very positive and the final result was even better then I could have hoped for.
    I would definitely recommend his service to anyone for a great attorney !

  5. The Very Best at What He Does...Period.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Almost 5 years ago, I was arrested for DUI. Immediately my wife and I hired Ben as our lawyer. As soon as Ben was on the case, I was out of jail and on the path to fighting my charge.

    Ben's guidance and consultation on the case was exactly what we needed. We fought where it was appropriate and moved forward with the court/judge when needed.

    As we progressed on the case, we discovered the prosecutor would not offer a plea deal we were happy with and moved into trial. Ben's talent and passion were on full display as we had an uphill battle.

    As the trial began, Ben showed his deep knowledge of my case and created highly compelling arguments against my charges. He fought the prosecutor on everything and brought in an expert to help refute the validity of the breath test machine.

    The jury came back with verdicts of NOT GUILTY! Ben had done an amazing job and justice was served.

    I will recommended Ben in a heartbeat to anyone in a similar circumstance. He is simply the best.

  6. Outstanding Defense

    Posted by Matt, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Sessions was a breath of fresh air when it came to handling my stressful D.U.I. case. He kept me informed on developments in my case as well as my options to handle it. He showed genuine concern for me and my family. I would certainly recommend Mr.Sessions for any D.U.I. matter you might have!

  7. Got me off the hook.

    Posted by Paul, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions more than 3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case lasted over two years and was by my side all along. Friendly and cooperative thought out the long process. Pleasure to have him on my side.

  8. An intelligent and professional lawyer

    Posted by Levi, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with underage DUI and failure to maintain lane. My BAC was .024 and I knew this was very close to the legal limit. After the arrest I immediately started calling up lawyers. Every lawyer I talked to wanted me to plead guilty from the beginning. On top of that they wanted to charge me 2000 to do it. However, when I called up Mr Sessions it was late in the day but he still took my call and listened to my testimony of the events. He immediately said I had a good case and we could beat it. I had spent hours on the internet researching DUIs and I could tell he knew a lot about DUI cases and how to win. So I hired him and the process began. It was a long process and stressful sometimes but in the end the judge ruled me not guilty on the DUI. Don't hire someone who immediately wants to plead guilty from the beginning. If you let the process run its course things can change and a possible loss can become a win.

  9. Don't settle for anything less than the best! Attorney Ben Sessions at your service.

    Posted by Will, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ben quickly earned my trust within minutes of my initial consultation. I felt that he had a strong grasp on my situation from the onset and his empathy allowed me to be more at ease as we discussed the details of my case. During the course of the court proceedings, I was confident that Ben was working diligently on my behalf to achieve the best possible outcome. Although we felt that our case was strong, I chose to accept a plea deal in an effort to avoid a few uncertainties (being found guilty by my peers at trial and/or losing my license in the ALS hearing) out of our control which could have been more detrimental in the long run. Having a seasoned counselor to guide me towards choosing the best course of path, in my opinion, is invaluable. Ben has certainly earned his keep and I will, without hesitation, refer him to anyone I know who encounters the unfortunate charge of DUI or other traffic related incidents. Thank you Ben.

  10. Life Changing Experience - Outstanding Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend D. Sessions.
    • I hired D. Sessions 1-3 years ago.
    • D. Sessions handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Words cannot describe the experience that I had with Ben but I will try my best to put it on paper.

    I was pulled over for a traffic stop which ended up with a field sobriety test , arrest, and breath test at the police station. At the station, I was registered with a .138 and .123 blood alcohol level. This was my first experience in my lifetime of a DUI and it was terrifying to say the least. The following day after I was released, I immediately did research on various lawyers including e-mails. Within a couple of hours, my phone rings and I have a chance to speak with Ben. He offered to have a consultation and we met very shortly thereafter.

    When I met Ben, he was a very "down to earth" guy and explained my case concisely and had already formulated a plan to take this case to trial. I was extremely impressed with his knowledge of the legal system and specifically DUI cases. I had a feeling I would end up sticking with Ben, but I had not had the chance to speak with any other lawyers and wanted to explore my options. Throughout the week, I consulted with approximately 5 different lawyers in person and various lawyers over the phone (including George Stein and other highly visible lawyers in the area). I ultimately felt the most comfortable with Ben, which in my opinion is very important to the decision, and decided to proceed forward with him.

    Throughout our discussions, there was not one point in time where he was thinking about aiming for a plea bargain. We moved forward with the ultimate goal of taking it to trial and clearly laying out the facts of the case and the errors in the arrest/prosecution. Based on some of my conversations with other lawyers, the blood alcohol content alone caused an allergic reaction, but this was not the case at all with Ben. It is very important that the prosecutor knows the intent of your lawyer and also to ensure you have a lawyer who will clearly try the case. Ben's reputation in Cobb County speaks for itself and the prosecutor clearly knew this case was going to be handled in a trial.

    We went to various calendar calls for a trial date and went as far as the motions hearing to present evidence for both parties in the case. Prior to the motions hearing, I get news that the prosecutor does not want to take this to trial and the charges have been reduced to a wreckless driving. This was ABSOLUTELY a wonderful resolution to the case and I cannot be happier.

    I would recommend Ben to friends, family's, or anyone at all that needs a helping hand in a dire situation.

    My only gripe is that Ben is a University of Georgia fan (kidding of course!). I feel as I will continue to stay in contact with Ben even outside of the legal world.

    Hands down the best lawyer in Georgia!

678-387-6920