Shannon Daspit McDuffie’s Reviews

Shannon Daspit McDuffie

Average Rating

Based on 39 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Jesse, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 1-6 months ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Shannon was very helpful and addressed all of my questions and concerns all throughout the Chapter 7 process. She was always available with a rapid reply via email or phone if I had a question. I would highly recommend her services. Shannon herself goes to court with you and you deal with her directly throughout the whole process. This is important to take note of when considering a lawyer for bankruptcy, because many of the big law firms with multiple lawyers will assign you a "stand-in" attorney who shows up at the last minute and knows very little about you or your case. I highly recommend her services and she is very meticulous about all details of your case so that all of your bases are covered when you go before the trustee.

  2. Shannon McDuffie is an INCREDIBLE attorney

    Posted by Erica, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 6-12 months ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I were faced with mounting medical bills, old tax debt, and multiple garnishments when we contacted Shannon to discuss the possibility of filing for bankruptcy. Upon meeting Shannon, we were immediately put at ease with her down to earth nature, unending knowledge about the process and her non-judgemental attitude. Shannon was also extremely informative about alternatives to bankruptcy and never made us feel pressured to file. She is a highly intelligent and competent lawyer and I can't stress enough with how much she eased our anxiety with what was an extremely uncomfortable decision for us to make.
    Shannon always made us feel as if we were her priority and her only client. Her response time to emails and phone calls (of which there were many on our end) is absolutely stellar. No matter how many questions we asked or how many times we needed something explained or re-explained she was extremely patient and responsive to our concerns. Even with our case currently confirmed she is still communicative with us to make sure we understand every step of the process.
    Frankly, for all of the time and work she puts in...we feel she is incredibly underpaid. We are so incredibly lucky that we found her, that she was able to help us navigate this process with our dignity intact and that we have our life back on track. If you are considering bankruptcy and you need a highly knowledgeable, intelligent and down to earth attorney; we highly recommend Shannon. Thank you Shannon!

  3. Awesome attorney

    Posted by Ilona, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 6-12 months ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Shannon 5 months ago and she is fantastic. From my initial email to her she was professional, courteous and extremely helpful. She made me feel as if I was her only and most important client. I had previously called some of the "big name" bankruptcy attorneys and it was clear that I would be a number and less personal attention would be given to me.

  4. An Attorney Who Really Cares AND Gets It Done

    Posted by Kellie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was a little nervous going through bankruptcy after a harrowing experience with two cancers. The second being Stage 4. My therapist said it was necessary to remove all the stress I could - no longer being able to work and having huge bills to pay - I looked up the closest attorney who seemed to be highly thought of.

    Well she has been AMAZING. She took me through all the steps - keeping close proximity with emails and phone calls. She treated me with great honesty and professionalism.

    When we were through with the bankruptcy she helped me erase my school loans. The day she called to tell me it was all over, I had been relieved of my school debt - I literally wept. She said she would do it and I always thought "Thank you for trying but this probably won't happen" - because I really had not heard of anyone accomplishing such a tremendous feat.

    She did everything she said she would and always a little bit more. I have not worked with anyone who is more knowledgeable, concerned and filled with such integrity.

    If you are facing one of the hardest decisions in your life (like I was) - do yourself a huge favor and go with Shannon. You will WANT to write a review like this one for her...she is the best thing that has happened to me and my family during a time when I needed clarity and honesty. This is an attorney who TRULY CARES about you.

  5. Excellent attorney!

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 6-12 months ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    From the first interview, Shannon McDuffie was professional, responsive, and knowledgeable. She answered all my questions thoroughly, responded quickly to my emails, and prepared me for all possible scenarios and outcomes involved in my bankruptcy. In court, she was prompt, ready with all the information required, and was reassuring. I consider myself very fortunate to have found her and chosen her to represent me!! Highly recommend!

  6. Simply the Best

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    From the day I had my first meeting with Ms McDuffie I felt was in good hands. She diligently guided me through the process of filing Chapter 13 bankruptcy and helped dispel all apprehension I had about the process. She was highly responsive, she personally responded to all phone calls and addressed all questions that came up in a timely manner. She was able to anticipate and share with me what to expect. Finally she guided me through a transition to chapter 7 to the end. I would gladly recommend Ms McDuffie to anyone who needed such services. Se is the best!

  7. Financial Bliss without Judgement

    Posted by Robin, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Please accept my sincere gratitude for your help during our family’s financial crisis. You made this emotionally difficult process almost effortless for me. We were always kept informed and given good sound advice. If everyone could be as pleasant and helpful, our world would be much happier. Your response to my situation was always encouraging. Thank you for taking the time to point out both the positive and negative sides. Dear Shannon you help save my paycheck and my home. You were never judgmental, but always understanding and considerate of my feelings. Bankruptcy was something I never thought I would ever consider, but you help me get through it without losing my dignity. I will always be grateful and though I would hope to never have to advise anyone on this course of action I would highly recommend your services.
    Sincerely,
    Robin F.

  8. THE BEST!!!! Honest, Professional, Great Communication

    Posted by Meka, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon more than 3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I chose Shannon based on her reviews from this site in 2011. A creditor from 7 years ago began to garnish my wages on a bill my ex husband made in my name. Shannon met with me on a Saturday at my convenience becasue that was the only day I could get off from work. She walked me through the process and since she is a one-woman operation communication was seemless.She ALWAYS responed to me within the SAME day from her iphone in a professional manner. She found other misc debts to include to be sure I was protected from future issues and even sent me helpful info to complete my taxes for the following year. I wish she handled all types of cases.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Ilisa, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Shannon explained the process step-by-step, provided detailed explanatations, and was always very responsive to all my inquiries. She gave me one less thing to worry about during a stressful time!!! I would highly recommend Shannon to anyone seeking a professional, knowledgeable , and honest attorney. Thanks Shannon for representing me as if I were your only client :-)

  10. Shannon Mcduffie is the true deal

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shannon McDuffie.
    • I hired Shannon 1-3 years ago.
    • Shannon handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was referred to Shannon from a past worker. At my first meeting she made me feel so cared for. I was a total mess and I could not stop crying because I could not believe I was getting ready to declare bankruptcy. She had a way to let me know that it will get better and she also had a way to calm my sole and nerves. She totally let me know what would happen and always kept me in the loop about what was happenning. She really does care for her clients and it shows.. She was the best at a terrible time in my life.. If you ever need an Attorney, she is the one..